We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not very good customer service”
Review of Hotel Alga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2013

the hotel is Ok and virginia on reception is fantastic.
It's disappointing that the "owners" were not able to find a simple answer to a simple question about what I had paid them. They offer one rate on their website and one on booking agencies and they offer "specials" when they want to. Essentially the hotel was virtually empty and I enquired why (as pensioners) we were not being offered the Half board offer as per their website. The answer was they they loaded my payment of about £500 because they had to pay a fee to the agent involved. He offered no easy answer only the unprofessional one of "cancel with them right now" and pay us direct. Apart from the fact that this is not very professional I was not able to do so without a £100 penalty; no point therefore! It would have been simple to say I will offer you and your wife say 2 nights half board out of the 5 nights we were there. So the hotel is virtually empty and he still wanted to cover his "marketing fee" by charging us not only more than others but also to restrict us to Bed and breakfast. With many organisations you get a better deal by booking "early" but in this case they offer various rates depending on how you book. If the hotel was full then I could see why he would not care about 2 Uk pensioners but it was not. Why do people not see that a "win / win" outcome is the way in which to offer good custoomer service. One of his colleagues, on our departure, said "come again and we will offer you a good rate"; why should I return?

Room Tip: if you want to avoid the drone of the nearby church clock twice every hour of the night then ask rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcolmandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalga, Gerente at Hotel Alga, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear costumer

Thanks for your time and review about our hotel

About the problem with your reservation, we have to inform you , that our special senior offer in Half board is available in our web page all year around (www.novarahotels.com)

When we receive a booking through any web page or travel agent, we don't know the age of the clients or if they don't want to book this offer, and many times is not the hotel who put the price

As we explained you, is not a win/win for the hotel if for the same price as our offer we have to pay the 25-30% comision to the travel agence and also give the dinner for free to the client.

Sorry this point didn't make you stay so pleasant

Yours sincerely


Enric Vila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

What a lovely hotel, very hard to fault. The setting was beautiful, the whole hotel immaculately clean, room well designed and comfortable and the grounds superbly cared for. We even went for a swim in the pool after a long hot walk, although the water was a bit cool being early May. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I loved staying there; it was a pleasure to sit on our balcony looking over town to the sea. The breakfasts were excellent. The only downside was some very odd choices of food in the evening. The oddest was some very strange meat served only with potato CRISPS (yes, crisps) and gravy. Maybe it’s a Spanish delicacy, if so this should have been explained to us. One group of six took such a dim view of the first evening meal that they opted out and ate in some of the many local restaurants. Generally there was a lack of vegetables or salad which is puzzling knowing how much Spain produces. The a la carte menu was completely different, but we didn’t sample it. I hope the management can reconsider their menu provision for our type of group. I feel this hotel deserves more than *** and would return anytime providing we could avoid the group evening meals menu or we could stay on a B&B basis.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petemain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalga, Gerente at Hotel Alga, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear costumer

Thanks for your time and valoration about our hotel

We took note about your comments and improve all our service and food to make your new stay with us more pleasant

Yours sincerely

Hotel Alga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

This a a medium sized (60 rooms) family run hotel and it shows: we have seldom seen a cleaner place with such an eye to details - beautiful antiques, a very well tended garden, a huge and extremely clean pool. The service is excellent. Marta, the receptionist is a true treasure trove of good advice and helpfulness as is the lady who looks after the breakfast. Breakfast is very generous and delicious (we did not eat at the restaurant) - in short, we enjoyed our stay very much and will be back. The only little thing we missed: in such an international place (they had French, German and British guest during our stay) it would be nice to have some international TV chains - there were exclusively Spanish ones.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor, the view to the sea was breathtakingly beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank periqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I bought half board vouchers for a 2 night stay from Travelzoo, £65 and £75 (different prices September/October). I had read from reviews that it was worth paying extra for the rooms that overlooked the gardens and noted that the extra charge was €17 per night. As we were there for my husbands birthday I wanted to book one of these rooms, but was disappointed to find out that the hotel wanted to charge an extra €30 per night as my booking was made through the Travelzoo deal. I was also quoted €7 per night to use the car park. We parked directly outside the hotel without any problems (the resort was practically closed down).
We had a very nice modern room that overlooked the car park, very spacious and light. The staff were helpful at all times. The breakfast was adequate, the evening meal was very good. Waiter service, choice of starters, main and dessert, a really nice experience, you felt like you were in a restaurant, not in a hotel. The gardens were beautiful.
It was a shame that so many bars/restaurants were either closed or closing as it was the end of the season, so it was too quite for us, but for those who enjoy a break in a beautiful resort, it would be perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patioheater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Returned 27/09/12 after our second stay at this lovely relaxing hotel. Good location just a very short stroll to the beach and bars in this lovely unspoilt village. Well worth the few extra pounds for room with a balcony which commands views over the lovely hotel gardens and the bay at Callela. The breakfasts and dinners were excellent, with smiling friendly service in the spacious restaurant. The whole place is spotless and well run

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P_Smith1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I recently stayed in the Hotel Alga on a last minute booking. The room which faced the garden was a good size and was kept immaculately clean. The staff were without exception friendly and helpful. I have a severe nut allergy and was a little worried about staying half board. However, I needn't have worried the waiting staff advised me what I could have from the menu and the chef was happy to adapt items where necessary.
I will be visiting the hotel again and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys this area of Spain.

Room Tip: Email when booking for a room overlooking the garden with a sea view - it wouldn't be nice to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Calella De Palafrugell is a gem on the Spanish Costa Brava - largely unspoilt and without high rise blocks!
Hotel Alga is deceptive - the outside look is functional rather than aesthetic, but once inside, the rooms are great, with quiet efficient air conditioning that is essential in the summer months.
The food is also very Spanish, but also contemporary so you will find something to fit all tastes.
A couple of swimming pools, small play park, table tennis table and a tennis court add to the family friendly draw to this hotel.
I can't speak highly enough about the Hotel Alga, and look forward to returning again soon.

Room Tip: See if you can get a sea view room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#3 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Port Bo
Hotel Port Bo
#5 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
160 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Caleta de Tamariu
3.7 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alga

Address: Av Joan Pericot i Garcia 55, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range: £70 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alga 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel situate 200 meters from the beach of Calella de Palafrugell to focus on the Costa Brava. The restaurant offers fine local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Alga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alga Hotel Calella De Palafrugell
Hotel Alga Calella De Palafrugell, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing