We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel in Spain” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Port Bo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Port Bo
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel in Spain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2008

We just happened to pull into this hotel as we drove into town. To our surprise the hotel and room was impeccable. The cleanest we had seen on our European trip. All the staff were unbelievably friendly and went out of their way to help with everything we ever needed.
And then there was the breakfast! The best food you could possibly ask for no matter what hotel you were staying at. The pastries were better than anything in France and the traditional spanish dishes were the best we had savoured any where. Or they would even cook bacon and eggs if you wanted that. We didn't eat for the rest of the day, it was magnificent. We only originally booked in for two nights but stayed for four and then after our four weeks around Spain we drove 8 hours out of our way to stay there another two nights before we flew home to Australia.
It is right in the middle of town, 3 minutes walk to the beach, with water views (at least from the two rooms we stayed in). It has free internet, free laundry, spotless rooms with the best staff (family run after 3 generations) and a breakfast to die for. If you are holidaying on the Costa Brava, this is the best hotel.

  • Liked — The breakfast, cleanliness, friendliness and it was cheap.
  • Disliked — 2 single beds to make up the double
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 1825dudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    56
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
46
68
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2008

As a single traveller I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights during May 08 and it was lovely. EXTREMELY clean and in a very quiet location tucked away from the road. It has its own parking area, is only a 5 min walk from the beach and restaurants.
The breakfast was fantastic and so much choice and so much attention to detail. Couldn't fault the staff one little bit.
There is no bar in the hotel but it's not far to walk to the beachfront to find one. You do have a fridge in the room and all rooms have balconies. They also have apartments which looked great.
The pool area is beautiful and clean with sunbathing areas and jacuzzi bubbles etc.
Well laid out, quiet and compared with other local hotels (I checked out several before deciding on this) it is extremely well priced. I stayed a couple of nights during low season which turned out to be £25/night incl breakfast and then it went up a few pounds as my dates covered a Bank Holiday. Great value for money.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, price and staff
  • Disliked — Sqeaky bed
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TST-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2007

I stayed here earlier this month and thought the hotel was great. It was very clean with helpful, attentive staff and the rooms were a good size and mine had a large patio area outside, with sea-view. The buffet breakfast was one of the best I have seen with sausages, croisaants, breads, cakes and all sorts (they will cook eggs on request). I have been to Calella de Palafrugell a number of times and will certailny bear this place in mind, next time.

  • Liked — Good size rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DAMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2007

We have stayed at this hotel twice. If offers excellent value for money in what is an expenive and quite exclusive area. The appartments for families are very big, the hotel spotless,the pool is great fun and the breakfast the most generous I have had compared with even the best hotels. Last time we stayed we did have some ants. This was dealt with. Only critsism was the fairly basic beds.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, value for money
  • Disliked — Basic bedding
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BexHoveActually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etobicoke, Ontario
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2007

I stayed at this hotel for two weeks, and in two separate suites.

The first was a ground floor room, directly in front of the grass area, which lots of light and a decent kitchen for a hotel. The windows in the bedrooms were small, but little time was spent in there. The bathroom in that particular room was marble and newer (not fitting with the rest of the hotel). The kitchen appliances were new and clean, yet didn't seem to work as well as they should.

The second room I stayed in was on the second floor, in a separate wing. I felt removed from the hotel, and I didn't enjoy that aspect. There were some perks, like the fabulous balcony drenched in sunlight. It also had a view of the water. This room however was older than the previous room I stayed in. It did have the ant problem, but that was limited to the bathroom. I didn't think it was a huge problem, as long as food wasn't brought into the room. One time I did light them on fire because I was a little fed up.

On to the rest of the hotel. There were lots of lounge areas in the hotel, most of the seemed like wastes of space, but if you wanted to escape your room, it was possible.

The pool area was quite nice. Many seats, lots of shade if you wanted, and little wind. It made a difference compared to the sea. The nice thing about the pool, were the jets that kept the water flowing.

The best part though, was the buffet breakfast. These Spaniards know how to eat. Limitless treats, pastries, eggs, and fried pork. The orange juice might be a little acidic, but it was quite elaborate for this family hotel.

  • Liked — The Eggman, he comes around everyday asking what type of eggs you want.
  • Disliked — The architecture of the complex.
  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2006

This has to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Our room was infested with ants. They were all over the bathroom, the floor and then ended up in our cases. In fact, I picked three ants off my boyfriends clothes while we were in a restaurant. When I spoke to the hotel - they said they were aware of the problem. They had no other room they could offer us and initially refused to give us a discount on the £110 a night room saying that if we didn't like it then we should book somewhere else!!!!!!!! This is certainly no three star hotel. Do not go!

Helpful?
3 Thank Angel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#5 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#4 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Terramar
Hotel Terramar
#2 of 6 in Llafranc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Port Bo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Port Bo

Property: Hotel Port Bo
Address: August Pi i Sunyer 6, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Port Bo 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Port Bo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Bo Hotel
Hotel Port Bo Calella De Palafrugell, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing