We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Top Top for NZ Standards” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tasting Shed

The Tasting Shed
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Kumeu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: New Zealand, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Tasting Shed has one simple philosophy – a place where wine craves food. Expect to experience a unique environment where everything we are about is celebrating great food and wine pairings in a gorgeous wine country, less than half an hour outside of central Auckland.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
227 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Top Top Top for NZ Standards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The ambiente, the service, the spanish wine, and especially the food are exceptionel for NZ standards. Well done, NZ does need more of those restaurant entrepreneurs. It is not the usual restaurant and not the 'Old School' stuff, its more interesting and experimental. Remarkable the great tasty food, also remarkable the waiting staff, much more professional than at other NZ restaurants and not overtrained. Attention to details are not only to the main dishes but also to the bread and the warm selection of olives. Our favourite is still the Pork Belly. The selection of wine is extensive. The management is approachable and does some waiting as well. A nice place where you really feel welcome with outstanding cuisine.
We can fully recommend 'The Tasting Shed'. You will like it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    40
    13
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Country location city food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

From the service - offered a taste of the wine before purchasing a mere glass - to the pork belly flavours...and the dessert. Beautifully constructed, innovative dishes. Stingray (asian flavours)....and the ricotta doughnuts (autumn fruits)...a wonderful Friday lunch heading into a weekend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Top Shelf Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Went here for NZ long weekend lunch with a friend and it was devine. Arrived early and sat outside in the sun for a pre lunch drink and some roasted nuts. until tGreat shared table space. Brilliant wine by the glass menu that is very global.

When table was ready we sat down and found lunch to be supreme. We had beef cheeks, pork belly and kumera tapas with a very tasty lemon merengue cone. All of this filled us both up and we managed a few vino's (4) too. $153 all up.

Service was slow at times and they did forget one glass of my friends wine however the food was soo good it actually added to the relaxed atmosphere. We actually stopped talking for about 20min when the food arrived and just savoured it!

Definitely returning, spreading the word and bringing friends!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_Tripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best of the West!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a lovely place to sit, drink wine and eat great food! Lovely atmosphere, and food of such a high standard and quality. The desserts were amazing, I recommend the lemon meringue cone! I had been here for a hens do as well, and whether it was 2 people or 20 people, the food come out quickly, with great wine recommendations, and the setting is lovely. Worth the drive, and probably pays to ring and book.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EviePC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A bit over rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We dined at The Tasting Shed recently. This was our second visit to the restaurant. We returned because the first time we visited it was fantastic. The Auckland market is flooded with restaurants and to stand apart and deliver a consistent product is integral in a business’s survival. Consistency and service was the issue with our visit this time. Our waitress smiled for the first time as we literally pulled cash out of our wallets to pay the bill. The service was unbelievably slow and un- friendly. Our waitress walked away whilst we were giving her drink orders, left empty glasses on our table so that we had a collection by the time she got back. The vibe of the restaurant was chaotic and disorganised. When you drive along way to visit a restaurant and spend a decent amount of money in that establishment you expect to receive the same service you would in a high end central city restaurant. The food was OK, we enjoyed the pork belly but thought the fish of the day was a day or two too old. It was definitely not good enough to make any of us want to return. Perhaps Cuisine has gone to their head!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank F00dieJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tasting Shed also viewed

Kumeu, Auckland Region
Kumeu, Auckland Region
 
Kumeu, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Kumeu, Auckland Region
Auckland Region, North Island
 

Been to The Tasting Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing