We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and relaxed”
Review of Hotel Port Bo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Port Bo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed in one of the apartments, which was perfect for us and our two teenage daughters - two nice bedrooms, a bathroom, and a fairly spacious area with kitchen, table, sofa and soft chairs. There's also a little balcony outside with its own table and chairs. It's quite a small hotel, much nicer than those ones with hundreds of rooms, and it felt friendly and relaxed. The pool isn't huge but it didn't feel crowded. Staff were very pleasant and helpful, especially the dining room manager who was great. The breakfasts were excellent, and the central position of the hotel makes it easy to walk to lots of good restaurants in the town.

Room Tip: The apartments are ideal for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2011

This is a perfect hotel for family. It is big, pretty with plenty of rooms to hang out around the lobby, clean and big rooms. The breakfast was very diverse and good.
I will definitely stay there again If I am back to Calella. A plus? I could bring my doggy with us.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassdra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Extremely clean, air conditioned room, helpful staff. Breakfast exceptional with very friendly attentive and helpful dining room manager Chevvy in attendance!
lovely pool.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FM123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Back in Hotel Port Bo again this year, nothing has changed still excellent. The breakfasts might even be better................ Cannot fault this lovely family run hotel. Might be a few too many children for some people as the hotel also has apartments but it did not spoil our holiday we just love Calella de Palafrugel and will be back again next year all being well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

My friend and I wound up in Calella de Palafrugell after our flight to Lyon was cancelled. We were supposed to go to Nice, but ended up staying an extra night in Barcelona then decided to move on to the Costa Brava for some fun in the sun. We had no idea where we were going to stay, not having done any real research, so we took the advice of our cab driver, after getting off the bus from Barcelona, to stay at the Hotel Port-Bo (also, it was the cheapest of our options, at 80 euro/night, breakfast included). I will never forget this quirkly little hotel - first of all, the decor is total 70's time warp. Pretty cool and what might be considered "trendy", except there was no irony involved whatsoever. They just hadn't bothered to redecorate since the late 70's/early 80's.

We rarely saw anyone in our entire 2 night stay, save for the nice people at reception (one of the gals spoke a bit of English), which gave the hotel a ghostly, "Hotel California"-like feel, completely at odds with the surroundings. But I loved it! NOT a luxury hotel by any means, but perfectly adequate and reasonably comfortable. The room was a good size, basic, beds not too comfy though so I didn't sleep very well. Bathroom was good, had a bidet, hairdryer, decent water pressure. We had a nice balcony overlooking the grounds below, with the pool area to the right, and a tiny glimpse of the sea beyond that. There was FREE internet and wi-fi, which was great! although not available after 11pm. I remember I went down after midnight the first night to check my emails, only to find the lobby area completely dark and woke up the night reception guy. Which brings up another point - we were definitely the youngest people staying there. We saw a lot of British and Spanish retirees (when we did see people). Not exactly party central, if that's what you happen to be looking for (we weren't).

The BEST thing about this hotel though, and which was completely unexpected, was the BREAKFAST!! Free with the room, it was an incredible spread: different baked goods, hams, salumi, cheeses, tomato bread, stewed red peppers, a stewed chicken & red peppers dish that was so yummy, spanish omelettes, smoked salmon, fruit salad, fresh fruit, and of course, great coffee. The breakfast room was nice and sunny and full of people (the only time we felt there were other people staying there!). We booked 2 nights there, but unfortunately could only enjoy the breakfast one morning, since we had a 6am airport pickup the next day.

Other plusses, great location just a few minutes walk from the town center, close to the beaches, quiet. Loved Calella de Palafrugell! Had the feel of a retirement paradise, but who cares, it was beautiful and so tranquillo. Not sure when I can get to the Costa Brava again, being from California, but if I do I won't hesitate to book here again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HolboxBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

I've just come back from my 2nd stay at the Port-bo and it was just as good as the last time. The only down side, this time, was that the bed was not the most comforable I have slept in and while I generally slept OK I do have a slightly stiff back. This should not detract from the fact that the hotel was very clean and the staff were, again, extremely helpful and accommodating. In one earlier reviwe, jazzireland tells of a very rude receptionist and I can only say that this must have been a one-off as I have never had so much as the tiniest reason to complain about them. One of the young girls, this time did not speak English as well as the others so she was less inclined to indulge in conversation, which I suppose could me mis-construed as rudeness but I don't think so. Now, the breakfast. What can I say that hasn't been said before. Still THE best breakfast you could wish for with everything you can think of (and more) including, on one morning, freshly made stuffed, roasted tomatoes and a large bowl of 'proper' sausages, in an onion gravy. On top of the vast selection laid out in fron of you, they will also cook you bacon and eggs, og eggs done a number of ways (fried, boiled, srambled.) I'm not normally a great breakfast person but for the Port-bo, you have to make an exception. My room (336) was spacious, with 2 large single beds and a small balcony, which had a sea view. There was plenty of storage space, as well as a safe, fridge, TV with a couple of English language stations and a spotless bathroom with power shower. I will be going to Calella de Palafrugell, next year and I already know where I will be staying.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterDannyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Still as good as ever. This hotel continues to deliver basic and functional service that is all it needs to deliver. It's not luxury and doesn't pretend to be, it's not cheap but knowhere is in this area, the breakfasts are still with the WOW factor. Service is good with owners very friendly and helpful, maybe their reception staff this summer lacked experience but they still helped us with all our enquiries and needs. Some bathrooms may need updating soon and some rooms have more space than others but all in all it's still great.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#3 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#4 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
339 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Caleta de Tamariu
0.6 mi away
Hotel Terramar
Hotel Terramar
#2 of 6 in Llafranc
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Port Bo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Port Bo

Address: August Pi i Sunyer 6, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range: £86 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Port Bo 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Port Bo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Bo Hotel
Hotel Port Bo Calella De Palafrugell, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing