We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dambatenne Tea Factory” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dambatenne Tea Factory

Dambatenne Tea Factory
Book In Advance
More Info
US$28.75*
and up
Private Day Trip to Haputale from Nuwara Eliya
Ranked #3 of 7 things to do in Haputale
Attraction details
Colombo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dambatenne Tea Factory”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

This factory was built by Sir Thomas J Lipton and he started his tea business from here and finally built an empire.
We have now tried to modernize this factory to a 2014 model but it is not at all easy.
Having read some reviews we find that people are stating about charging Rs. 250/= per soul and saying it is two expensive. This is less than 2 dollars. Sad when we go to foreign countries what exorbitant prices they charge and at times it is over 50 dollars just to see something.
This is essentially a tea manufacturing estate and we permit our guest that come to this area to have a look at the factory and if required to purchase some teas. It may be highly priced but definitely cheaper than what you purchase in the shelves of supper markets. We have people who comes regularly and buy large quantities of them obviously due to the quality of the product.
We pack top quality Uva Tea and they are fresh. There is a saying that " Cheap this no good and good things no cheap" we follow that principal.
If anyone cannot afford it then it is up to you we will not force you to do so but I am sure if you do buy you will always come back and buy more since we have so many who purchase up to 50 to 60 packs at a time.
Note- Photography is not permitted due to government regulations.
However thanks for the constructive critisism and whatever possible has been rectified.
This reply is from the Manager of this Plantation.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank RalphColombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    66
    61
    19
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Frustrating visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We went by tuk-tuk from Haputale (30 min).

:) To discover the process of tea manufacturing.

:( The visit is too short (20 min) and suffers from a lack a explanation (hopefully we read our lonely planet book just before...).
:( No tea tasting.
:( The tea for sale is highly expensive.
:( No photography are allowed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Romain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A quick view into the world of tea produce!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

A quick tour for an equivalent of 2 euros gives you within half an hour a good idea of the tea production process and different tea qualities. This also shows you how hard it is to trace 'fair' produce: their tea ends up in all sorts of branded teas, known and unknown labels.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colomboyeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First Lipton Tea Factory”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Nothing much to say about the simple tea factory.. On the way from Lipton Seat so drop by and see the tea proccess.. If you have visited other factory then you can forget this but if not, it is still a very good place to gain knowledge

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Optimus101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thailand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Deeply saddened and embarrassed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I have not been to this Factory but had been planning to do so in a week or so. I went to the estate and no further. I am a Grand Son of one of the earliest Managers of this estate, and others in the Lipton's Group. My Grand father was George Thain-Davidson who was the Manager and Visiting Agent of Lipton's Tea Estates from 1907 until his retirement in1922 and he resided at the Bambatenne Estate. Sadly he died suddenly at the Anuradhapura Grand Hotel in 1927 and was laid to rest at the Tissawave General Cemetery. In researching his life and times I had planned to visit this factory but I am deeply embarrassed and saddened to read the dreadful reviews of this one time great Lipton institution. Maybe someone will take note, and act to bring this great historic institution into prominence and be in the forefront of tourism in the tea industry.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank norman m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dambatenne Tea Factory also viewed

 

Been to Dambatenne Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing