We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alga
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel PortBo(Calella de Palafrugell)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Port Bo(Calella de Palafrugell)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mediterrani(Calella de Palafrugell)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Garbi(Calella de Palafrugell)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Torre(Calella de Palafrugell)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sant Roc(Calella de Palafrugell)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Llevant(Llafranc)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Terramar(Llafranc)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Llafranch(Llafranc)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveller rating
131
130
43
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
130
43
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelhalf boardswimming poolevening dinnertold receptionpastriesper daystayed here for nightssea viewthe breakfast areaplay areasuperior roomrelaxing holidaygirona airportbalconycleaners
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 313 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2012

This a a medium sized (60 rooms) family run hotel and it shows: we have seldom seen a cleaner place with such an eye to details - beautiful antiques, a very well tended garden, a huge and extremely clean pool. The service is excellent. Marta, the receptionist is a true treasure trove of good advice and helpfulness as is the lady who looks after the breakfast. Breakfast is very generous and delicious (we did not eat at the restaurant) - in short, we enjoyed our stay very much and will be back. The only little thing we missed: in such an international place (they had French, German and British guest during our stay) it would be nice to have some international TV chains - there were exclusively Spanish ones.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor, the view to the sea was breathtakingly beautiful
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank periqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I bought half board vouchers for a 2 night stay from Travelzoo, £65 and £75 (different prices September/October). I had read from reviews that it was worth paying extra for the rooms that overlooked the gardens and noted that the extra charge was €17 per night. As we were there for my husbands birthday I wanted to book one of these rooms, but was disappointed to find out that the hotel wanted to charge an extra €30 per night as my booking was made through the Travelzoo deal. I was also quoted €7 per night to use the car park. We parked directly outside the hotel without any problems (the resort was practically closed down).
We had a very nice modern room that overlooked the car park, very spacious and light. The staff were helpful at all times. The breakfast was adequate, the evening meal was very good. Waiter service, choice of starters, main and dessert, a really nice experience, you felt like you were in a restaurant, not in a hotel. The gardens were beautiful.
It was a shame that so many bars/restaurants were either closed or closing as it was the end of the season, so it was too quite for us, but for those who enjoy a break in a beautiful resort, it would be perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patioheater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Returned 27/09/12 after our second stay at this lovely relaxing hotel. Good location just a very short stroll to the beach and bars in this lovely unspoilt village. Well worth the few extra pounds for room with a balcony which commands views over the lovely hotel gardens and the bay at Callela. The breakfasts and dinners were excellent, with smiling friendly service in the spacious restaurant. The whole place is spotless and well run

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P_Smith1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I recently stayed in the Hotel Alga on a last minute booking. The room which faced the garden was a good size and was kept immaculately clean. The staff were without exception friendly and helpful. I have a severe nut allergy and was a little worried about staying half board. However, I needn't have worried the waiting staff advised me what I could have from the menu and the chef was happy to adapt items where necessary.
I will be visiting the hotel again and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys this area of Spain.

Room Tip: Email when booking for a room overlooking the garden with a sea view - it wouldn't be nice to have a room overlooking the carpark.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Calella De Palafrugell is a gem on the Spanish Costa Brava - largely unspoilt and without high rise blocks!
Hotel Alga is deceptive - the outside look is functional rather than aesthetic, but once inside, the rooms are great, with quiet efficient air conditioning that is essential in the summer months.
The food is also very Spanish, but also contemporary so you will find something to fit all tastes.
A couple of swimming pools, small play park, table tennis table and a tennis court add to the family friendly draw to this hotel.
I can't speak highly enough about the Hotel Alga, and look forward to returning again soon.

Room Tip: See if you can get a sea view room when booking
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews