We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alga
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Only complaint is that pool didn't open until 11am. No chance of a swim before going out for the day as was the plan. Very good staff, location etc. would happily stay there again, unless I found an hotel with a swimming pool that was more user friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank gpk186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    119
    37
    4
    2
See reviews for
102
132
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sedro Woolley, Washington
Level Contributor
162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

49 Americans from Virginia all at once - room keys in all there hands in less than 5 minutes - another amazing Hotel Alga experience - Ferran / Enric and the Alga staff once again hut yet anther home run - this hotel is a gem - grounds and rooms are immaculate - breakfast was the best of the 5 hotels we hit on our Spain tour - 5 min walk to the Med or 30 seconds and your in there huge pool - great little bar where our group watched the USA World Cup game the night we arrived - thanks Alga for another amazing experience - my group from Virginia hopes to return in 2016 - cheers

Room Tip: Sali restaurant down by the beach is great - as is the Cuban pizza parlor - the sea wall is an amazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gdubwoolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trimdon Village
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This June 18th was my husbands birthday and we were staying near the Hotel Alga, passing it every day to go to the beach. This day l decided to treat myself , husband and two friends who were on holiday with us to breakfast at the hotel. Wow what service from the minute we walked in we were made very welcome even though not residents, we were escorted to the breakfast area where a huge selection of cooked and other foods were on offer in a type of buffet. There were waiters waiting to help you at every turn, and you could even have champagne if you were feeling that way inclined. All of this for 12euros per person it was fabulous oh and did l mention you got to have the use of the Loverly swimming pool afterwards!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We've just come back from a great weeks stay at the Hotel Alga. Beautifully cared for, this is a lovely hotel in a picturesque resort. Our room was on the road rather than the garden side of the hotel and although the road was fairly busy, it was never intrusive. The room was well equipped and spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful, particularly as I bashed their gate post withe our hire car on the way in ! We had a great meal in the restaurant and there was always a varied selection to choose from at the breakfast buffet. The pool and garden area is a spectacular feature of this hotel and in all my travels I can't think of a nicer place to sit and relax. The hotel is just a short stroll down the hill to the centre of town and the beach. The sea temperature is still quite low at this time of year but perfect for a bracing dip ! The pool was a little bit warmer. All in all I can thoroughly recommend this value for money hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Knowing Calella for many years, I have seen the Alga Hotel evolving top a top holiday hotel.
Teh hotel is clean and spacy, the staff is friendly and supportive, the restaurant is is great especially the menu for Lunch a lots of special items.The garden is great and has lots of shade to take your siësta outdoors. Recently the hotel has renovated many room a the look clean and very stylish, All very well done

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert-Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Great friendly service; beautiful garden (complete with turtles), paddle court, ping ping table, billiards table, different spaces to read, relax, chat, free parking, etc. Had been here a few times about 15 years ago and they have really improved things. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Hotel Alga is a large hotel but feels like a family-run operation. We had a sea-side room with an awesome view of the town, nearby hills and the sea. The giant breakfast buffet includes all types of egg dishes, meats, cheeses, fruit, pastries, wine, juice and coffee drinks. The pool is large with plenty of options for sitting in the shade at tables or frying in the sun in lounge chairs. There's a grassy area which would be fun for kids, nice gardens, and The beach and restaurants/shops are less than 10 minutes walking distance. It is also easy to walk along the coastal paths/sidewalks to nearby towns on the cost. We were there in October, so small beach was relatively uncrowded and water was the perfect temperature. The hotel was probably less than half full the three nights we stayed, so it was very quiet in terms of noise from other guests.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are excellent, and reasonably priced during off season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#5 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Terramar
Hotel Terramar
#2 of 6 in Llafranc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Port Bo
Hotel Port Bo
#3 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alga

Property: Hotel Alga
Address: Av Joan Pericot i Garcia 55, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alga 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel situate 200 meters from the beach of Calella de Palafrugell to focus on the Costa Brava. The restaurant offers fine local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alga Hotel Calella De Palafrugell
Hotel Alga Calella De Palafrugell, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing