We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tavertet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
L'Avenc de Tavertet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Our family of four stayed for two nights in one of the new two-bedroom apartments. The accomodation was lovely, clean and well appointed. Everything was beautifully designed and they managed to blend a modern and country aesthetic. The only criticism we had was that the hot water was lukewarm at best as they were having trouble with the solar hot water.
The location of L'Avenc is spectacular and we thoroughly enjoyed two early morning walks that we did - one up to the windmill where there is a specatular view from a rocky ledge and secondly a cliffside circuit to the twin waterfalls and then back along the road. We were there in early June but it was unseasonably cold so we all enjoyed the heated indoor swimming pool, which is long enough for laps if you're feeling energetic.
We also did a lovely excursion to Rupit for lunch. We went on a weekday so it was nice and quiet and the lunch delicious.
Finally a big thank you to the staff who were all so wonderful, especially to Alena(?) who organised a tray of food for us on the first night as all the supermarkets in Vic were closed for siesta when we drove through.
I'm awfully glad I picked up Matthew Parris' book in the library in Brisbane as I would never have found out about this magical place otherwise.
I forgot to mention Toffee the dog - even came on our morning walk with us!
Finally

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinazante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2013

Magic place. Rustic cottages looking out over an abyss of bliss; an endless, floating sea of clouds, nestled in the deep , sweeping valley below.

Belinda is an amazing host that will make you feel at home. Great value for money. It includes home made breakfast. The history behind the house is amazing. Do not miss it!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angeliufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

What an amazing place - blending history with modern architecture in an environmentally sustainable way. We stayed for 3 nights having read Matthew Parris' book - A Castle in Spain ( highly recommended reading before a stay). Sadly 2 out of the 3 days were shrouded in mist while we were there as it is very high but we still appreciated the stunning location and walking along the cliffs was just magical. Belinda Parris was very friendly and helpful, giving us a grand tour of the main house. I really admire the hard work and vision that has gone into the restoration of L'Avenc - giving it a role for the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Four of us took a two bedroomed cottage for a couple of nights on our way from Barcelona to Ceret. Frankly, we could have stayed for a couple of weeks and not exhausted the range of walks and other interests. The main house at L'Avenc is fascinating, both for its history (back to the 13th C) and for the quality and sheer imagination of the restoration and development. The location is superb, with views that unfold every few metres to give a new perspective on this spectacular mountain region. If you enjoy meeting people and visiting villages and towns in this peaceful rural region then you can't beat the Collsacabra, but it is the walks in the mountain pastures that will blow you away. Plantlife, birdlife and other wildlife make this a great place to explore. If you want a restful break I'd be wary of taking very young children, as it is possible to approach some sheer cliff edges without any hindrance.
The cottage we rented was perfectly equipped (washing machine, dishwasher, log fire), the beds were large and comfortable and there was outside space for eating out or just sitting.
On top of all that there is a proper sized indoor, heated swimming pool with a jacuzzi.
As if that were not enough, the welcoming and discreet presence of Belinda and her daughter Tammy was just right for the location, the house and for us.
We were sorry to leave and are keen to go back.

Room Tip: In future you will be able to choose between the old cottages and the new extension. Both will be su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Marvellous situation on the cliffs with many walks in the area and interesting towns and villages. Well equipped and attractive cottages and a great pool. The medieval house is fascinating.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank DeborahRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We live not so far from L'Avenc and have walked along these breathtaking cliffs many times. When our children offered a two day break for my wife's 60th we could think of nowhere better to stay for two nights total relaxation. The quality of the renovation is extremely high and cannot be faulted. The walking and the total peaceful environment is exceptional. We were made very welcome and were lucky to be able to take a guided tour ofbthe main house - thanks Tammy. The heated (30 metre!) pool is stunning and we usually had it to ourselves. This is a facility and a break that would be very hard to beat and I recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: The four cottages are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank mas_carrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

L'Avenc de Tavertet in Spain is idyllic. A family run business in the Colsacabra mountains 1200metres up on an escarpment is a beautifully renovated 11C Bishopric. Alongside here are 4 cottages, differing in size all comfortably and cleverly renovated.and beautifully maintained. Each house has a washing machine, dishwasher, microwave and cooker.The cottages are centrally heated and there is a stove, with plenty of wood supplied ,which can be lit when the weather is cooler. Although this is a self catering holiday, the hospitality couldn't be bettered, anywhere. You can order a breakfast basket, it's large and full of goodies, which is brought to your cottage. The views are amazing and you can lay in bed looking out of your window and see the mountains. The walks are easy 'with breathtaking views. Wild life is everywhere. We counted 48 different varieties of wild flowers when were there in July this year. We also saw ,White Vultures, in Spain from Eygpt , for the summer. Tavertet and Rupit are lovely villages with lots going on and with good walks,shops and restaurants. Driving around is calming . Quiet roads, runing along side, rivers, lakes, churches,and Monastries, and again, the glorious scenery, it's all inspiring. Saved the best till last. There is now a magnificent addition to L'Avenc , an indoor swimming pool . We have been 3 times and intend to return in 2010. It's truly breathtaking experience.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louphe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavertet
4.4 mi away
Parador de Vic-Sau
1.8 mi away
Hostal Estrella
Hostal Estrella
#1 of 2 in Rupit
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Jufre
El Jufre
#1 of 2 in Tavertet
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Avenc de Tavertet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Avenc de Tavertet

Address: Mas l'Avenc, s/n | Near Rupit, 08511 Tavertet, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Tavertet
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Tavertet
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’Avenc is a family home with self-catering cottages, studios and rooms with wonderful views. We are also a conference centre and can cater for family celebrations. Awarded recently first prize in Responsable toursim, we started by restoring the 13th-16th century masia in 1997, where we live, to its former glory, have introduced renewable energy in the form of solar panels and a wind generator, and are currently running the cattle farm and co-managing the area of outstanding natural beauty with the trust: Fundació Catalunya-La Pedrera. We have just finished our new wing (May 2013) and can now offer simple rural comfort and delicious breakfasts. We are open all year round and are commited to keeping the countryside beautiful and visitable, keeping small villages alive, employing local residents and to enhancing and supporting animal welfare. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing