We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, unobtrusive and spotless”
Review of Hotel Garbi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Garbi
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful, unobtrusive and spotless”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hotel Garbi was much bigger than we had anticipated.... It has a splendid approach up a steep, pine clad hill. Reception were friendly and efficient, and to be honest you only have to have contact with the Hotel staff if you want/need to!!
Our room was perfect-large, immaculate and luxurious, with probably the best views we have ever had in a Hotel!!
It was a very steep climb back up to the Hotel from Calella, but we felt fitter for the exercise.
The one gripe we would have with this Hotel is that the one night we ate in the Restaurant the restaurant manager was extraordinarily rude and the food was terrible- nonetheless we would recommend the Hotel Garbi wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: We were in the add-on from the main hotel, would recommend this for the views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    98
    36
    10
    6
See reviews for
53
153
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Staff in the hotel are very helpful and the standard of rooms is high. Cleanliness is good and the food is of a reasonable standard. The hotel is about 10 minutes walk downhill to the beachfront, but it is a relatively steep ascent back - this would not suit those who are unfit or disabled. The beachfront itself is very picturesque and there is miles of costal paths which connect with other towns

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank touchingcloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We had a lovely low key stay at the hotel garbi. The hotel is simple but lacks nothing. Service is impecable, the food is decent, specially the breakfast. It's location is perfect as you are within walking distance of everything (town centre, beaches, botanical gardens). I'd highly recommend it as the value you get for what you pay is hard to beat, though it is very quiet this time of year, ideal for disconnecting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
635 reviews
267 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,004 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

A mere 5 minute stroll to the town centre, down the steps directly opposite the main entrance, makes this a great location with parking right at the door. It is on a hillside so the views are superb and definitely the best in town.

Check in was so friendly and a small hic cup was dealt with immediately by the excellent Greg on reception. Carla on reception was always smiling, friendly and helpful.

We had the older rooms and were then transferred to the new block and I would for certain recommend the new block as being the far better choice. Our room was spacious, clean, modern and with a balcony with a view over the whole bay and town....Magic.

Spotless bathroom and cleaning every day made this a very nice room indeed.

Breakfast is mixed. You have great croissants, eggs to order, fresh juice, a good selection but two of my favourites were not good. The cereals and the breads were awful and I would put more effort in to good breads and cereals rather than the cakes and muffins.

The maître d was a bit odd. He was in trainers, open shirts and casual trousers. Definitely not at all what you would expect as the dining room is linen service and very comfortable. He was also unfriendly and this is not good for the restaurant.

There is a lovely sitting area outside in the garden along with a relaxing pool and plenty of loungers. Towels are available with a €10 deposit and you can change them as often as you like.

TIP; Don't miss the weekly buffet....it is very good value, very good food and as wine is also included it is in fact excellent value!

SURPRISE! The excellent and so friendly chef Edgar asked us would we like to try his tasting menu....and are we glad we did. We had I think eleven courses and I can say it was a delight. Not all were big portions but we were totally full at the end. From foie gras, to duo of salmon, octopus, risotto, duck, sole, etc it was indeed a delight and showed us he had a great talent with food. One or two of the courses, like the chicken and the cod, were not for us but as in all things artistic it is a personal choice.
I would highly recommend you ask for this tasting menu. We have paid twice as much for half as good elsewhere. We were very pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Choose the new wing and higher up floors. Don't miss the buffet Don't miss the tasting men...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is a nice hotel, tucked away on a hill nestled amongst beautiful pine trees and lush gardens. You feel somewhat removed from the town, however it is only a short walk away. To get to reception you do have to go up a steep hill, so not recommended for those with difficulties or elder folks who aren't in good health. For the kids it was great as there is a kiddie pool, and some swings and a slide for them to goof around. They also featured some movies for children which was nice to give them some down time before dinner. All the staff was very polite and friendly and the facilities were well kept. Our room for four was barely spacious enough but for a standard room, it was pretty much what we expected. We will recommend them to our friends and hope to visit again down the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GISELLE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and really enjoyed our visit. The bedrooms are a good size, very clean and with excellent air con (v hot when we were there). The gardens and pool area are lovely with a nice poolside bar serving simple lunches. Breakfast was excellent. Best of all the staff are great - friendly, polite and very helpful. The hotel is on the hill overlooking the town so quieter and with good views and I much preferred this to being in the midst of everything. It's not far to the beach and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 48WendyM987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This hotel had great nautical decor, large grounds with a pool, attentive staff, and a great, but under-attended restaurant. It was quiet and up on a hill with beautiful views. It wasn't by the beach, but it was close to a botanical garden.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BobbyOzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#5 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
419 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel La Caleta de Tamariu
3.9 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garbi

Property: Hotel Garbi
Address: Avenida de Baldomer Gili i Roig 20, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garbi 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Garbi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garbi Hotel Calella De Palafrugell
Hotel Garbi Calella De Palafrugell, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing