We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better except front desk clerk”
Review of Hotel Port Bo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Port Bo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Hotel Port-Bo was a pretty good hotel with a great breakfast. The elevator was slow and impossibly slow and the wifi was very slow. The rooms were tiny but they had nice balconies with ocean views. The hotel pool was nice and clean, so it was a mixed bag. There is NO PARKING and their small lot cannot fit a minivan.

We had a real witch of a front desk clerk who made us wait 15 minutes to check in because she was just gone somewhere... then she made a huge deal about our documents. Later, when I asked for more towels (we have 2 small kids) I got the 3rd degree. I didn't bother asking fo dining recommendations or questions about the beach because I didn't want to see her again... ever.

Room Tip: get a room with a balcony and ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank esfesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Port Bo - the town itself is gorgeous and the hotel stay was excellent. The room was basic but very clean, comfortable and spacious (and quiet with the exception of the town clock striking each hour!). The pool was great for small children and adults alike. Breakfast was incredible - the reviews we read in advance did not exaggerate!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed in room 372 which is one of the two family suites available - spacious, simple, spotlessly clean, well-serviced. This suite has two bedrooms, each with a balcony, air conditioning and an enormous bathroom with bath and shower-over.

Everyone mentions the breakfasts and with good reason! It's only a small hotel, doesn't do any meals except breakfast - but it is superb!

Meats, cheeses, cereals, pastries, fresh fruit and fresh fruit salads. Doughnuts, Spanish omelette and then you're offered a choice of fried or scrambled eggs with your freshly cooked bacon.

Tea (a dozen quality blends and infusions), coffee, apple and orange juice, hot and cold milk.

It's a wonderful spread served from 8am 'til 11am every day and you might need that time ;)

As for the rest of the hotel, plenty of seating areas with free wifi, there's no bar, no room service, the swimming pool is fairly small and 1.6m deep everywhere (no shallow end) though there is a separate paddling pool. Plenty of sun loungers.

Very friendly and helpful staff.

All in all, it is a perfect family location. Only 50 minutes from Girona Airport, 3 minutes walk from the quiet coves and many restaurants.

Room Tip: As mentioned, two family suites are available, we stayed in 372, which as a sea-view as I suspect al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in this great hotel with spacious rooms with ensuite bathrooms, and balconies.. An added bonus is the fully equipped laundry with 2 washing machines and dryers which are free to use except for a E1 charge for washing powder.

The breakfasts each day were nothing short of amazing. A huge variety buffet style, with different choices every day. Fresh fruit in either a salad or individual portions of every fruit imaginable, yoghurt, loads of savoury choices including eggs and bacon,
The pastry selection to die for.Cakes danish pastry,fruit tartlets, reme caramel, the list goes on and on.
Juices,tea coffee and cold drinks including champagne or wines catering for indivdual tastes..

The hotel, gardens and pool area are all spotless and staff are all extremly helpful and friendly.

We had rooms on the 3rd floor which had views of the pool and harbour area, which was a short stroll away.

The bus to Palafrugell was a two minute walk from the hotel,,,, and from there we took another bus to Barcelona. A very pleasant 2.15hr journey..

Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for young or old, families or singles.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room with pool and sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed in one of the apartments in Hotel Port Bo nad it was perfect for a small family (we were 2 + 3 kids). The staff were friendly and helpful, the grounds and hotel is excellently kept, the swimming pool and area was lovely and....the breakfast is outstanding!! The breakfasts set us up for the day and usually saw us through to the evening. It is a short walk to one of two fine beaches and we will certainly return here.
The only negative is that the fold out sofa bed could be more comfortable but that is not enough to take the shine off the place

Room Tip: If booking an apartment I suggest requesting a ground floor one with steps down to the grassy area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Have stayed at this hotel twice - once in july 2010 and once in July 2011, each time for a few nights.
Very friendly and helpful staff, good price and amazing breakfast! It is not a luxury hotel but it is clean and tidy and has a good location with just a short walk to the beach and restaurants just around the corner.
Calella de Palafrugell is a very beautiful place with many small nice beaches, walking path to the villages close by, restaurants with the most amazing food. It is a real gem on the Costa brava!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinasweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed in one of the apartments, which was perfect for us and our two teenage daughters - two nice bedrooms, a bathroom, and a fairly spacious area with kitchen, table, sofa and soft chairs. There's also a little balcony outside with its own table and chairs. It's quite a small hotel, much nicer than those ones with hundreds of rooms, and it felt friendly and relaxed. The pool isn't huge but it didn't feel crowded. Staff were very pleasant and helpful, especially the dining room manager who was great. The breakfasts were excellent, and the central position of the hotel makes it easy to walk to lots of good restaurants in the town.

Room Tip: The apartments are ideal for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#4 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#3 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Llafranch
Hotel Llafranch
#5 of 6 in Llafranc
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Port Bo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Port Bo

Address: August Pi i Sunyer 6, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range: £84 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Port Bo 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Port Bo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Bo Hotel
Hotel Port Bo Calella De Palafrugell, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing