We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Estbek House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Estbek House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandsend
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best fish anywhere”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We ate here when we rented a cottage in whitby, and were recogmended by the people who have Harry's Bar; what they said was right the seafood is amazing, we both had their Seafood Pie & for the starters I had Mussles (which were just perfect) & my wife had Ham Hock, dessert wise we both had the Brulee, again like everything they were to die for. The whole place was warm & the service was perfect! How anyone could fault this place is beyond us!
If you like wine your in for a treat; fully Australian (& New Zealand) wines, we went by the glass, which was great and David (one of the owners) recogmended the wines to match what we liked and what we were eating.
When were over again were certainly going back & most likely will stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    34
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
122
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We have been three times to dine at esbeck house thinking it might get better,but in fact it got worse. Food and service terrible. wont be recommending it or going back.We only dined but were seated at the back of the dining room overlooking the yard/garden with all the washing. Not good.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 190744Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

David and Tim are very welcoming. Estbek House has a small courtyard garden at the front, the rooms are extremely clean and well-appointed on either the first or second floor. We thought it would be noisy at night as we were on the road side, but as soon as the wooden window shutters were closed, hardly a sound could be heard. The cooked breakfasts were superb. The eggs laid by hens in the garden. The reduced dining rate tarriff is the one to go for as there is no need to eat anywhere else. The waitresses are friendly, the evening meals are superb and the fish dishes as fresh as could be! There are six private parking spaces in the car park just across the bridge. A deposit is required on booking. Sandsend is lovely with a sand and pebble beach and a few quaint shops, yet only a short drive from Whitby.

Room Tip: There are only four rooms but the the Estbeck House website is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YJP568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The best thing about Estbek House is the restaurant food, which is stunning and the wine list - I wish we could transport it to where we live. Although pricey, it's super for a special occasion but be prepared to pay a lot for the room if you stay as well. The rooms are well appointed and stylish - rooms at the top as are naturally very hot in summer. I think the pricing is misleading - the two amounts - one for room eating in and the other for room & breakfast/eating out are confusing to those of us not used to such pricing mechanisms. Hospitality is very good, Tim and David are very helpful and have the time to chat to guests even though they are very busy. On reflection we would have been better just eating at Estbek House as it turned into a very expensive three day break - but we thoroughly enjoyed the extravagance!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lovetogetaway0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We have stayed here numerous times - we love everything about it: location, accommodation, service and most of all the food, wine and superb hosts. All four rooms are beautifully fitted and very comfortable - our favourite, however is Alum as it is larger and brighter than the others. David and Tim, the joint owners, are lovely people who work very hard to ensure everything is perfect during your stay. David prides himself on his wine list - and rightly so: the wine is exceptional. Tim, the chef, can be seen at work in the open kitchen, which is spotless, making bread, chocolates and delicious meals. Our personal favourites are the scallops, and the salmon (smoked on the premises) to start ; the signature sea food pie or lobster (exquisite) to follow and to complete the meal either the creme brulee, chocolate pot or the cheese board served with two glasses of port! Desert wines and the home made chocolates with the coffee perfect te experience. Breakfast is the best full English we've ever had. We visit two or three times a year and will be back soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable but Nora is the smallest and the bathroom is not suited to generously...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

THE GOOD:
- An excellent restaurant, with great food, though expect to pay London prices.
- Attentive serving Staff, friendly without being intrusive.
- An extremely clean room (called Nora).
- Quality room fittings / linen / towels.
- Great location for Sandsend.

THE BAD:

Nora Bedroom:
- Very expensive for the tiny room we were given, this really should be a single room or the price reduced.
- A tiny bathroom, very cramped.
- An electric shower, clean, but not very powerful.
- Small closet space, due to small size of room.
- Oversized bed was too large for this room - it took up all the available space.
- The smallest TV I've ever seen in a hotel room!
- The bed was positioned on a slope, so I felt I was going to fall out, this does not aid restful sleep.
- No bottled water provided, though there was tea/coffee making facilities.
- No fridge in the room.
- Poor lighting, no light due to tiny window.
- Poor view from window, as it is very small and at floor level so you can only look out if you get down on your hands and knees. A shame as you'd like to be able to see the sea.

Restaurant:
- No bread offered with the meal, home made bread was expected as a minimum from a restaurant of this calibre.
- Expensive and limited wine choice (Australian & Tasmanian wines only).
- You don't get to sit in the restaurant for Breakfast! An average breakfast is served (between 8.30 -9.15 only) in the dark and unwelcoming cellar/bar.
- There was no where to sit and relax except in the unwelcoming cellar/bar. No sitting room at all. As our room was so tiny, there was no where to sit except for the bed. It seems all available space is maximised for restaurant use.
- The cellar/bar area is very dark and business like, almost sterile.
- No WIFI service at all, scandalous at this price bracket.
- Sky TV service in rooms, but extremely limited choice.

Overall:
Be in no doubt - this establishment is not a great B&B with the added benefit of an exceptional restaurant; It's a good restaurant with rooms taking second billing.
Everything about Estbek House is based around the restaurant, to the detriment of the guest and the guest rooms. There seems to be no original character to the house and every attempt has been made to ensure the property earns as much revenue as it possibly can. It really is just a restaurant with rooms and a shiny kitchen .

Please don't forget where you are, in a lovely part of the N Yorks seaside with lots of character which is sadly, not reflected at Estbek House. Some of the criticism may appear harsh, but this is truly reflective of our stay.

Room Tip: The Nora room is very expensive for its size - don't plan to spend much time in there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank AndyStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We were treating ourselves for our Wedding Anniversary. We were made to feel really welcome and found the room small 'but perfectly formed'. Some really nice touches, like the fold out mirror so one could put make up on without sitting in the hand basin. Everything was spotlessly clean and we appreciated the bathrobes and the comprehensive 'package' of necessaries. A request for a thinner blanket as substitute for the 10.5 tog down duvet ( it was a warm night!) was met cheerfully.
We rather liked the eclectic mixing of styles from the high Victorian lamp, via the Art Deco to the contemporary pictures in the dining rooms and bedrooms. We had a room at the back as it was expected to be quieter but we did hear the bottles being disposed of at the end of the evening.
We ate dinner one evening, the service was attentive without being over the top, and the dining ambiance pleasant. We hadn't registered that the wine list was totally Antipodean, not totally to our taste but we were recommended a very acceptable wine to complement our meal. While very good the meal did not have that indelible 'taste memory' which we find in the very best meals. The hot smoked salmon in my salad lacked the succulence I expected, but the lobster was delicious.
The creme brulee benefited from the fresh eggs, as did the boiled eggs I had at breakfast. My husband enjoyed his fish 'pie' and blackberry crumble.
We would recommend the Estbeck to anyone wanting somewhere just that bit more individual.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wentdalewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandsend
0.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,938 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
765 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#15 of 20 in Whitby
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
974 reviews
2.3 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estbek House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estbek House

Property: Estbek House
Address: Estbeck House East Row, Sandsend, Whitby YO21 3SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby > Sandsend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Estbek House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Estbek House Hotel Sandsend
Estbek Hotel Sandsend
Estbek House Sandsend, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing