We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best places we ever found by accident” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Avenc de Tavertet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tavertet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
L'Avenc de Tavertet
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best places we ever found by accident”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We arrived in the area later on a Friday night in June a few weeks ago. We were fortunate enough to be able to stay in the last availability that evening. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit, and we would have stayed through the weekend, had there been available space. Unfortunately for us, all rooms/cottages were booked. The people were wonderfully accommodating and the area is spectacular. The views from our deck over the valley below were unparalleled.

The breakfast as a part of the visit was perhaps the best that we had on our two-week stay in Catalonia.

We look forward to visit here again, and making sure that we book in advance to be able to stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbugyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
51
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, Essex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent 2 nights B & B at L'Avenc and wished we had been able to stay for a week. Beautifully renovated and extended property surrounded by glorious walking/cycling country. Located on a single track road between the villages of Tavertet and Rupit means there is little or no passing traffic which means it is incredibly quiet and serene. We used the indoor heated swimming pool and jacuzzi, walked one of the well marked trails,ate at Can Baume in Tavertet (the food was exceptional) and visited the medieval village of Rupit and the town of Vic. Our very spacious room was on the first floor with a lovely balcony overlooking the mountains and into the gorge. The breakfast was mainly sourced from local ingredients and included freshly squeezed orange juice and bacon and eggs ( from their own hens). Peaceful, comfortable seating areas with local information, maps and books available. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble, We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Having read Mattew Parris 'Castle in Spain several years ago I had a hankering to see the place if possible, partly because of the beautifully written book but also because I had spent 14 years building a house and therefore had a kindred spirit.
The situation was spectacular, the accommodation superb and our hostess, Belinda, Matthews sister was delightful and accommodating.
We swam in the massive 25 metre pool and soaked in the hot tub. We walked the red route with spectacular views and drove into Rupit, the time trapped village. We had two massive and delightfully prepared breakfasts and soaked up the sun and views from our balcony all at a tremendously reasonable price.
Read the book and make the trip, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la Bisbal d'Emporda, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We took the whole of L'Avenc for 30 of us for 4 nights. We self-catered for dinner 3 nights and had a local cook recommended by them for one evening. The whole thing was a huge success. It is a magical place and the management team are charming and could not have been more helpful. We walked down to Rupit for lunch on the first day, had a guided cultural tour of Vic the second. (all the more special as our guide took us to several places that we could never have accessed had we not had her help). Then we walked to La Cabrera with a nature guide on the third day.

The new rooms are of top quality with great beds and bathrooms - and the most stunning views. I could not recommend more highly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slatymer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

L'Avenc is in a beautiful position. We cycled up from Girona, great end to a ride having a drink looking out across the amazing view. Rooms are smart and with good views. Also a swimming pool, jacuzzi and they serve a good breakfast. They were also very friendly and helpful. Probably the highlight of our trip, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaurieFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bury st edmunds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I was recommended this by a colleague and I would have no hesitation to do the same! My family and I stayed in an apartment and we were incredibly impressed by the size and quality of the finish throughout, not to mention the stunning views over the hills and valley below! We particularly enjoyed watching the sunrise and sunset each day from the balcony and it was even possible to do this whilst lying in bed in the upstairs room! The pool, jacuzzi and common area were also wonderful places to relax and unwind after a walk around the local area on one of the surrounding trails or after a day exploring the local sites. In addition, the staff could not have been more helpful and we received a wonderful welcome on our arrival, along with lots of information and maps to help us make the most of our stay. In all, L'avenc offers incredible value for money and a truly relaxing and memorable stay! Wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzy_C_2351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

L'Avenc is a special place. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to enjoy spectacular natural scenery, tranquility and a place to unwind. The old house stands majestically restored and, alongside it, are warm and well designed rooms with magnificent views. And alongside that is a 25 meter swimming pool and jacuzzi which you can enjoy before or after a long walk. There is also excellent local produce served at nearby restaurants in Rupit and Tavertet. We ate at Fave de Comptades and Con Baumes, both of which were superb in their distinctive way. I would also encourage you to get to know the family dogs, Toffee and Kira, who may lead you to some interesting destinations.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavertet
4.5 mi away
Parador de Vic-Sau
8.4 mi away
Hotel Vall de Bas
Hotel Vall de Bas
#2 of 2 in Joanetes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
7.4 mi away
Finca El Ventos
Finca El Ventos
#1 of 1 in Sant Feliu de Pallerols
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hotel can Garay
Hotel can Garay
#1 of 1 in Les Planes d'Hostoles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hotel Mas Pere Pau
Hotel Mas Pere Pau
#1 of 7 in Besalu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
11.1 mi away
Xalet la Coromina
Xalet la Coromina
#1 of 2 in Viladrau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Avenc de Tavertet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Avenc de Tavertet

Property: L'Avenc de Tavertet
Address: Mas l'Avenc, s/n | Near Rupit, 08511 Tavertet, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Tavertet
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Tavertet
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’Avenc is a family home with self-catering cottages, studios and rooms with wonderful views. We are also a conference centre and can cater for family celebrations. Awarded recently first prize in Responsable toursim, we started by restoring the 13th-16th century masia in 1997, where we live, to its former glory, have introduced renewable energy in the form of solar panels and a wind generator, and are currently running the cattle farm and co-managing the area of outstanding natural beauty with the trust: Fundació Catalunya-La Pedrera. We have just finished our new wing (May 2013) and can now offer simple rural comfort and delicious breakfasts. We are open all year round and are commited to keeping the countryside beautiful and visitable, keeping small villages alive, employing local residents and to enhancing and supporting animal welfare. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing