We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic: people, trip, scenery, professionalism & safe”
Review of La Rafting Company

La Rafting Company
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Sort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: La Rafting Company is an outdoor activities supplier. We are specialist in whitewater rafting, kayak and inflatable kayak.We do canyoning,mountain trekking and horseriding too.Contact us and live the experience of water.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic: people, trip, scenery, professionalism & safe”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We were a group of 2 couples (not young!!) three of which experienced a full day rafting on a very full river! So professional & safe throughout, despite our dips! Pepo was so helpful right from first e-mail contact, even recommended & booked for us the (discounted) hotel in town. He also looked after the 'non rafter' excellently. Due to a full river our lunch stop (for all of us) was a 5 course feast in the local YHA. All the gear provided by LA was first class which made you feel that much safer still. Nando was brilliant, looked after us excellently on the river, he was even waiting on us in the evening restaurant where we re-lived our days experiences!
Great photos taken during our trip were readily available afterwards at a very fair price.
Thanks to one & all at LA Rafting.
We have no hesitation in recommending you to anyone who wants to do this sort of adventure in such lovely surroundings.
We also look forward to doing it all over again, some time soon in the future.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepo F, Gerente at La Rafting Company, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Hi friends,

Thanks a lot for this great review and recommendation. We are very happy to know that you had a good time with us. We hope to see you again next time you visit the Pyrenees.

Best regards from all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    14
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unbelievable fun, excellent staff, great value”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We visited Sort for 4 days, two parents with two boys, ages 18 and 14. La Rafting was recommended to us by a friend who enjoyed their attractions a couple of months before. We did rafting, kayaking, and canyoning with them, and they also arranged horse back riding and biking for us through other colleagues.

We had a great time - the staff is great, love what they do, speak great English, and is a lot of fun. Equipment is new, safety is taken care of excellently - literally we can not think on a single thing that was not perfect.

The Pyrenees are an amazing nature environment. There's nothing like experiencing it from within, through activities done in nature. Based on our experience, there's no better partner to do this with than La Rafting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GadiM65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepo F, Gerente at La Rafting Company, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Hi Gadi,

Thanks a lot for the amazing review and the recommendations. He glad you had a great time with us. With you we had a good partner too for practicing all this activities. We hope to see you and your family again next time you come to our country.

Best regards from all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Professional, fun and safe. Great experience and adventure.”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We were a family group (of 5 - ages from 20 - 50) visiting this beautiful area for the first time having seen it recommended in tour operator schedules.
We organised the trip independently of a tour operator however and bought flights to Barcelona, Hotels, activities and transport individually.
Communication with 'La Rafting' really helped our whole Sort experience. They were able to recommend and help book a suitable accommodation (Hotel/Apartment Pey), even with a slight discount and also book their own activities. Before we even left the UK, the communication and email exchanges with Pepo (the owner) and reception staff were very helpful and clear. This helped us to be confident in the activities and choice of holiday.
On arrival we went and met the team who would be looking after us and discussed the activities which we had booked with them. We went during the end of the height season/start of low season and they seems exceedingly relaxed and flexible in what we wanted to do. This may be different during high season but they will still welcome you in a warm and friendly manner no matter.
We had a range of experience and confidence in the group but were catered for very well. We chose to complete a half day beginner canyoning, then a full day white water raft day (with lunch included), a days mountain biking (organised by another company but booked through La Rafting) and in the end, we enjoyed the canyoning so much that we decided to do the intermediate level as well.
The evening before each activity we checked what we would need for the next activity (as we stayed in Sort) and generally we only needed swimming clothes, towel and closed toe trainers (for the canyoning). All the other equipment we needed was given to us; 2 piece wet suit, wet socks or wetsuit boots, buoyancy aids, helmets etc (everything you would expect). It was all of excellent quality and obviously well looked after.
The instructors are clearly practised and experienced practitioners. All rope work and safety briefings were excellent; this helped the more nervous of our group to be more confident and face the challenges which were presented. Our instructor, Fernando, was excellent in his approach; relaxed, confident and friendly. He examined to us that his job was firstly to ensure we had a safe experience but also to have fun and he definitely helped that to happen.
During every activity we were able to store our things somewhere and they were secure and well looked after.
During the rafting (which was great), Dimitri followed us on the river side in the minibus stopping occasionally to take our photos. These were then put on a CD for us to buy at the end. I'm quite sceptical about the photos and CD of experiences thing but we couldn't take any pictures and his were of such high quality and we had had such a good time, we all decided we should get it. They are great pictures and they said that if there was any issues we should let them know. Lunch was good and well timed. We went for a whole day which was excellent, most people I think went for only a half day however. This meant that they missed out on the lower (perhaps more beautiful) section of the river. We really liked the mix of scenery. I have been on other day long raft trips which have had a slow boring part to it but this trip seemed to have lots of varying size of rapids and also a good mix of nature to look at as well. Our instructor also made a huge amount of fun and was very good at getting people involved and enhancing the experience.
For our MTB we went further up the valley, got into a minibus and were driven 40 minutes up the mountain to a drop off point. Our leader for the day gave us a few instructions and we set off down the hill and into the valley of the same river (La Noguera Pallaresa) we had been paddling on the day before. It was mainly pretty steady stuff down wide off road tracks and roads and mostly downhill. The bikes were pretty good and well maintained. However, if you are a beginner cyclist and need instruction I would suggest you look elsewhere. There was no instruction nor safety briefing, which we were not expecting nor did we really need it as we were a fairly able group. But if you have young children then the distance of 35km will probably have put you off already! It was a great ride down the valley with plenty to see and a couple of stop offs in a refuge and some villages. Great if you ride already, not so if you want instructions.

Using Sort as a base was good with a few great places to eat and drink, it is not over serviced but can offer a range of eateries should you want it. We ate out 4 out of 5 nights and went back to a place twice. We also had a car as a mode of transport which helped out enormously with transport around the valley. I can imagine it might be a little harder to sort things out and go on activities if you didn't have one but there were buses around and looked liked a fairly regular service (don't quote me on that).

We hugely enjoyed our experiences with 'La Rafting Company' and will be talking of the laughs and adventures we had with them for a long time. I can imagine that whatever the make up of your group, the guys at the company will be able to help you to have a great time in Sort. We would recommend going on any kind of adventure with them. Check out their website and videos to see more.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepo F, Gerente at La Rafting Company, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hi friends,

Thanks a lot for this incredible and detailed review. We are really glad to know that you appreciaite a lot of little details of our job that many people usually don't see. We know you have a great week and we hope to see you again in new adventures with us.

Best regards from all the team members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Even Yehuda, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great way to experience the Pyrenees”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We are a family of six. Children age 15-22. Spent a great day white-water rafting, and guided trekking (Espot) the day after. Pepo, the owner, was VERY helpful, starting from the booking on the internet and all the way through, including helpful advice for the upcoming trip. Professionals. Very warm recommendations on our rafting super-guide Nando !! We also recommend the trekking guide Jordi.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank yl40500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepo F, Gerente at La Rafting Company, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Hi friends,

Thanks a lot for the review and the recommendation. We are pleased to now that you had a god time with us. We hope to see you again next time you visit our country.

Best regards from all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!!!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We came to Sort on August this year to do rafting for the first time, we met the experienced instructors of La Rafting Company and it was a pleasure!
before the raft we were explained everything about the security measures, the boat, and any other questions we had were answered in English as well as Cathalan.
i recommend the experience to anyone looking for a good time in the spanish pyraneese
Great Fun!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tomer p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepo F, Gerente at La Rafting Company, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Hello Tomer,

Thanks a lot for the review and the recommendation. We are happy to know you felt safe with us practicing the activities. We wait you next time to visit our country.

Best regards from all La Rafting Co. team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Rafting Company also viewed

Sort, Province of Lleida
 
Sort, Province of Lleida
Llavorsi, Province of Lleida
 

Been to La Rafting Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing