We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Casa Dos Torres

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calella de Palafrugell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Dos Torres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed for a week in July at Casa Dos Torres and we (2 adults and a 9-year old girl) loved it. It feels more like a home than a B&B, with very nice hospitality without being overbearing. There are no locks in the rooms, which increases that feeling of homeliness. Breakfast was varied and plentiful and a nice excuse to chat to other guests, as well as to John and Jane, our hosts. The swimming pool was a favourite for our 9-year old, who practised her English (we are Spanish) and made a friend while staying there. And there is the added benefit of the professional in-house pedicure service at a very reasonable price. We loved our stay and wouldn't mind going back for another holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

We have been coming to Callela for the ten years, but just discovered Casa Dos Torres this year through TA.

Jane & John made us feel so welcome in their beautiful home. The house has not been adapted to be a B & B - it is a private home where guests are made to feel at home an have full use of the house. The guests have breakfast together in the lovely garden and Jane is an excellent cook, with different breakfasts each morning.

We cooked in on a couple of evenings, which was a delight, shopping in the wonderful fish market in Palafrugell.

Wonderful seven nights and shall return next year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneAitken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We have nothing negative to say about our experience. John and Jane (and Chelsea) could not have been better hosts, they were truly warm and hospitable and nothing was too much trouble for them. A special thanks to John for allowing Nicole to play one of your guitars, she spent hours strumming away and singing. We particularly enjoyed our 'impromptu' gatherings with them and some of the other guests. It was nice to chill out with a glass of wine or beer and chat in the beautiful garden and swap tips and experiences. We hired a car from Barcelona airport and found it an easy one and a half hour drive. As we had been in Tuscany the previous week and spent most of our days sight-seeing we decided not to do too much driving while in Spain. We visited the Dali museum in Figueres which we all enjoyed. We also drove up the coast road from Tossa de Mar to Sant Feliu de Guixols which was spectacular and then further on to Palamos where we had a lovely seafood lunch on the seafront. Other than that most of our days were spent walking around Calella de Palafugell and into Llafranc or relaxing in the beautiful gardens or by the pool. As far as the accommodation is concerned what you see on the website is what you get and more!! The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable and beautifully furnished. My husband and I and our 16 year old daughter stayed in one of the Tower Suites and it was fantastic. There is a well stocked ‘honesty bar’ by the pool and a ‘guest fridge’ in the kitchen. Pool towels were supplied and we were also offered a beach bag and parasol to take to the beach. The breakfast was lovely and plentiful with cheese, ham, boiled eggs, cereal, yoghurt, honey, fresh fruit salad, fresh bread, cakes, pastries etc. Being a typical teenage our daughter very rarely made breakfast but Jane told her to help herself to fruit in the fruit bowl and the bread, pastries etc that were left over. The kitchen is also at the guest’s disposal with every kitchen utensils imaginable. We ate out each night but on our last day we bought some food and had a lovely lunch in the garden, There are plenty of restaurants to choose from. Our favourites were Taverna ca la Raquel (tapas restaurant) and Xabec in Calella and Chez Tomas in Llafranc. If you’re looking for cheap and cheerful La Clova beside the church in Calella is hard to beat – 3 course meal with a glass of wine or beer for 10 euros. We have travelled extensively throughout Europe over the last 25 years and this accommodation and the hosts are exceptional. I would also have to say that this is the most picturesque part of Spain we have ever visited and hopefully it won’t be too long until we return again. I must give a special mention to Jane’s friend Angie (and Toffee) who looked after us while Jane and John returned to the UK for a few days for a wedding, she too was a wonderful hostess and could not do enough for us, We had a fantastic time and would not hesitate to recommend the Casa Dos Torres to anyone, indeed we already have – we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shar0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

I never write reviews but Casa dos Torres, and John and Jane's hospitality just compels you to. My husband and I decided to go away for a few days for our anniversary, we chose callella because it looked so beautiful and then Casa dos Torres, because of the reviews. The house is fab with lots of different areas to chill out, the atmosphere is so relaxing, breakfast was easily comparable to a 5* hotel, and the hospitality was fantastic. We don't often go to the same places again, we usually go for the new experience over the old, but we will definately go back.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 777sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Jane & John are fantastic hosts. Casa Dos Torres is such a lovely place to stay in a wonderful part of the world. A hidden gem. Excellent hospitality and food. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettyboop49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

John and Jane are two of the most amazing hosts ever. They welcomed me into their home and gave me the royal treatment I think! It was like being home. My bed was comfier than many hotels I've ever stayed at and the room was sunny and fresh. I loved sleeping with all the windows open and waking up to the garden sounds below. The breakfast was amazing: hot & cold options galore! Jane truly is an amazing cook.

Calella is a beautiful place and I recommend hopping on a bike (John and Jane lent me theirs) and exploring the region on two wheels. It's very rider friendly with bike trails that are mostly flat. The Market in Palafrugell (40 minute walk) on Sunday was also a treat! I would go back again but this time for longer.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CamilleCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Jane and John were very welcoming, lovely setting and gardens with comfortable outside spaces to relax. Gorgeous walks and beaches. Absolutely great breakfasts, perfect service and readiness to help. Thanks for letting us prepare food in.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pattyvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#3 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#4 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Port Bo
Hotel Port Bo
#5 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Dos Torres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dos Torres

Address: Carrer Chopitea 59, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range: £70 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury B&B in Calella de Palafrugell, the hidden secret of The Costa Brava. No matter what length of stay you have you will always be made welcome at Jane and John's home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Dos Torres Hotel Calella De Palafrugell
Casa Dos Torres Calella De Palafrugell, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing