We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service .”
Review of The Fish Cottage

The Fish Cottage
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Sandsend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £8 - £20
Description: Located 20yds from the beach in the beautiful seaside village of Sandsend, we’re just a short drive from the popular fishing town of Whitby, North Yorkshire. We have a real love for the sea and pride ourselves in serving the finest, locally caught sustainable fish and seafood.
Restaurant details
Description: Located 20yds from the beach in the beautiful seaside village of Sandsend, we’re just a short drive from the popular fishing town of Whitby, North Yorkshire. We have a real love for the sea and pride ourselves in serving the finest, locally caught sustainable fish and seafood.
Reviewed 30 January 2024 via mobile

We had a meal here yesterday and our server (Fred ) went above and beyond to accommodate our needs . He was very patient and knowledgable regarding menu choices .

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Hilary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2024

Truly awful.

If you want a fly infested place for a meal, go right ahead. I spent more time trying to swat flys than eat. The place sat us right next to the toilet, and subsequent line of people staring at us in the queue was lovely during our meal. And it stank as there was something up with the drains apparently.
Given the plethora of places in the area for good fish and chips, these were bang average and I was not at all pleased with my wife for suggesting we go here.

No surprise we won’t ever return.

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel Hardcastle, Owner at The Fish Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2024

Dave A, we don’t normally respond to Tripadvisor reviews but for you I am making an exception…

We can see you put a scathing review on the 3rd September after your supposed visit. Did you return again in January? I don’t think so.
So why post again on 8th January? Bored? Bitter? Both?!

You’ve already shared your opinion on your experience back in August, so why continue to attempt to damage our family business months later?

If you had an issue you needed to raise this at the time in order for us to do our best to resolve this immediately.

It seems clear that you have an ongoing issue/vendetta against us which you can’t move on from. If this is the case you need to either contact us directly via email for us to rectify, and/or contact some sort of anger management helpline and/or simply find more fulfilment in your life which helps you move on and think of something else almost 6 months on from your visit.

What you are doing is extremely damaging to small business’. We do our best to use local suppliers and to source the best local produce available. The additional costs of doing so can often be hard to see and for the business to absorb. We do our best to give our customers a great experience from our small premises. We don’t always get it right but we most of the time we do.
The industry is plagued by staffing shortages and spiralling overheads including increasing cost of goods, wages, utilities etc.. our industry is in a fragile position and we certainly not immune to this difficult balance.

I suggest that before deciding to go on a mission to destroy a small independent hospitality business you consider the effort that the staff and management go through on a daily basis to deliver service to their customers. Actual blood, sweat and tears are shed daily. These are real people, with real families and real struggles.

I hope you can move on, find happiness in your life, leave us alone and allow us to improve and grow going forward. Thank you for your feedback, but once was enough. Please don’t return. You will not be made welcome.

FYI the leaking tap issue was resolved by a certified plumber; Any flies that let themselves in without prior reservation were asked to leave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2024

We have been to Fish Cottage numerous times in the past and been generally happy with food and service so I picked this for my husbands 60th birthday.
We arrived at 1915 and were seated and given the menu. It was quiet and about 5 mins later the server asked for our choices. Only then did we find that quite a few items were unavailable. I did comment and say it would have been better if we had been told what was available before we selected our choices but the server did not comment back.
I had the mussels (which were ok) and my husband had the chilli gambas which were overcooked.
My husbands main, fish and chips were fine but my prawn linguine was not good and again prawns very overcooked. We paid the bill and left.
This used to be such a lovely restaurant where you were given delicious meals, but has certainly gone down hill.
Perhaps they are concentrating more on their take away/outside meals to the detriment of the inside service.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank K998XNsusanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2024 via mobile

Best restaurant in Sandsend/Whitby! The location is perfect, and the restaurant is decorated beautifully. Everytime we have visited, all the staff have been very friendly and helpful. Some menu changes since the summer which is to be expected, with lots of lovely options to enjoy alongside lovely drinks and wine. Definitely recommend!

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank jemimaharrison_
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2024

Small portion size, slow service, over fried so fish was dry and chips hard. £75 for for fish and chips and sides is overpriced. Taking advantage of New Years Day Business

Date of visit: January 2024
2  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Fish Cottage also viewed

 
 

Been to The Fish Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.