We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous Garbi”
Review of Hotel Garbi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Garbi
Reviewed 3 September 2014

lovely hotel in a superb setting on the hillside just 5 minutes walk from the beach front and Spar shop, The rooms were clean, plenty of space and light with lovely views. The staff are all friendly, helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: new part of hotel has bigger & nicer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Enjoyed our week here, but was concerned that maybe I had taken a bit of a risk with it being quite a trek up from the beach. Didn't need to worry, it wasn't that bad and a bonus was that I came away fitter with a few pounds lost = happy me!

Stunning views, excellent staff, rooms a bit dated, but comfortable and clean, meals were OK, but not special enough to make us eat in after 2 attempts. No worries though, the little village on the beach is packed with lovely restaurants, stunning to go and sit down there in the evenings.

Would we go back? Yes, definitely, and would recommend this hotel and the whole area as being just amazing.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SushiMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel was booked for us as part of a walking holiday. The room feels light and spacious thanks largely to the full height sliding patio doors which open on to a good sized balcony. The room is also clean and well equipped. Free wifi was a bonus. The breakfast was very nice, plenty of choice including a hot buffet.
For the walk the next day we ordered a vegetarian packed lunch which was good. The filling of omelette in the bread roll was interesting.
Calella de Palafrugell, only a short walk away, is a delightful place to spend an evening.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in the new part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plawsworth_DH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel is situated on a very hilly slope with extensive gardens and a very nice pool area. Although it not far from the water and the village is all down hill and of course up hill on return trip. Its is a beautiful location. The room in the new wing was spacious with a nice balcony looking over the water. We had dinner in the hotel and it was good value for money.
Breakfast bar was average.

Room Tip: Must have water views in new section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OUTBiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Yes it's fairly, clean and close to the beach,but it's an old,shabby smelly hotel with a horrid woman as receptionist. Besides there is nothing else to do in the surrounding area, only the beach. Catalunya is overrated and overpriced. We have been in better places in Spain.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank lovetravel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hotel Garbi was much bigger than we had anticipated.... It has a splendid approach up a steep, pine clad hill. Reception were friendly and efficient, and to be honest you only have to have contact with the Hotel staff if you want/need to!!
Our room was perfect-large, immaculate and luxurious, with probably the best views we have ever had in a Hotel!!
It was a very steep climb back up to the Hotel from Calella, but we felt fitter for the exercise.
The one gripe we would have with this Hotel is that the one night we ate in the Restaurant the restaurant manager was extraordinarily rude and the food was terrible- nonetheless we would recommend the Hotel Garbi wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: We were in the add-on from the main hotel, would recommend this for the views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Staff in the hotel are very helpful and the standard of rooms is high. Cleanliness is good and the food is of a reasonable standard. The hotel is about 10 minutes walk downhill to the beachfront, but it is a relatively steep ascent back - this would not suit those who are unfit or disabled. The beachfront itself is very picturesque and there is miles of costal paths which connect with other towns

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank touchingcloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#5 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Port Bo
Hotel Port Bo
#4 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Terramar
Hotel Terramar
#2 of 6 in Llafranc
293 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garbi

Address: Avenida de Baldomer Gili i Roig 20, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range: £411 - £479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garbi 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Garbi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garbi Hotel Calella De Palafrugell
Hotel Garbi Calella De Palafrugell, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing