We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Mediterranean Holdiay Experience”
Review of Hotel Mediterrani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mediterrani
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mediterranean Holdiay Experience”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Hotel Mediterrani is a lovely, seaside hotel that is run by a superb staff. It is gracious, welcoming, spotlessly clean, excellently situated, and fairly priced. Soft music fills the public great room where big windows overlook the sea. Each morning begins with a great Spanish breakfast buffet. The modern rooms have great beds and pillows, and an efficient air conditioning system

It is the staff, though, that make the Hotel Mediteranni so special. They could not be more helpful, more genuine, or more willing to create great guest experiences. My daughter and I are taking a great first impression of this corner of Spain back to Canada with us. We highly recommend this small establishment and offer our sincere thanks for a wonderful stay.

(Do not mix this hotel up with the Hotel Mediteranni in Calella Barcelona. This one is further north, near Palafugell.)

Room Tip: The view from the front, seaside rooms is great but if you don't plan to look out the window ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    67
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
55
129
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
187 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We wanted a small, quiet place to stay on Costa Brava Spain. Calella was a fishing village and many Europeans have found it. No high rises. This hotel is on the beach and has been refirbished. King beds, large bathroom, wifi, and very nice breakfast included. It has several rooms facing the Med with nice balcony. The staff are helpful, friendly, and several speak English. Best prices are off season. Food within easy walking. The view is amazing. Spotlessly clean. We will surely return.

Room Tip: No parking lot but street parking around the corner was no problem. See their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The rooms to the back of the hotel don't have a great view...derelict buildings,graffiti,etc. you are close to a nice beach with some great restaurants and walking routes along the coast. Good, clean and we were happy with the service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed in the hotel with our two children. Very comfortable room with a spectacular view. Newly renovated room, with comfortable bed, well working air condition and a nice bathroom. This hotel is highly recommended with its service minded staff and the great location next to the beach. Clean, efficient, well maintained and just perfect for our trip to Calella de Palafrugell. We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mehus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

When I first booked the Hotel Mediterrani, I was unsure of the value as it was much more expensive that I usually book. However, it did seem to be appropriately priced after looking at other hotels nearby. The location couldn't be beat. The views were phenomenal and the rooms were comfortable but a little small. We loved hiking the Cami Ronda and relaxing on the beach. The beaches were a little crowded, but with a short hike down the trail, we were able to find a pretty secluded one. There were also plenty of lovely little places to eat right on the water. Breakfast at the hotel, I felt, was wonderful. They had several breads, sweets, meats, cheeses, cereal, yogurt, fruit.... I'm not quite sure what some of the other posters were complaining about. We very much enjoyed it as well as the view from the dining room. Overall, we loved the town, and the hotel was very nice with a prime location.

Room Tip: pay extra for a balcony overlooking the sea. it's not that much more, and the view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kristingaddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I have traveled all the catalan coast, and stayed in all kind of hotels. Mediterrani is one of my favorites. As many other reviewers mention, its location is amazing, in one of the most beautiful locations in the Costa Brava. I don't usually stay in a 2-star hotel. But, this one is definitely more like a 3-to-4 star. Service is great, rooms are very comfortable, and breakfast with a view is awesome. One of those great places that would still be a "hidden gem" if it wasn't for TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xamatriain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a terrace room , the view was amazing ! The room was newly refurbished very nicely. Good Air con. Could have done with some drawers and a fridge but for a 2 star hotel our expectations were exceeded. Staff were very helpful and mostly friendly. Very good breakfast with selection of cold meats , cheese , yogurts etc , yummy cakes ! No hot breakfast , so of you fancy egg on toast or a fry up you won't get. Bar was reasonable but if you want water there's a 'spar' Rhonda the hotel where a 2L bottle of water is .50 centimes instead of 3 euros at the bar! Normal I guess. All the restaurants / town are a very short walk. Beach was very crowded but very well behaved children and nice people. ( it was peak season!). Lovely weekend , great hotel will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#3 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#5 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
364 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Terramar
Hotel Terramar
#2 of 6 in Llafranc
259 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterrani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterrani

Property: Hotel Mediterrani
Address: Francesc Estrabau 40, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mediterrani 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mediterrani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mediterrani Calella De Palafrugell, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing