We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top hotel”
Review of Hotel Alga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Knowing Calella for many years, I have seen the Alga Hotel evolving top a top holiday hotel.
Teh hotel is clean and spacy, the staff is friendly and supportive, the restaurant is is great especially the menu for Lunch a lots of special items.The garden is great and has lots of shade to take your siësta outdoors. Recently the hotel has renovated many room a the look clean and very stylish, All very well done

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert-Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Great friendly service; beautiful garden (complete with turtles), paddle court, ping ping table, billiards table, different spaces to read, relax, chat, free parking, etc. Had been here a few times about 15 years ago and they have really improved things. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Hotel Alga is a large hotel but feels like a family-run operation. We had a sea-side room with an awesome view of the town, nearby hills and the sea. The giant breakfast buffet includes all types of egg dishes, meats, cheeses, fruit, pastries, wine, juice and coffee drinks. The pool is large with plenty of options for sitting in the shade at tables or frying in the sun in lounge chairs. There's a grassy area which would be fun for kids, nice gardens, and The beach and restaurants/shops are less than 10 minutes walking distance. It is also easy to walk along the coastal paths/sidewalks to nearby towns on the cost. We were there in October, so small beach was relatively uncrowded and water was the perfect temperature. The hotel was probably less than half full the three nights we stayed, so it was very quiet in terms of noise from other guests.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are excellent, and reasonably priced during off season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel Alga for a twelve day period on a bed & breakfast basis.
For the first week , we had a room overlooking the front of the hotel / car park but we knew this when we booked and it was due to the hotel being full when we first arrived.
The reception team at the hotel were great and arranged for us to move to one of the quieter rooms at the back as soon as they were available.
The front of the hotel doesn't do it justice so don't overlook it when you look at the pictures. It is a really good 3 Star hotel with really nice gardens and Pool area.
We ate in the restaurant one evening but found it a little disappointing so were pleased that we only booked bed & breakfast. There is also a large choice of restaurants within a five minute walk into town.
I would be pleased to recommend the hotel to stay in but not sure I would want to eat there all the time when you have so much choice on your doorstep.

Room Tip: Avoid the front facing rooms if possible and use the hotel as a great base to visit all the small to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed here for a sneaky week before the kids went back to school on the recommendation of a friend. The hotel managed to squeeze us into one room which was fine, the beds were all comfy and although the room faced the back of the hotel there was no street noise at night at all.
We decided to eat at the hotel on our first night, we were tired and very hungry. The food took over an hour to arrive and my son's steak and chips had an arty half dozen chips with a tiny steak. Hardly enough for a very hungry fourteen year old! Our paella was very dry and very very small. My daughter chose the croquetas from the kids menu and they were pasty and tasteless. I also found the waiting staff very aloof and snobby.
However the breakfast was very good and plentiful, again we had to lay and clear our own tables as it seemed too much to expect the super aloof waiting staff to do!
The gardens and pool of the hotel were super clean and well kept with table tennis and a local tennis like game of padel available. Towels were also available at the poolside.
All in all a lovely hotel, let down by a mediocre restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lasermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Lovely friendly hotel in beautiful Calella Palafrugel. Outstanding sea views in a breathtakingly lovely part of the Costa Brava. Room very comfortable though as is often the case a distinct lack of English TV apart from news channels. Food excellent in very attractive dining room. Romantic atmosphere for dinner - breakfast could be taken on the terrace. Good sized pool. What more could you want. Easy stroll down to the seafront bars and cafés and 15 minutes to the resort of Llafranc which has a different feel from Calella but very attractive

Room Tip: Floor two has best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 11JaneD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were in a room which needed to improve so much. The room was very expensive and we can only understand because it had sea views. Honestly if you are plannig to go I recommend that you save your money for rooms without sea views. The hotel is a good place to go with children because it have all kinds of facilities.
The other downside is the food. We had been here a couple of years before and it was much better. The dishes were disproportionate and not very good. The breakfast was full of supermarket things and weren't cooked or made there.
If the price of the hotel and the food were half I would score well, but I can't do it.

Room Tip: Don't rent a room with sea views, are expensive and not reformed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josep Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#3 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Port Bo
Hotel Port Bo
#5 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Terramar
Hotel Terramar
#2 of 6 in Llafranc
294 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alga

Address: Av Joan Pericot i Garcia 55, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range: £72 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alga 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel situate 200 meters from the beach of Calella de Palafrugell to focus on the Costa Brava. The restaurant offers fine local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Alga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alga Hotel Calella De Palafrugell
Hotel Alga Calella De Palafrugell, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing