We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“an amazingly peaceful, comfortable apartment with...”

Review of Sands

Spacious sitting room with lovely log fire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious sitting room with lovely log fire
Lovely outside eating area and BBQ Private outside dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Spacious sitting room with lovely log fire
Lovely outside eating area and BBQ
Private outside dining area
Comfortable sitting room
Dining area in the sitting room
Sitting room
Kitchen!
Kitchen
Dining area in the kitchen
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Seaside bedroom
Twin version of seaside bedroom
Home Sweet Home!
Twin seaside room
Ship's Ahoy!
Master bedroom ensuite Bathroom
View of passing yachts from The Marstalls
View across the valley from The Sands
Here is our new wood burning stove!
Lovely views of the sea and across the valley
Sitting room
Sandsend bay
Its even lovely in the snow!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sandsend, Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradfordb...
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“an amazingly peaceful, comfortable apartment with fantastic sea views”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We booked at short notice and had the most fantastic stay in Sands at Sandsend. WE couldnt have wished for a nicer place-well furnished and ketted out with everything fr relaxing break. The views and setting are wonderful and the comfort of the accomodation made the 2 night stay perfect. Plenty of places go for walks and to eat so the car didnt move from the parking space provided all weekend!
The weather meant we made the most of having the lovely outside seating area for bacon sandwiches and coffee-what more can I say, other than 'thank you' to the owners for taking such care to give your guests a welcome, restful place to stay in Sandsend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the wonderful location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxglove1...
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Clean,comfortable and well equipped. The owner lives upstairs and is very friendly and helpful. The view from the living area is lovely, with the village in front and looking sideways down to a small bridge and the sea beyond. It is a three mile walk along the beach to Whitby, but watch out for tide times! A perfect short break in a lovely setting.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2014
Really glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Sands, hope to see you again one day. Many thanks for your kind review.
With kind regards
Stewart and June
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisdere...
chris in paris
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Apartment with Stunning Views”
Reviewed 7 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

This apartment is the nicest we have ever stayed in. The decor is gorgeous and everything is spotlessly clean. The log burner in the lounge is so lovely and warm ideal on a winters day. Everything is provided for you including buckets and spades which our grandson loved. The sofa bed in the lounge is large enough to sleep two adults very comfortably. The views are amazing from every window. Stewart and June are lovely people and are always there if you need any thing. I would highly recommend this apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor of the apartment
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2014
Thank you for such a glowing review! We are really glad that you enjoyed your break in The Sands at Sandsend. We hope to welcome you again sometime in the future.
Thank you for choosing one of our holiday cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy W
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

You will not be disappointed with this accommodation it is lovely, clean and in a perfect location, the views from every window are stunning and the seating in the front room is so comfy to relax on after a days walking. The wood burner soon gets the room cosy but to be honest we were lucky with the weather! We ate at the local pub which was good and also at the Estbeck, then we ate in as the apartment was so homely and warm. June the owner is very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The only reason for not giving 5 stars is due to the lack of instructions for the wood burner, the range cooker, CD player, washer/dryer it would help as worried about breaking items so I instruction books would have been good rather than having to trouble either Vanessa or June Also a little surprised by a lady knocking at the door for a card on the property and a couple just walking up the drive whilst we were sat outside, this could maybe be avoided by a dispenser at the bottom of the drive?. Don't let this put you off though it is lovely and the internet connection is excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
val969
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent holiday rental”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A wonderful property in an idyllic location very spacious and extremely well
maintained, with glorious views. The property is owned by a charming and helpful couple Stuart and June.
I highly recommend the"sands" to anyone planning a break in Sandsend
Whitby. we had a really wonderful time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was superb
Liked least: no negatives
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2013
Many thanks for your lovely comments. If we can help with anything in the future, please don't hesitate to get in touch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landau in der Pfalz, Germany
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely furniture and decoration, lot of space, great terrace
Liked least: Very loud from steps on the upper floor in the early morning
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mike S
Leeds, UK
1 review
“Fabulous location, great accomodation, will definitely be back”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Just at the end of our second visit to the Sands and this trip was of the same high standards as our first (around 9 months ago). The layout of the apartment is very child-friendly and June and Stuart are incredibly accomodating, with buckets and spades left in the apartment for our short walk down to Sandsend beach. Views from the apartment are superb; a great sea view from the front, combined with a Hobbiton-esque village at the back make it feel like you're truly in wind-down mode (even with an excitable toddler!). Whitby is only a few minutes drive away and other villages such as Runswick Bay are also near by. We travel in this area a great deal and will definitely be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great location, lovely views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2013
Good to see you all again. Many thanks for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future, in the meantime keep enjoying this lovely summer that we're having!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$203
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing