We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best in Calella”
Review of Hotel Sant Roc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sant Roc
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We have stayed in various other hotels in Calella, but this has turned out to be the best overall. We took the offer of 3 nights for the price of 2 in a superior room with half board. Our room 206, I think was far better located than those directly facing the sea as the ones on the side, where ours was, have the perfect view of all Calella as well as the sea. Rooms are small but comfortable and have been remodelled recently. The breakfasts were OK, but nothing special. They do need to invest in a new toaster as they only have one, very old machine that seems to take forever to toast and as the toaster only holds 4 slices, it can mean having to wait and wait and wait while toast for others is cooking. Coffee is great though. Bread is not good either at breakfast or with meals. The meal at Euros29 included in the half pension , is OK, but nothing special. We decided to have the fixed meal for lunch as it´s a good price compared with the overpriced restaurants in Calella, and then order a la carte from the better restaurant they have, and perhaps order 2 good dishes instead of having the 3 mediocre ones form the fixed menu. What I personally didn´t like was the smell of cooked fish throughout the hotel, which seems to happen at each meal time as fish is always on the menu. I love fish but not the smell as it flows through the hotel. Overall though it´s the best bet in Calella.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hardtoplease002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2010

I wish I could say enough about this place, but not sure if there are right words to describe our experience there.
1- Calella De Parafrugell
The town is as seen on the pictures: with bright colored crystal water, floating boats, and small white houses! There about 4 separate beaches and even though they seem busy you can always find a spot. The water is so crystal clear that you can see the fishes! You will not regret if bring /buy a snorkeling mask. We tried food in multiple places, and it was always good. The best mussels are sold in the place right on the second beach from the hotel. There are really nice picturesque nature walks in both directions from the hotel: one toward the next town L'afranc and other one along the mountain.
2- Sant Roc
Location: It is definitely the best location you can get! It is located on the cliff and hence is the only one overviewing Calella. It has beautiful gardens where you can enjoy the magnificent views days or nights.
Rooms: Not very large, but very cozy and unique.
Food: Breakfast is simple and very tasty. The morning coffee is amazing! We had a couple of dinners as well as our wedding reception in the restaurant, and the food was always excellent. Highly suggest to try their entrecote, it is cooked to perfection.
Service/Staff: OMG!!! You feel like a part of family after a day in Sant Roc! Everybody goes out of their way to make you feel comfortable. They will help you with anything you need to make your stay enjoyable, either it has to do with the hotel or the area. I don't know many other places where your server( Francisko) sings for you while serving! We had our wedding ceremony and reception there, and could not wish for a better place and better people to make our big day so perfect. We were especially thankful to one of the managers of the hotel ( Barbara), who spent a lot of time to make this trip and our wedding day truly unforgettable.

Basically, i would recommend the hotel as a perfect spot to explore the area for people who enjoy peacefulness, picturesque views, and warm service.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naticcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

This hotel offers superb views from all sea front rooms and food of excellent quality . Because of its location, access to the beach is more difficult for older guests, unfortunately, but there is no better base from which to explore this beautiful coast, and the town's lovely beaches.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelCambridge53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

having been recommended this hotel, I went on the website to find that all the seaview rooms are available on a half board basis only. but their off season "escapada gastronomica" caught my eye, a good deal because it gave you a seaview room with an evening meal on one night in their gastronomic restaurant El Balco de Calella, and a (self-drive) visit to a local small vineyard. staff were extremely helpful when I called to book, and on arrival we found we had been given a superior room, no 109, with a large deck and fabulous seaviews.

the room was quite basic but the large deck with sunlongers and table and chairs more than made up for it, the evening meal was a 6 course tasting menu including wine and cava so all in all I felt we had a very good deal. However, I would echo previous comments about the quality of the food, the tasting menu was good but not outstanding but the breakfasts were poor for a hotel of this quality - tinned fruit cocktail still in evidence. the fruit bowl had unappetising half black bananas draped over a selection of tired looking fruit, jams were in mean looking portion packs, boiler for eggs and toaster were both in evidence but not switched on!

Despite the breakfast experience I would still recommend this hotel for its lovely position, quiet charm, cosy bar, elegant terrace and most of all its splendid views.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FootloosePair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

My fiancé and I stayed at Hotel Sant Roc while on our honeymoon. We were thoroughly impressed by the quality of the hotel and the knowledgeable staff.

The hotel itself if situated on a bluff overlooking Calella de Palafrugell. A nice, well marked footpath runs between the hotel and the Mediterranean, allowing easy access to the town and points north and south. Our room had two balconies with breathtaking views of both the Mediterranean and Calella de Palafrugell. The room was small relative to hotels in the US, but it was very clean and comfortable. It would have been nice to have a small refrigerator/mini bar, but I guess beggars can't be choosers.

We thought the half board option offered great value. The breakfast included a light buffet of cereals, breads, and thinly sliced meats served with coffee and juice. The hotel offers one menu, which changes daily, for both lunch and dinner. It consists of an appetizer, main course, and dessert. It offers a nice variety of seafood and meats. A nice bottle of wine costs around 10 euros on the low end. The portions were somewhat smaller relative to the US, but nevertheless, we left each meal satisfied.

The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. They provided us with maps, points of interest, and helped us rent a scooter from a company in Palafrugell. Most spoke very good English.

Overall, we had an excellent experience and look forward to returning as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jthillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Lovely hotel with the great location! The view of the Calella de Palafrugell is simply beautiful. We enjoyed having our breakfasts in the sea-view garden surrounded by the pine trees. And if you're travelling with children this is a perfect place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mirjana_Bcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2008

We visited this hotel for the second time in June 2008. Nearly everything about the hotel is perfect. We had a sea view on both visits and the view is well worth the little extra. The staff are fantastic, the rooms really nice, and the area is gorgeous - a few little resorts and fishing villages but no concrete jungles of hotels. Our only quibble was the food - to get a sea view you have to take half board or upgrade to their more expensive restaurant. The food wasn't awful but the half board dinner was closer to a package holiday standard than the boutique hotel quality that everything else reached. The restaurant food was better but not special enough to want to eat there every night. Best option is to take the half board for lunch - which is fine and eat out at night. We hope to go back often .

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ecosoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#3 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#5 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Port Bo
Hotel Port Bo
#4 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
160 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant Roc

Address: Placa Atlantic 2, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range: £98 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant Roc 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and peaceful hotel located in the heart of la Costa Brava. Come and let yourself be carried away by emotions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sant Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Roc Hotel
Hotel Sant Roc Calella De Palafrugell, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing