We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel nearing end of its days.”
Review of Hotel Garbi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Garbi
Dublin
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Hotel nearing end of its days.”
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We stayed in this hotel for three nights in early September, we really want to have a good relax and had reserved a Superior Room. On arriving parking was difficult and on a very steep hill. The reception area looked nice from the outside but had a very musty smell...sadly this wasn't just in the reception but all over the hotel. I later discovered they never seem to open the window. The bedroom was a good size as was the bathroom but the beds were hard as rocks, there were no relaxing chairs,the balcony door wouldn't stay closed/locked and the glass panel on the balcony was filthy dirty. When I complained, the receptionist laughed and told me that I had to be joking!!! However they offered me another room but beds were just as hard. Dinner that evening was only okay, breakfast the next morning was a joke, nothing worked, coffee dreadful. It seemed that they put out for breakfast what hadn't been eaten the night before.
The pool was nice, and the terrace around pool was okay, there was a tiny kiosk posing as the pool bar. There once had obvioulsy been a very nice barbeque area which was now broken and gone rusty and the wass around it was falling down...definitely hazardous for small children. There is a strong smell of sileage each morning from the local farm but that of course would only be at this time of the year. The gardens were fairly fairly kept but the all the evidence showed that this is a place that is running out of time if somebody doesn't invest some money in it very very soon....such a shame because the views from the hotel on top of a very steep hill overlooking the bay and the town are wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzieblue48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    87
    33
    10
    6
See reviews for
41
135
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We were very impressed with this hotel. We found our room and all the public areas extremely comfortable, clean and well maintained. The staff were all very friendly and efficient. The breakfasts were very generous, with a wide range of hot and cold foods available. The pool area and pine gardens were beautiful and very relaxing. We cannot recommend the Garbi highly enough!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkysheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

This hotel has to be one of the best we have stayed in for value- the breakfast alone equalled any we have had in hotels with a much higher rating.
The pool is set in well-kept gardens and the views from the upper-floor rooms are great.
The resort of Calella de Palafrugell is small but charming, and the coastal path along to the next bay at Llafranc is worth taking as a pre-lunch stroll.
I would not recommend either the hotel or the resort for those who cannot walk far or manage steep hills or steps, as I think your enjoyment of the place would be spoilt, but other than that the place is perfect for those who are looking for a reasonably quiet break in beautiful surroundings. We met another couple who had stayed in July and August previously, and they warned that it can be quite crowded in those months, but that June & September were calmer.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueskyFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
378 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Pleasant hotel situated within a stunning coastal town about 10 minute walk down to the centre / beaches. The views from the upper floors are stunning but probably not very good from the lower floors due to the number of trees. There is a delightful swimming pool in the gardens. The room was a little dated but clean and the staff were helpful. A reasonable hotel and good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staffsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We stayed here for ten days at the beginning of June and were surprised to find that there was only one other couple there at the start of our stay. Consequently we seemed to have the best of the standard sea view rooms which had a fantastic view of the coastline, village and inland scenery. The other advantage of being there at what was obviously the start of their season was that we often had the swimming pool to ourselves. The disadvantages were that they had not started their evening buffets, very few people ate there in the evenings, there was never anyone in the bar.
Breakfast was very good, but they were not serving it outside, so we took ours out on the terrace ourselves a couple of times. Presumably later in the season they would be more geared up for outside breakfasts.
The hotel grounds and pool were very pleasant as were the staff.
The only real minus was the steep climb from beach to hotel which involved numerous steps, but we did feel a lot fitter by the end of our stay! Not ideal for families with children though.
We loved Calella de Palafrugell - the beaches were lovely and there was a good selection of restaurants to choose from. Our favourite was El Sali - beautiful surroundings and excellent food.
It was an ideal base for exploring the area. We walked over to Llafranc but preferred Calella - it seemed to have a bit more character and life. The nearby botanical gardens at Cap Roig were well worth a visit, as was Begur, Pals, the Dali museum at Figueres, Dali's house at Portlligat, near Cadaqués and Púbol Castle which he bought for Gala, his wife.
We would certainly recommend both the Hotel Garbi and Calella de Palafrugrell.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KernowTraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2008

We booked our holiday at the Garbi with Golf Par Excellence and it was exactly what we were looking for. Close to all the best courses, quiet setting but close to the beach and restaurants in the (5 minute walk). Don't miss the Tragamar restaurant - best in Spain??? Breakfast could be better - but good enough.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RovingGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a ten-day vacation during August 2008. Generally we were very pleased with the hotel.
The rooms are very comfortable and clean, and sea-facing rooms on the upper floors have beautiful views of the gardens stretching to the village of Calella and the sea. The hotel grounds are quite large and the pool and surrounding area are excellent for relaxing and sunbathing, with a poolside bar available which also offers tapas at lunchtime.
The public areas of the hotel are pleasant and well furnished.
The clientele seem to be mainly French and Spanish with some UK and Irish guests. The age groups seemed to be mainly a mix of families with children and some older couples. Thankfully there were no stag or hen parties, or groups of noisy hell-raisers- nor any wedding receptions while we were there. However, virtually nobody frequented the hotel bar….
The hotel staff were generally very efficient, courteous and friendly, especially the reception and cleaning personnel.
The breakfast buffet was of a good standard. Available items consisted of bacon / sausage / scrambled egg / beans and a good choice of bread rolls / bread / cake, croissants / cheese / cold meats / fresh fruits / cereals etc.
We would not recommend the half-board option as the table d’hote menu provided for the evening meal is rather on the plain side and the portions were not anything to write home about. However, there is an excellent buffet on a Saturday evening with live entertainment and this was well worth the money (20 Euros per person without wine). Other guests mentioned that they had eaten from the A la Carte menu in the evening and found it satisfactory, if expensive.
There are other good places to eat quite close by, so it is not a hardship to venture out in the evening for dinner. We would recommend the restaurant Albo (turn left onto the main road and walk about 200 metres and it is on the right hand side.) It looks a bit basic from the road, but there is a nice dining area on the side with waiter service and a good menu and it's open all year round.
The Cap Roig botanical gardens are well worth a visit, which are about 15-20 minutes walk (uphill) from the hotel. Ditto a walk to Llafranc ( 15/20 mins due north through Calella ).
The owners of the hotel also run an upmarket deli in Palafrugell's main square . Palafrugell is well worth a visit : lovely art galleries and shops, congenial atmosphere and a VERY good value-for-money restaurant 'Arcobalena' which at weekdays offers an excellent 3 course 'menu del dia' for 10 Euros including a quarter of wine. (Head for the church from the main square and it's on your right hand side. )
Overall I would be very happy to return to this hotel. I felt that the price / quality ratio was good and if you want a nice relaxing holiday this is a good place to stay.

  • Liked — the sea views, the balcony, the nice hotel grounds, the pool
  • Disliked — no fridge in hotel room, extra charge for hotel safe
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jonnyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#3 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Terramar
Hotel Terramar
#2 of 6 in Llafranc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Llevant
Hotel Llevant
#4 of 6 in Llafranc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garbi

Property: Hotel Garbi
Address: Avenida de Baldomer Gili i Roig 20, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garbi 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Garbi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garbi Hotel Calella De Palafrugell
Hotel Garbi Calella De Palafrugell, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing