We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, shame about the room”
Review of Hotel Sant Roc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sant Roc
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We travelled to Llafranc for a short weekend. We booked a standard double room via Expedia and we hoped we would at least get a decent view..nope, we got the car park. I asked about a sea view room and it was extra?? There was no option via Expedia to book which room you wanted. It turns out that a "double room" is basically twin beds as one. Not what we expected but still if you are advertising your room as double then ensure that is what you provide. A little noisy too, we could hear other guests in their rooms.
Breakfast was ok, a little poor on the service side on some days but the views from the terrace made up for that. If you have a car then there is adequate parking outside and near the hotel, the beach is literally a 5 min walk and there are plenty of restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view before you book and check they have a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southsea1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsantroc, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Sant Roc, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

First of all, thank you for having chosen the Hotel Sant Rocfor your recent stay in Costa Brava.

We are sorry to learn that your stay with us did not satisfy all of your expectations. We will investigate the reason for these shortcomings to avoid similar complaints in the future. As to the equipment of our rooms, we have taken note of your suggestions and passed them along to our maintenance department.

Again, we deeply regret not having met all your expectations this time but hope you will afford us a second chance to make amends.

We would love to have you stay with us next time you are in town, so don´t hesitate in contacting us in advance!

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

A 3-Star hotel in a prime position, overlooking the town and beautiful bay - it is generally in a decent and clean condition. The reception and service staff are multilingual and very helpful.

Free secure parking is available in front of the hotel. We had a garden-view room with balcony which was adequate and received the evening sun, unlike the beach rooms. The bath and shower tended to flood the floor due to inadequate covering.

Some demerits : The breakfast buffet was not very interesting and cooked items were subject to a supplement. It was time-consuming to co-ordinate everything to produce a relaxed meal, while tea and coffee were lukewarm. There was no fridge in the room though an ice bucket could be had from the bar.

Some watchpoints : Check that there is no wedding or other celebration during your stay - service suffers ! Also if you paid a deposit in advance - check your bill !

Room Tip: Don't go for the seaview rooms - you will not be there in the day when the sun shines. Opt fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimbo008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsantroc, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Sant Roc, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest:

From all of us here at Hotel Sant Roc, we´d like to thank you for choosing us for your stay while in Calella. We are most thankful for constructive reviews for they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests' needs and wants.

We have taken note of your comments and we´ve passed it along to the department in charge so they can take proper action. We would love to see you again next time you are in town.

Hopefully you´ll give us a chance to show you our improvements!
Looking forward to hearing from you.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Lovely location, evening meals wonderful looking out over bay, restaurant staff very good. Reception staff also helpful.
Breakfast average - no cooked option offered. Breakfast service was very average too.
Sadly bed was not very comfortable - glad we were only there two nights, also quite noisy at nighttime with people slamming doors and shouting in corridors which didn't help sadly. Hotel is obviously in middle of upgrade and as it is in such a wonderful location I am sure it will only get better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen621101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsantroc, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Sant Roc, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear client:
Many thanks for your kind words and for taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other fellow travelers.

We have taken note of the recommendations and comments you mentioned above, and passed them along to department in charge so they can take proper action in the matter.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you back next time you visit Calella. Please don´t hesitate in contacting us in advance, so we can arrange and honor any special request.
My best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

What a fantastic situation for a hotel. It can only be here because it has been established right from the start of the popularity of the resort - some 50 years!
Very helpful and efficient staff all through!
Very good breakfast with boil your own eggs. If the weather is nice they have a delightful terrace for breakfast. We had a lovely sea view room and decided to take the half board option in order to have dinner in the hotel (I think it was 45 euros for the two of us each night)
The food on the first night was a little ordinary but maybe this was because it was a sunday. (Chef off perhaps??)
However the food on the next night was well up to standard!
We liked the Sant Roc, and you could walk down to the town in 5 minutes. Parking for the car was no problem.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsantroc, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Sant Roc, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your stay at the Hotel Sant Roc and your feedback. We are most thankful for constructive reviews for they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests' needs and wants.
We look forward to accommodating you again!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Be sure to ask for a room facing the Mediterranean as the views are spectacular! We had a room with a balcony on the top floor, and it was just lovely. The room was very clean with beautiful paintings of the sea on the wall. The locale is also quiet.

The patio terrace faces the sea, and it is a fabulous place to eat any meal. Breakfast buffet was very good. The one evening meal we had there was also very good. The staff is pleasant, courteous and professional as well as very helpful.

The hotel is situated on a cliff, but the walk into town is quite easy. There is no pool at the hotel, which I would have enjoyed but the beach is a short walk away. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Swissalpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had the pleasure of spending two night at this lovely hotel. Our room was smallish but clean and the view from our small balcony was idyllic. The staff was professional and helpful. The bar/breakfast and patio areas were large and inviting with a fire burning in the evenings. Breakfast buffet offerings were varied and tasty.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsantroc, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Sant Roc, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guest:
First of all we´d like to thank you for you stay at the Hotel Sant Roc. We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and that you appreciated our facilities, as well as our team’s efficient and friendly service.
We would love to have you stay with us on your next visit, so please don´t hesitate in contacting us. We look forward to see you again!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed here two nights in a top floor room. Stunning view with a private veranda overlooking the coastline of the Costa Brava. The room was smallish, but well appointed as otherwise comfortable ... except for the invasion of the ants.

We had been hiking and I had a baggie full of trail mix that was not fully locked closed sitting in my daypack. When I lifted the daypack in the morning, there was a spillage of tiny red ants coming from it, a large poor of ants that had gathered below it and a steady stream of ants leading to crack between the baseboard and the wall. So - ants in the wall. On the top floor - think about that for a moment and you will understand my rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no ants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsantroc, Gerente at Hotel Sant Roc, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate your visit to our hotel, we regret that you didn’t report this problem with the ants, we would have solved immediately and also it could have been useful to know to see if it is a specific problem (as it seems because like you say in your comment they came for the food on the opened backpack) or could be a problem that we didn’t previously detect and we would solve it fastly and efficiently making your stay the most comfortable.

Waiting to receive you in the future again.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#3 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#4 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
392 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
616 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Hostalillo
Hotel Hostalillo
#1 of 4 in Tamariu
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant Roc

Address: Placa Atlantic 2, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range: £95 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant Roc 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and peaceful hotel located in the heart of la Costa Brava. Come and let yourself be carried away by emotions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sant Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Roc Hotel
Hotel Sant Roc Calella De Palafrugell, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing