We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxury overnight stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Life Gallery athens Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ekali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I had a pleasant stay in Life Gallery Athens Hotel. Hotel’s location is ideal if one wants to relax, have fresh air and be away from Athens centre. Hotel has one of the best restaurants in town.

Pros: Luxury environment, Breakfast, Location, Local market
Cons: Away from Athens centre

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Life Gallery athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for making Life Gallery Athens the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope had a smooth trip home.

We are pleased to read, that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the unique atmosphere of the hotel and the breakfast. Indeed we have the advantage to be away from the center, so the air is fresh and the climate far better than in the town center. Anyhow, we have a lot of international companies nearby.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With best regards,
Yours sincerely
Life Gallery Athens Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Life Gallery athens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

Overall my rating for this hotel would be average as there are many positives but also many negatives that balance out.

Let's start with the positives:
- The food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) is great. The menu us not huge, but the quality of both the ingredients and the preparation is excellent
- The design of the hotel is very modern and of good taste. This includes both the rooms and the hotel in general
- The spa menu is extensive and the facilities are what you would expect from a 5-star hotel.
- The bed was one of the best beds we have slept on.
- The staff are very helpful and friendly and try their best to accommodate your needs.

And now for the negatives:
- The location is food, but it is too far from Athens center or from the closest metro station, which makes it inconvenient for both business travellers and tourists.
- This is obviously a hotel that has functions (weddings, baptisms, company events etc,) as its main source of income. We stayed for one night and there were 2 baptisms and a wedding, I discovered that, apart from the bride and groom, we were the only room guests in the entire hotel... This means that the management don't really care too much about room guests, which creates a number of issues for "individual" guests:
- We were denied access to the main pool because the entire area was booked for a christening reception.
- We only managed to sleep after 3am because of the noise from the wedding party in the area directly below our room. Our complaints to the front desk went unnoticed (we were the only room guests in the hotel, you see), but at least they had the decency to give us a €30 discount when we checked out
- Breakfast is only a la carte and there is no buffet. Unfortunately there is no menu to choose from. You have to think about what you want and they prepare it for you. As a result it takes about 40mins to prepare and serve breakfast.
- The spa shows evidence of relative neglect: steam room out of order, the staff did not know how to operate the sauna, a number of showers did not work, the jacuzzi/pool water was not clean (there was stuff like oil floating on the surface) and they did not seem to care about limescale build up all over the place...
- Pool deck furniture is not cleaned very often (there were spiderwebs in many places)
- The bed was squeaky
- The shower had limescale built up which distorted the flow of water, the cordless phone was not working (thankfully there is a normal phone in the toilet wall)
- There is no stationery
- There is no room/hotel directory
- There is no room service menu in the room. You have to call the restaurant to request one.

All these are small details, but this is a 5-star hotel which makes them necessary.

I would strongly recommend this hotel for functions or large business meetings that require a stay-over, but not for tourists or individual business travellers.

Room Tip: For some strange reason the better rooms are in the front of the hotel, which is adjacent to a very...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank yiorgok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Life Gallery athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you for staying one night in Life Gallery and for sharing your opinion with other travellers. We hope you had a save trip home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback concerning the service, the food, the design oft he hotel, the comfortable beds and our spa.

Also your critical points found our full attention. Please accept our sincere apologize that we were not able to fulfill your personal expectations in all points.

Please allow us to explain some points. The hotel is located in Athens/ Ekali, which indeed is a bit away from the city centre in a quiet location. A lot of big Greek and International companies are situated nearby, so the hotel’s location is good for business and leisure at the same time. Of course for travellers who want to stay right in the center of Athen’s the location is not the best, but as you told us during your stay, you have chosen Life Gallery especially because it’s away from the center.

During your stay, in total we had 7 rooms occupied, so you were not the only in-house guests. We really regret that you felt disturbed by a wedding celebration which took place during your stay, as we always do our best to allow a peaceful stay for all our guests without any disturbances. Unfortunately you informed us on the next morning about your worries and not right on the spot, so in this case we did not have the chance to react anymore.

Our glass swimming pool is exclusively for hotel’s guests use. We are very astonished to read, that you felt the access denied and think there might have been some misunderstanding and wonder, how you could discover spider webs and weaknesses in the pool area. Please be sure that we will check this issue.

Concerning the breakfast menue and the room service, we would like to inform that currently we are changing our menues for the summer season and we do not want that a guest finds something on the menue, what we don't have anymore. This is why during your stay there were no menues. We are very sorry for the inconveniences caused.

The hotel – room directory in each room is located above the mini bar together with the emergency map and evacuation procedures. We have checked this in your room as well and think that maybe you did not see it.

Our spa is rented to an external company and in your case the employee of this company was new and unfortunately not informed yet about all the facilities and procedures. Thank you for informing us about your experiences. Please be sure that this point is already solved and fixed.

Kinldly note, that limescale in bathrooms, shower, etc. is very common in Athens/ Ekali region and even with intense daily cleaning not always to avoid, as the tap water contains a lot of limescale.

In order to apologize for not having satisfied you completely and as a courtesy, during your check out we charged only the rate for a lower room category.

Dear guests, the satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim. Please accept again our sincere apologize and be sure, that we will use your critic for further improvements. We would be glad, if we might welcome you again, when you one day come back to Athens.

With best regards,
Yours sincerly,
Life Gallery Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

the review is of the new kool life restaurant that is inside the hotel.
we choose the athinorama menu which is half the prices of the catalogue(40 euros per person). without is double the price.
the ambience outside by the pool is very nice. also, the service was fantastic

the menu

• Vegetable soup with smoked cheese pelletizing Metsovone
• Vitello tonnato - the carpaccio was excellent, but the sauce was more more mayonnaise than tuna!
• Shoulder beef with couscous flavored with beetroot - also excellent but the bacon ice cream was a very bad idea!
• Rooster with onion confit and baby sprouts - fantastic
• Millefeuille with caramelized puff pastry and apple - very good

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Life Gallery athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Paul,

Thank you very much for coming to Life Gallery and for sharing your opinion about Kool Life Restaurant with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasant trip home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and are also thankful for your suggestions, as they help us to improve.

For us, it would be a pleasure to welcome you again and we hope to see you back soon!

With best regards,
Yours sincerly
Life Gallery Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Rooms are excellent for 2013. Service brilliant and friendly / professional. As a regular to Athens this is my favourite. I even left light's on my car and was politely reminded during an excellent dinner. All staff communicate to make your stay as smooth and comfortable as is possible. Credit to the management.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul1979TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Life Gallery athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Paul,

Thank you very much for coming to Life Gallery and for sharing you experiences with other travelers! We hope you had a save trip home.

It is very nice to read that you enjoyed your stay in our small hotel and that you found especially the rooms perfect after the renovation we did last year and that you appreciate the service.

For us it would be a big pleasure to welcome you again!

With best regards,
Yours sincerly
Life Gallery Athens Hotelmanagement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Did not have the chance to stay overnight at this beautiful hotel however, we enjoyed their spa package for couples and it was divine. Strongly recommended for couples and business travelers, this hotel, though on the outskirts of Athens (45 minutes to downtown Athens) is a very hype hotel with minimalistic design and wonderful interior design. Would not recommend it for families or elder visitors as it is way too modern and access is rather difficult. Their landscape design is also fantastic and the spa packages are exclusive though a bit pricey.

Room Tip: All rooms have view to the hotel gardens. I would ask for first floor rooms to avoid the noise of th...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank efal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

After our flight from Mykonos with Aegean Airlines we had one night in our holiday left and we decided to make this time all about design in the capital of Greece. After experiencing the Royal Myconian Hotel in Mykonos ( read our review at Tripadvisor - see our profile ) which was more classic and resort in style, we now headed into urban design territory with a stay at the Life Gallery Hotel, located in the northern Athens suburb of Ekali. Ekali in itself is an upscale community build-up with luxury shops, green areas and many expensive villas and townhouses. From the Athens International Airport we had taken a taxi - during rush-hour - and the taxi driver did not know where the hotel was located, but this was rather fast solved as he had asked a more knowledgeable driver colleague and we were on our way. After 45 min. of driving through Athens, mostly high-ways we arrived at the hotel on the opposite side and suddenly we were outside the taxi with the traffic on the road. After successfully crossing the road we headed toward check-in at this white-washed concrete and blue glass temple of design. The hotel is a member of Design Hotels and the Leading Small Hotels of the World, among others. The check-in was on a historic table which was the reception, this was rather fast done by the friendly lady in an informal way with a smile. Now we headed to our room no. 206 on the second floor of the glass tower building ( 3 floors in all ). At first the electrical lock was difficult to work out, because you must simply hold the key-card on the lock and the door should open like magic. But this happens only, we had learned, after the woman from the reception had helped us out here with a smile again. Now in our room, which was large and open spaced all the way and had all the gadgets of a super modern hotel in tow. The overall design was airy and totally different what we would normally get in other hotels incl. double sinks behind the bed, industrial furniture incl. the wardrobe space which had 4 hangers on offer and a fully stocked Mini-Bar with many goodies at an surprisingly good price for such a high standard incl. the Johnny Walker Collection was on offer with the black label and the green label. The large bed was sunken to the ground like an asian bath with lightning all around it plus a cordless phone by Bang and Olufsen ( which you must know how to work it out ). The bed was large and had a super comfortable mattress plus superb bedding on offer incl. white linen and several pillows. This bed was not too hard or too soft either, which suited us perfectly. The large LCD TV was build into the wall and could retracted toward the bed for a better view and offered all the international channels travellers expect today incl. CNN and others. Internet was free everywhere in the hotel incl. in the room through a free ethernet cable from the lobby, which was automatically offered to us, while in all other areas of the hotel WI-FI is on offer free in all public spaces incl. the free library. Our room had a ultra-modern shower behind the bed, which was almost Spa-like in design and function, but needed somewhat of working out to really enjoy the shower experience on offer. After a bit this was accomplished by both of us and we were very happy with the shower there. All water outlets had superb water pressure as well. We had a double sink - his/hers - with amenities stored in-between the sinks that incl. shampoo, shower gel, body lotion and soaps. All are branded with the Mamidakis Hotel Group sign - to which the Life Gallery belongs. The balcony was totally private and not overlooked by anyone and also very large in size plus the balcony came fully designer furnished. As almost everything here there was a surprise in-store again, because the enclosed glass panels could be full automatic retracted to let the sunshine and the fresh air in during the day - and be tracked in the evening back by a push on the button to be secured against insects who may or may not could come to visit. As always as we had seen earlier the design was and is a huge aspect of the hotel experience here incl. build-in tv, build-in writing desk, industrial furniture, polished floors, different lightning incl. mood lightning, designer balcony furniture, all electrical curtains in the room plus the artwork which was chosen to provide maximum impact on the guests incl. us, of course. All in All our room was simply sublime and a dream come true in terms of real urban design with authenticity and understanding to even the smallest details incl. 24h room service, laundry services, free internet, powerful hairdryer, soft towels, free welcome gifts, soft linen, international tv, newspapers and magazines on the room plus the superb large spaced balcony with absolute privacy and safe. These little details give the Life Gallery the absolute edge against larger hotels, only smaller hotels can offer. The Life Gallery has only 29 rooms - all large spaced and perfectly appointed, like our room was. With the amenities the hotel as a whole offers, you could be forgiven to think we had been to a much larger Grand Hotel in Athens, The Hotel offers incl. a superb full-service Spa, 2 Outdoor swimming pools, 1 indoor swimming pool, fully stocked library with books primarly filled about greek history and context to design, fully stocked bar, which offered every drink or cocktail imaginable, fine dinning restaurant, 24 h room service, large garden areas and event planners who can stage everything from small to very large, right here in stylish Athens. The food we had enjoyed was throughout superb and sublime incl. the bar ( two orange juices, one pot of hot chocolate, one fine club sandwich and one greek omlette - all was judged outstanding and yummy and moreish by all two of us! The price 42 Euros/37UK£/55US$ incl. Tax, tip and Service. Good value considering the very stylish 5 star plus surroundings of the stunning bar in a stunning hotel plus we had free WI-FI internet access throughout here. In the evening we enjoyed room-service incl. one large bottle of Afra Still water from Greece, one chicken - pepper tortilla with yoghurt dip, one portion of Valrhona chocolate mousse and banana pannacotta, all judged once again, in one word, perfect! Delicious would be another expression we would use to describe the superb food offerings here, Folks! The bill came in at 48 Euro/43UK£/60 US$ incl. service, tip and VAT. After a successful night in our bed, we were awoken by the Athens fresh air and the wake-up call, of course! We proceeded after our beauty essentials to the superb breakfast in the very stylish, but substantial designed restaurant via the lobby staircase to reach it. Once there, we had been greeted by the most stylish breakfast spread ever on offer during our many travels so far. ( Many hotels could learn something here! ). The breakfast offered incl. greek yoghurt, fresh fruit, stylish eggs in many variations, a warm fresh bread selection, fresh orange juice, coffee, cheese selection, smoked salmon, cold cuts, cereals and our favourite cherries in heavy syrup, yummy! The service was informal, but always there within one second and sometimes the service was even faster, Folks! After our breakfast it was already ( sadly ) time to move on to the airport. All the service and employees of this stunning hotel are priceless and there were friendly, understated and approachable plus efficient and highly motivated as well!
Overall our Life Gallery Experience was extremely successful and we can only highly recommend this hotel as an alternative to more traditional establishments in the Capital of Greece, Athens! Our Taxi was already waiting even before the agreed time after check-out and we were underway in seconds to the International Airport - on a Sunday morning, without the rush hour this time - and within 20 minutes we were at Terminal 1, ready to check-in for our flight with EasyJet to London-Gatwick International ( LGW ). The taxis by the way came in at around 35 Euros each way! So think of it, to plan in! The journey to or from the hotel is a wise investment! After a 3.5h flight we were in Gatwick and connected successfully at the Zone B in the South Terminal to our flight to Dublin - our home capital, Folks! - with Aer Lingus. We have thought about the Life Gallery ever since us staying there, only in the highest esteem and expectation that we do want to come back yesterday, rather than today! See you soon, Our Design Dream in Athens! So do not forget to FLY!STAY!EXPLORE!MORE! and let the design take you to many extraordinary moments around the world in which you and us simply can be!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Flyers007Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2007

Ultimate design, lovely people, delicious food, and sweet dreams......

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Christianf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ekali
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Theoxenia Palace Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kifissia
367 reviews
Y Hotel
#1 of 11 in Kifissia
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coco-Mat Hotel Nafsika
#2 of 11 in Kifissia
585 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Hilton Athens
#17 of 282 in Athens
3,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life Gallery athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life Gallery athens Hotel

Address: 103 Thisseos Avenue, Ekali, Kifissia 145 78, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Kifissia > Ekali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ekali
Price Range: £109 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Life Gallery athens Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life Gallery athens member of bluegr Hotels & Resorts was founded in 2004. Modern architecture finds its expression in a building with glass surfaces, Zen gardens, and ethnic elements. 1 Suite, 3 art studios and 24 deluxe open space rooms provide the ultimate experience to the modern business traveller. It is an ideal venue for meetings and incentives offering conference and board rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Life Gallery athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Life Gallery Athens
Life Gallery Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing