We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We had a wonderful holiday.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bedroom 2
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom 2
View through window in Lounge Windows in Main Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Bedroom 2
View through window in Lounge
Windows in Main Lounge
Sandsend Beach picture taken from Parking space
Home from home Kitchen
Home from Home Kitchen
Family Bathroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
En-suite in bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
rock pools at low tide
View of sandsend front
Beautiful family orientated Sandsend beach in Summer
Wonderful view of Sandsend Beach taken from Living room window
View of Whitby from Sandsend Beach in Winter
View overlooking sandsend and beach
View of beach
Sandsend Beach looking across to Whitby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Sandsend, Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue P
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful holiday.”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We especially loved the situation of the property with big views looking out over the sea from first floor windows. Near enough to Whitby to walk there along the sandy beach at most states of the tide for shopping etc. If not handy bus service (half hourly) along the coast road. Runswick Bay a few miles up the coast was a particular favourite of ours to visit. Plenty of places in the area to eat out or if not a well equipped kitchen for cooking. Very comfortable beds and everything extremely clean. All in all a hugely relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views.
Liked least: The bathroom fan made quite a lot of noise ! Guess it just needs repairing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovefoodl...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our second visit and now our favourite beach rental!”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The accommodation is the most comfortable we have ever stayed in. The views are beautiful and we were totally relaxed. Nice comfy beds and now has WIFI. Lots to do in the area too. We will return. Thank you for the wine/chocs.

An unpleasant smell from the Sandsend drains due to the heat this July; but it didn't spoil the holiday.

Only improvement could be black out blinds in two of the bedrooms which don't have them.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jijc
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent sea views”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A very nicely presented holiday flat, with great sea views from all the rooms. Smartly presented and worthy of the 5star status. The only minor fault was noise from above and below, which to be honest is to be expected in this type of accommodation, otherwise spot on ,we shall return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sea views
Liked least: noise from other flats
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moochinga...
England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful apartment”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely apartment with everything you need. Great views out to the sea. Chocolates and wine on arrival was a lovely touch. Parking is just across the road. Beautiful beach. I visited with parents, husband and our 2 young children. Steps up to the flat and steps down into one of the bedrooms and the bathroom. My parents had the bedroom with en suite, so no stairs, so that worked well. Lots of interesting books are in the flat, along with toys for the children. Recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views of the beach from the apartment.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vixter08
West Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fab”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is the best holiday rental I've been in. Clean, cosy, home from home. We felt totally relaxed at Driftwood. It is also in the best location, looking straight out onto the beach. We would not hesitate to book again because the apartment was lovely. I would highly recommend this apartment all the reviews were spot on. Thank you to the owners for making our holiday so fabulous.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina...
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This apartment is a delight. Wonderful views of the sea from bedroom and living room windows and furnished and fitted to a very high standard. There were so many extras which we didn't expect. Absolutely perfect for 3 generations including 4 year old and baby.
Will definitely return!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zoe c
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
“amazing views, so relaxing, everything you need and more, very comfortable”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at driftwood during the first week of Easter 2014. Key collection was straightforward and we found wine and chocolates to welcome us. Parking is conveniently situated opposite the apartment. There are pubs, restaurants and cafes within easy walking distance, not to mention a large sandy beach.

We were a group of three adults and four children and found the apartment to be spacious enough. We spent most of the holiday on the beach, though, as the weather was so good. There are stunning sea views from all rooms with the beach literally across the road from the apartment. The apartment was clean and comfortable for all of us. The beds in particular must have been good quality because they didn't leave me crippled like those in most holiday accommodation.

The owner was very helpful, particularly when the DVD player in the living room wasn't working.

Our stay was most enjoyable. If you like a sea view and a comfortable spot to view it from, I would highly recommend this apartment.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing