We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel experience we have had”
Review of Hotel Port Bo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Port Bo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2009

The person on reception was extremely rude and unhelpful. The bed was very uncomfortable and because our room was right in front of the stairs it was quite noisy. Also when we booked the room we were not informed that there was an additional charge for parking. Definately the worst hotel experience we have had, fortunately there were other good hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2009

Another return visit to best part of Spain by far. Hotel still as good as ever with superb cleanliness, breakfasts to die for, position couldn't be better, staff are lovely and helpful.....but let's keep quiet as everyone will want to go!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2008

We have been going to this resort for 20 years but this was the first time in this hotel and what a great hotel we have been missing all these years. Have tried many types of accomodation and this is the best. The staff were excellent, could not do enough for us, especially the breakfast staff. Oh and the breakfasts - what can I say ! The choice and quality of the food was just terrific. The overall hotel was spotless could not fault anything about it. Hopefully will be there next year again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Cosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

We just happened to pull into this hotel as we drove into town. To our surprise the hotel and room was impeccable. The cleanest we had seen on our European trip. All the staff were unbelievably friendly and went out of their way to help with everything we ever needed.
And then there was the breakfast! The best food you could possibly ask for no matter what hotel you were staying at. The pastries were better than anything in France and the traditional spanish dishes were the best we had savoured any where. Or they would even cook bacon and eggs if you wanted that. We didn't eat for the rest of the day, it was magnificent. We only originally booked in for two nights but stayed for four and then after our four weeks around Spain we drove 8 hours out of our way to stay there another two nights before we flew home to Australia.
It is right in the middle of town, 3 minutes walk to the beach, with water views (at least from the two rooms we stayed in). It has free internet, free laundry, spotless rooms with the best staff (family run after 3 generations) and a breakfast to die for. If you are holidaying on the Costa Brava, this is the best hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 1825dudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

As a single traveller I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights during May 08 and it was lovely. EXTREMELY clean and in a very quiet location tucked away from the road. It has its own parking area, is only a 5 min walk from the beach and restaurants.
The breakfast was fantastic and so much choice and so much attention to detail. Couldn't fault the staff one little bit.
There is no bar in the hotel but it's not far to walk to the beachfront to find one. You do have a fridge in the room and all rooms have balconies. They also have apartments which looked great.
The pool area is beautiful and clean with sunbathing areas and jacuzzi bubbles etc.
Well laid out, quiet and compared with other local hotels (I checked out several before deciding on this) it is extremely well priced. I stayed a couple of nights during low season which turned out to be £25/night incl breakfast and then it went up a few pounds as my dates covered a Bank Holiday. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TST-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2007

I stayed here earlier this month and thought the hotel was great. It was very clean with helpful, attentive staff and the rooms were a good size and mine had a large patio area outside, with sea-view. The buffet breakfast was one of the best I have seen with sausages, croisaants, breads, cakes and all sorts (they will cook eggs on request). I have been to Calella de Palafrugell a number of times and will certailny bear this place in mind, next time.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DAMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2007

We have stayed at this hotel twice. If offers excellent value for money in what is an expenive and quite exclusive area. The appartments for families are very big, the hotel spotless,the pool is great fun and the breakfast the most generous I have had compared with even the best hotels. Last time we stayed we did have some ants. This was dealt with. Only critsism was the fairly basic beds.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BexHoveActually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#4 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#3 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Terramar
Hotel Terramar
#2 of 6 in Llafranc
294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Port Bo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Port Bo

Address: August Pi i Sunyer 6, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range: £85 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Port Bo 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Port Bo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Bo Hotel
Hotel Port Bo Calella De Palafrugell, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing