We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solace on a cold morning! ”
Review of Sandside Cafe

Sandside Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Sandsend
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 4 December 2018 via mobile

We visited Sandside Cafe on a cold November morning with our two dogs.

The cafe has an internal seating area where dogs are not allowed. It does however have an outside covered area and an outside open area where dogs are allowed in both sections.

The cafe was very busy and the only available seating was outside. This area does have glass surrounds so the wind is reduced.

There is no table service and to place an order you have to go inside. Card payments are excepted.

As vegetarians we found the menu quite limited. We asked if there was an alternative to the meat on the cooked breakfast to be told that this could be replaced by beans or tomatoes.

We would have preferred a vegetarian sausage etc as otherwise a plate of beans and tomatoes doesn’t quite cut it.

We found a toastie to eat which was good. We also had a slice of cake to top off our stop.

Spectacular view out to sea!

All in all I would recommend this cafe however future thought as to how you could cater for vegetarians would be appreciated.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Amyc6293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 717 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2018

The sun was out. 75c in the shade and this was November. Well it was sunny and November. Time to head for the sanctuary of the Sandside Cafe. A busy little place. A cheese toastie it was, gloopy orange cheese done to perfection. A side salad that a 5 star hotel would have been proud of complete with lemon and orange wedges plus blue berries. Whoever thought of this wonderful side take a big bow.

Horlicks for me... I last had in 1972 and pleased to say it still tastes the same.... and then the Northern lights appeared around the headland. Well it was light show and we were in the north. Possibly a rainbow now that I think about it, but a fine end to a fine cheese toastie. Nice work guys.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank MStJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2018

Just had the Sandside Festive Selection Box - superb. A Christmas twist on the traditional lunch/afternoon tea....a tray (and it comes on a decorated wooden tray) of open sandwiches - salmon and cream cheese, bacon and sausage, melted camembert - a ramekin of lemon posset with meringue, another of delicious trifle and finally a slab of homemade Christmas cake with a thick wedge of cheese. All for less than a tenner. Worked through it all as the sea foamed across the beach. Took ours with tea and coffee, but the place is licensed.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank neil f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018

After walking from Whitby we were recommended to call here for refreshments by our hosts, we had had a hearty breakfast but just couldn't resist their homemade cakes with our Lattes, Deeeeelicious

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Amazing views.
Lovely homely food.
The only place a know servingbthe delicious sandside smokey.
LOVE it ❤️

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amgardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandside Cafe also viewed

 
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Sandside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing