We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy food, wish we could go back for dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodlands Bistro - CLOSED

Woodlands Bistro
Price range: US$2 - US$28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We've recently changed our name, but we're still in the same beautiful location, cooking great food. Now called Bridge Cottage Bistro ... A stylish, innovative cafebar serving fantastic food prepared by chef/patron Alex Perkins using fresh, locally sourced produce with a distinctly retro feel. Set in a chocolate box cottage next to Mulgrave Woods - with an interior more Notting Hill than North Yorkshire, it is a place to switch off and relax far from the madding crowd.
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Yummy food, wish we could go back for dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Menu was really great - hard to choose! Staff were friendly and helpful and food was really great - just wish they could allow a small dog inside as it was a bit chilly and rushed outside. Would definitely recommend it and hope to go back again soon, maybe without the kids/dog, for dinner!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    26
    19
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Truly good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

My lunchtime visit has prompted me to write my first ever review for Tripadvisor, which in a way tells you all you need to know!

If my own experience is anything to go by, you can look forward to genuinely high quality, real food that has evidently been cooked with love and care. Nowhere else in Sandsend, or indeed for a considerable radius around comes close to the quality of food on offer here; and believe me when I say I've tried them all!

I had the ham hock terrine with soused vegetables; robust, fabulous flavours! I was expecting this to be a starter, but the 'Yorkshire' portion size together with complimentary freshly baked bread ruled out anything more substantial!

As an added bonus the staff were friendly, without being intrusive & the place is hidden away from the crowds, yet with 100yds of the beach.

Unhesitatingly recommended!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Moody owner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

It's 2 o'clock and the four of us are ready for an early drink and snack.
We we're greeted abruptly and it was made very clear that we weren't welcome. "We are full, oh no we are not, however it's a very long wait I'm afraid"... said the owner behind the counter.
Didn't know we only wanted coffees and snacks. Didn't ask.
Snobbery on the east coast... It's what happens when there's no real competition in the area. Overinflated opinion of a wooden shack near a beach. Try that nonsense in West London love...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank NRGC21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect Woodland Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is an amazing Café with great fresh food I love it........!
The service is friendly, great cakes, good wine, pulled pork to die for.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

This is by far the best food in Sandsend, comfortable and clean feeling inside with a touch of the bohemian about it, lots of lovely outdoor seating too, staff and owner/manager were very helpful and friendly. Also a wide range of drinks and food to choose from. The only downside is it's not always open, which would be ok if there was some indication of when it would be open next - otherwise people will just go elsewhere.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woodlands Bistro also viewed

 
Sandsend, Whitby
 
Sandsend, Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing