We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Real PARADISE"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haputale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kelburne Mountain View Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Kouvola, Finland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Real PARADISE"”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Fantastic view, fresh air, greeny with beautiful landscape and lovely staffs. And we are enjoy with tasty food. Chef is best choice in this cottage. The stuard CHANDRAKUMAR is done good service. I was visited so many beautiful places but only one place never forget this place in my life.

Room Tip: "Wild flower cottage have beautiful view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Umashangar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    23
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
51
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west sussex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed in rose cottage for one night as a family of four, two adults and two children. We found this a bit of a mixed bag, but we did arrive late when it was dark and therefore did not appreciate the stunning position until the morning. The bungalow itself was three bedrooms and was very 'original'. Our children felt that was a bit like staying at nanny's house. For those of you who like the old colonial feel then you will love it, if like us your need something a bit more modern then you need to be aware of what to expect. It is an old cottage with everything that comes with it, damp on the ceilings, old furniture and very little in the way of mod cons.
The service itself was superb and our meal on arrival was excellent, they even went out of the way to find something for my fussy 10 year old daughter to eat.
In the morning and the light we really did enjoy the fantastic position and views that these bungalows offered. The gardens are stunning and to be in the middle of a tea plantation was very special. The breakfast on the terrace was very good and the attention to detail was very carefully done.
I think that if you know what to expect then you will absolutely love this place but if you want something a bit more modern and with a few more facilities then perhaps look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kpm350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We arrived at Kelburne from Yala and had a warm welcome - like house guests coming to stay for a few days. We were shown to Wildflower Cottage - our home for two days. It was really beautiful - authentic and almost a step into the past but with great facilities - lovely rooms and bathrooms and very clean. Best of all was our lovely butler Ravi who looked after us from morning tea time to coffee after dinner. Vijay cooked delicious meals - we left the choice mainly to him and opted for Sri Lankan cuisine but he would have cooked anything. It's a fantastic spot from which to visit tea plantations and the tea factory nearby. We were unlucky with the weather - mist is a problem quite often but it did clear and we saw the tea picking operation in full flow and the local school children. Lots of opportunities to walk through the plantations. We were travelling with 12 and 14 year old girls - they loved it and it was their favorurite place to stay on our 10 Sri Lankan trip. Thoroughly recommend Kelburne

Room Tip: Wildflower was lovely - open fire and lovely terrace. three bedrooms and three bathrooms Use of com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kew805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We arrived at Haputale on the train from Kandy. Its a short transfer 10 minutes maybe. A steep drive down a bumpy private drive brings you to the bungalows. Chef and your house boy will great you. We thought our bungalow was shared as it was so big, but was just for us, but its not this that will amaze you its the jaw dropping view. Stunning is over used but it is. The bungalow was lovely very clean sort of faded colonial charm. Our house boy, a term I dislike, was Chandrakumar a lovely guy who made sure our visit was perfect. Do get a guide and walk some of tea estates and meet the locals. Do take time out to use the table and chairs by the kitchen and share a drink with your driver and talk to the staff rather than shutting yourself away. Everyone we have met likes to be able to share some time and conversation. The food is great, if you want wine or spirit take your own but they sell beer! We loved it all and would return tomorrow.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DarrenPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

On recent holiday to Sri Lanka we stayed at five superb 'boutique style' hotels. It is difficult to pick out one place where we stayed as being the best as they were all so different. However, if there were only one place we could return to, this would be it. Aerie Cottage comes with two twin bedrooms, bathrooms, lounge, dining room and study furnished in a mixture of colonial and home counties styles. It is set in gardens surrounded by tea on a steep hillside a few kilometres outside Haputale. To our surprise, we had a 'house boy', Mr Kumar, who was more like a butler. With minimal fuss he efficiently organised drinks and meals which he served in our own dining room or on our terrace. Mr Kumar was simply superb. He appeared in the morning at 6am with tea as we stood on the terrace 4500 ft above sea level and stared speechlessly as the sun rose over the tea plantations and misty morning clouds below us. Totally wonderful.
If possible we would suggest travelling there by train from Kandy/Peradeniya Junction to see the spectacular scenery change from tropical to tea to pine trees at 6000ft above sea level.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed in Aerie Cottage and it was very enjoyable. The view is spectacular and the staff provide an excellent service, making the whole stay a unique and memorable experience. But be aware that it is not a 'hotel', there is no bar nor really a restaurant, you eat meals in your own cottage with personal service. If you are totally happy with your own company, that is perfect but it might not be for everyone. We were served by Ravi who provided everything with a friendly smile, inlcuding making up the fire in the evening - very cosy! My only criticism is that I would have liked a kettle so I could make my own tea when I wished, as there is no service late at night or very early morning when I like to have my cuppa! We were told there were no kettles but when we went to the manager's office to settle our bill there were kettles on the shelf - not sure why we were told there weren't any.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarra Valley, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

On a recent business trip to inspect a nearby tea estate, I booked into the Wildflower Cottage. As I was alone it seemed a bit excessive having a three bedroom cottage to myself but my hosts were more than hospitable and made the one night stay intimate and very accommodating. And as for the views...well I don't think I will ever be able to describe the awe it inspired. The cottages are set in a tea estate up a tiny road on the side of a very large mountain range several k's from Haputale [are there any other kinds of road in Sri Lanka?]. The stay comes complete with a houseboy and personal chef. Special mention must go out to Chandra Kumar, an incredible young man who caters to any whims or question you may have and serves Vijay [the chefs] excellent food with aplomb, gusto and old world service!
Do yourself a favour and out this on your 'bucket list'

Room Tip: Eat out on the terrace [depending on weather] for every meal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NudeFoodDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haputale
3.3 mi away
Melheim Resort
Melheim Resort
#1 of 1 in Beragala
500 reviews
8.2 mi away
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
#1 of 5 in Bandarawela
37 reviews
10.0 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,495 reviews
1.7 mi away
Leisure Mount View Holiday Inn
2.3 mi away
Viharagala Estate Bungalow
Viharagala Estate Bungalow
#20 of 36 in Haputale
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelburne Mountain View Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelburne Mountain View Cottages

Property: Kelburne Mountain View Cottages
Address: Kelburne Estate, Haputale 90160, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Haputale
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Haputale
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One mile from Haputale town, in the Uva Province, are the Kelburne Mountain View Cottages, nestled in the midst of a tea estate. Perched at the edge of a cliff, 5,000 feet above sea-level, the cottages overlook five provinces: the Eastern, the Southern, the Western, Sabaragamuwa, and the Uva. Kelburne Mountain View features three cottages: Aerie, Wildflower, and Rose. Sitting on the terrace of our colonial-style cottages, you will marvel at the vista that spreads before you. The rolling hills and valleys below will make you feel as if you are soaring through the sky like a Kite gliding on the wind currents. Come to where time stands still. Stay at Kelburne Mountain View. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kelburne Mountain View Cottages Hotel Haputale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing