We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of Hotel Alga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2011

No hassle hotel with perfect location for this unspoiled town. Parking is usually quite busy (and a little tight) but isn't normally a problem. Lovely swimming pool and descent rooms with good air-con that face the sea/garden. Friendly reception.

We went 1/2 board. Excellent breakfast but evening/dinner was a little dissappointing. Limited menu choices (usually Pork or Fish!), If I went again I'd go for the B&B option.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uk_hotel_expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2011

we arrived late at night. The hotel kept the chef on to make sure we had a full meal before they closed the resturant. The staff were really friendly and the room which had a terrace looked out onto the bay - what a great way to start the day. We had good food - a breakfast with as much as you wanted a ,loads of fresh fruit. We were helped by fantastic weather - sunny all day every day. i think this place is well worth staying at if you are around Callella for a few days.

Room Tip: get room 210 overlooking the gardens and the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikesBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Ferran is one of the hotel managers at Alga - he an Enric and the fine staff at Alga make your stay amazing - I have brought 3 soccer teams through here and it is always there favorite place - the rooms are awesome - the garden view rooms are a must as are the lower level rooms that have been re-done - the breakfasts are awesome as is the huge pool and the dinner menu is well priced and has very good variety - Alga is a short walk to the beach and a great jump of point to other beaches and towns - they love kids and the garden area is fantastic to unwind in and have a beer or 2 - Alga is a hidden gem - the only Americans I have ever met there are from our own group - it is priced well and very clean - you will not regret your stay here - well done Alaga.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gdubwoolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We stayed at the Alga for four days last week and were very happy with our choice. We had requested a room with a seaview which was what we got. The rooms are fairly basic and we did see several ants on the furniture as previous reviewers have mentioned. However, the staff were, without exception, the most friendly and helpful we have encountered in a hotel for a long time. The hotel is very well maintained with beautiful gardens and is an easy walk down the hill into the beautiful resort of Calella. We loved this area and there is plenty to do for a mini break or a longer stay. The walks both up and down the coast from the hotel are well worth doing and we especially liked the lighthouse above Llafranc. The breakfast in the hotel was excellent but I agree with a previous reviewer who would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The hotel does offer tea or coffee in the hotel bar at all times which was much appreciated. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and it represents good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Me and my wife really enjoyed the stay at hotel Alga. Nice rooms, splendid breakfast, excellent and friendly service. Highly recommended.

Also - while in Calella - go the g-92 route to la Fosca - great walk!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoakimW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

The hotel was very convenient for our trip to tour the region. The staff were very nice and helpful. We had a terrible ant problem in our room and were offered another room. Problem was that the entire hotel seemed to have a problem during this september period as we also noticed ants in the breakfast buffet. If they are successful to fix this problem the hotel will be a nice reasonable cost hotel on the Costa Brava.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccroll6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We booked this hotel on our way from France. We wanted to go to Barcelona and thought it would be cool to stay in a small town along the coast along the way. Saw this place on Trip Advisor. It was a real surprise. The beauty of this area is intoxicating. The hotel and staff were exceptional.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colekinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#3 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Port Bo
Hotel Port Bo
#5 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
160 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Caleta de Tamariu
3.7 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alga

Address: Av Joan Pericot i Garcia 55, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range: £69 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alga 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel situate 200 meters from the beach of Calella de Palafrugell to focus on the Costa Brava. The restaurant offers fine local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Alga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alga Hotel Calella De Palafrugell
Hotel Alga Calella De Palafrugell, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing