We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pit stop after a walk on the beach”
Review of Hart Inn

Hart Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Restaurants in Sandsend
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 16 October 2018

We walked from Whitby to Sandsend along the beach, stopped at the Hart Inn and then returned to Whitby via the cliff top. It was a lovely walk broken by a delightful stop at the Hart Inn. We sat out in the beer garden which even in early October was a sun trap. Enjoyed a nice pint of London Pride.

Busy little pub. Good friendly staff.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank MD-FatDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2018

Made a visit to The Hart this evening with my wife, pub was quite quiet but still had a nice atmosphere. We ordered Scampi to start and Brie Wedges. When they arrived the portions were very generous and beautifully cooked.
Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay at the pub. We ordered main course from the specials board which was Thai prawn and monkfish curry for me which was served with popadom, nan and rice with mango chutney and mint raita. It was absolutely delicious with plenty of prawns and monkfish. My wife ordered spinach and ricotta cannelloni which came with garlic bread and chips.
Both meals were piping hot and fresh....
We would have loved one of the tempting desserts but didn’t have any room left.
Great night...would recommend!!!

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Gemma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

If you like good portions tasty food clean surroundings nice decor great service all at a reasonable price this is for you.
We are a family of 6 with three generations and were advised to book in advance reqesting a table upstairs and we were pleased we did as even out of season and early on a tuesday evening it was full.
Right oposite the beach in lovely Sandsend this really is a great place be it lunch fab crab sandwich or evening meal dog friendly downstairs theres nothing not to like.
We will definatly be returning.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank KatherineE380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

Wasn't going to bother reviewing, but a week later I'm still aghast that I was asked to pay £4.30 for a pint of Wainwright - a very ordinary pint of moderate strength real ale.

OK, that will be cheap for Londoners, but even though Whitby is dearer than many local towns, £4.30 is outrageous. Sheer profiteering.

Date of visit: September 2018
3  Thank StuBell10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

We walked from whitby as my husband wanted us to go here for lunch ~ It’s a lovely local pub but OMG the sandwiches where amazing ~ There where 4 of us & where told the portions where big so we only ordered 3 between us the crab ~ prawn & ham & 2 portions of chips still to much but we managed haha ~ My parents are in there eighties walked all that way & they didn’t find it cramped lots of chairs with big tables.

See you again very soon ~ Celia & Co X

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank MUMNEWYORK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hart Inn also viewed

 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing