We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved the Sant Roc”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sant Roc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sant Roc
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton Lancashire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“We loved the Sant Roc”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2006

Just read the review from the family from Cork, and can't believe they stayed in the same hotel as we did! We had an excellent week staying half board in the Sant Roc. The food and service in the restaurant was very good - Typically Spanish. The hotel has a warm, comfortable and friendly feeling. Very traditional. The bar area is very relaxing, and the garden is total perfection. Sitting out there in the early evening before dinner with a glass of wine overlooking the view of Calella and the sea is the memory that keeps me going over the winter months!! This is the perfect place to stay. The walks in the area are excellent (coastal or inland) No English pubs or Karaoke bars. Just a wonderful area of Catalonia.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HolidayLoversl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    97
    27
    7
    6
See reviews for
46
177
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork City, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2005

My wife and I stayed in this hotel September 2005 for 2 nights on a standard room with sea view and half board basis. Having read previous reviews - what a terrible dissappointment!!
The room (NO.7) was indeed standard with constant noise from the plumbing. To say that the room had a sea view is stretching it to put it mildly. Maybe the sea is out there somewhere beyond the trees and the hotel terrace where breakfast is served- both our room and the terrace were practically on the same level. If you want a sea view make sure you're located on the upper floors!!
The worst aspect of this hotel was the level of service (at dinner) and the quality of food served, both at breakfast and dinner, under the half board package. As this hotel is located on the shores of the Mediterranean, you might expect fresh produce at breakfast ie fruit and fruit juices. The former came from a tin, the latter from a packet.
Worst of all was a 4 course dinner of which we chose the following:
1st course - soup which turned out to be packet soup
2nd course - a cod dish in a sauce which had quite obviously been microwaved and believe me was not good to look at nor to taste
3rd course - chicken (which turned out to be mostly bone) in a revolting looking sauce which was inedible
At this stage we made our excuses and left.
Needless to say we did not eat here on the second night of our stay but
enjoyed a lovely meal in a retaurant in the town of Calella

I would like like to point out that we spent 16 days touring the Costa Brava on this holiday and had a wonderful time (except for above) and will hopefully return sometime soon.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank JSTAPLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2005

We have stayed twice at this beautiful hotel. The location is terrific as you can walk into town very easily (except for the steap hill on the return).

The staff cannot do enough for you. The special restaurant in the consevatory is the best in the area. I would highly recommend staying during the Havernas sing song which is the first Saturday of July. The hotel lays on a five course meal - one of the best I have experienced.

All in all I love it, the view from the breakfast terrace is stunning.

I plan to go back next year.

Enjoy

Belinda

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracyrolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2005

Lots of good things about this hotel. Lovely rooms. Lovely views. Helpful staff. Excellent location (and Callela itself is a very nice town with some good beaches).

But it's let down by just one thing: the restaurant is laughably bad. We were on half board and regretted it. There is a "posher" a la carte part to the restaurant (which never looked very busy). We decided not to trade up on the basis that if they can't do simple things, I'm not going to take the risk of the complicated things.

Apart from that, a very good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank McBoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#5 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#3 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 14 in Begur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant Roc

Property: Hotel Sant Roc
Address: Placa Atlantic 2, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant Roc 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and peaceful hotel located in the heart of la Costa Brava. Come and let yourself be carried away by emotions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sant Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Roc Hotel
Hotel Sant Roc Calella De Palafrugell, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing