We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Muriwai Motor Camp”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Muriwai Motor Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kumeu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Muriwai Motor Camp
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Muriwai Motor Camp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Beautiful location and great facilities for basic camping, set in amongst the trees. Short stroll through the many walkways to the beach, close to shops etc. The hosts aren't so friendly and not very welcoming, but if you avoid them you will have a fantastic time :-).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Varnah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

Had a fab time at this motor camp. Muriwai is one of the most beautiful spots in Auckland and has so much to offer. This place has all the facilities you need. Would recommend to anyone for a great value weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

This place is a beautiful spot located right on Muriwai Beach on Aucklands West Coast. We could literally walk out of our tent, 10 meters to the beach. The camp has all the facilities we needed and came at a very affordable price! We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Punkpolka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

i e-mailled this campsite & was promised $20 per night if over 7 nights (normally 28), i said i would be in N.Z. for 18 nights & probably 16 nights in their camp site as i have family up the road. when i got there the most miserable chap was on the front desk, he quibbled immediately over this but reluctantly agreed after much hassle (no N.Z. welcome of any kind). after 3 nights i missed a night & i said i would be here the rest of the time, he refused the 20$ saying as from now i had to pay 28$ & if i didn't like it go somewhere else. i was very upset & it started spoiling my holiday - another lady i spoke to in the shower block also had a run in with him & also was disgusted with the service. she recommended Parakai spring 19 Kilometres up the road. i went & got the warmest welcome 14$ a night great showers (didn't have to pay at this one too) fully equipped kitchen & laundry. be warned apparently he has a reputation of being horrible - take advise stay in Parakai Springs & travel to Muriwai beach if you wish to go. i certainly hope that the owners read this & take note that this is not the way to treat travellers from abroad/NZ after making promises on an e-mail & then treated so appallingly when you arrive.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DevonJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kumeu
7.4 mi away
Vineyard Cottages
Vineyard Cottages
#1 of 1 in Waimauku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
11.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
#1 of 1 in Waitakere City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
9.6 mi away
Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Bethells Beach Cottages
Bethells Beach Cottages
#1 of 2 in Te Henga (Bethells Beach)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
9.2 mi away
Piha Beachstay Accommodation
4.1 mi away
Bush Sand and Sea
Bush Sand and Sea
#1 of 1 in Te Henga (Bethells Beach)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muriwai Motor Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muriwai Motor Camp

Property: Muriwai Motor Camp
Address: Motutara Rd, Kumeu 1250, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Kumeu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Kumeu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing