We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear!”
Review of Woodlands Bistro - CLOSED

Woodlands Bistro
Price range: US$2 - US$28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We've recently changed our name, but we're still in the same beautiful location, cooking great food. Now called Bridge Cottage Bistro ... A stylish, innovative cafebar serving fantastic food prepared by chef/patron Alex Perkins using fresh, locally sourced produce with a distinctly retro feel. Set in a chocolate box cottage next to Mulgrave Woods - with an interior more Notting Hill than North Yorkshire, it is a place to switch off and relax far from the madding crowd.
cumbria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Oh dear!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Following a long walk last Sunday we called at this bistro for a drink and snack. At 2pm they were not serving food, little left apart from meringues. Ordered tea for 2, sloppy service, tepid tea, barely enough for two cups. Will not return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank annacumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    26
    19
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An experience not to be missed!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

What a super place! A little gem of a restaurant set in a magical location, serving some of the best food to be had anywhere; and the atmosphere and general ambience ensure a wonderful eating experience. There were four in my party and we had a marvellous evening. It was relaxed and informal, and the food was absolutely delicious from start to finish. The service was outstanding; we were given informed and intelligent advice about the menu, and the enquiry as to whether everything was all right was a genuine and subtle observation in passing by our excellent waitress, rather than the platitude we have become used to hearing - so often barely a minute after the food has been served! Top marks to all at the Woodlands Bistro; an experience not to be missed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmm”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

i had heard such good reports but this must have been a bad day. cold food and a mix up with the order, and it was not that busy. A small venue that relies on outside space, ok when the weather is good but then you get a lot of dust from the dirt track to the car park.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fab, Fab, Fab - But Don't tell Anyone!!!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

For all you foodies out there, this is not to be missed, one of the best bistro's in the area, serving quality food with excellent relaxed service. Fabulous selection on the menu and fantastic choice of delicious cakes, excellent selection ofI Wine and beers. Be warned it does get busy at peak times, but relax and enjoy the lovely surroundings,

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jazzabum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Easter Sunday lunch 2014
Superb lunch. Whitebait delicious, pulled pork burger out of this world!
As Robert Palmer said - "simply irresistible".

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnS1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woodlands Bistro also viewed

 
 
Sandsend, Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing