We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Sandsend B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fab weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

As b&b's go they don't come much better than this one if you are looking for a fantastic sea view, a nice comfy bed and great hot power shower. The breakfast cooked by Graham himself was to die for, everything you could want all on one plate! This place is full of charm, has great hosts and a fine bar, just what you need after a days walking. Hope to return soon. Graham you are a star!

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bevjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    19
    1
    1
    8
See reviews for
10
24
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed here 7th September. This hotel wasn't our first option but we decided to give it a try, on entering it seemed a little dark but from then on we were very impressed, we were made to feel extremely welcome, we booked 3 rooms 2 of them family rooms, all the rooms had a sea view which is fantastic and a fabulous shower, the breakfast was superb, probably the biggest breakfast anywhere, my daughter and niece were made to feel at home and my 8 year old niece told Graham on the way out "we will be back" and we certainly will be.
A fantastic stay was had by all of us ranging from 8-70 year old!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine262013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

As the pub does not open in the day,as it's late in season,it was a bit strange walking in to a totally empty place.A quick push on the bell,and Graham came rushing from working upstairs,to welcome us,confirm we could stay and show us to a room.An extra bed was installed straight away as we had our grandson with us,which was excellent as we hadn't pre-booked.In the evening,the place transformed,when the bar opened and Graham got out his best rock CD's,and it turned into an evening of "Name the Artist".The local people in the bar made us feel as though we were regulars and were all very friendly.On going up to bed,Graham told our grandson he wouldn't finish his breakfast next day.The breakfast is huge,with everything you can think of on one plate,I can honestly say,it was THE BEST I have ever had in any hotel/B&B anywhere,here or abroad even cruise ships.And yes Graham was right the grandson could not finish it!! We said to Graham on leaving and I repeat now,we WILL return. John B Sheffield

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Fantastic breakfast. The room is clean. Great shower. Large room with amazing view and excellent location. Warm and attentive staff. Clean beach hotel. Very helpful when making reservation enjoyed the pub after dinner too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beach G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winteringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here 22/23 August with our chocolate labrador. You couldn't get much nearer to the sea, great view from the bedroom and breakfast room. The room was a good size for the three of us, very comfortable and very clean. The Full English breakfast is HUGE, well cooked and very tasty and they even gave us a sausage for the dog. We'd taken a bottle of wine with us and had left it in the room, on our return they'd left us two wine glasses, which was very thoughtful. The owners are very friendly and chatty. The place is a little old fashioned, but we prefer that to ultra modern, the only shame was that the bar area seemed virtually unused. It's great to find a place that welcomes dogs and has such pleasant and thoughtful owners.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenHenry1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Think the reviews from earlier days need removing now .Our room was lovely ,clean and fresh.The breakfast was fantastic .
The place that time hasn't caught up with for all the good reasons .
We stayed here visiting family who were on holiday .Great sea views.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashton-in-makerfield wigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights midweek. We found the hotel staff and the locals very friendly enjoying a chat and drink with them.

The room was clean, the bed very comfortable and the ocean view was everything you would expect from a hotel that offers a sea view, the breakfast was brilliant and they make sure you start the day with a full stomach. At night in the bar was very relaxed and very enjoyable.

The best thing about the location of the hotel is that it's quite, no seagulls and Whitby was a 5 min bus ride away where we went for a day, had a meal and a couple of drinks then came back to the hotel away from the hustle and bustle of the town. I would like to say to Graham, Liz and Lauran thank you for a very warm welcome and the great hospitality we were shown during our stay and we will see you again very soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bevey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandsend
0.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
1.9 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#16 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Hotel

Property: The Beach Hotel
Address: The Parade, Sandsend, Whitby YO21 3SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby > Sandsend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sandsend
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Beach Hotel Sandsend, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing