We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 out of 10 doesn't do it justice”
Review of Estbek House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Estbek House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandsend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2009

What a fantastic find. This place is simply superb. from the moment we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome. Dropping lucky with a dry day, champagne and chocolates outside was a perfect start.

I can quite easily say that the food here was the best I've every had: delicious crab and shrimp ravioli followed by the most luxurious fish pie and topped off with chocolate and amaretto cheesecake - wow excellent job Tim! And the wine... where to start, so much choice but not too daunting as David is at hand to give his expert advice and share his knowledge of our choice.

The room we had was small but perfectly formed, very comfortable bed, spotlessly clean room and ensuite with all the toiletries and fresh towells you'd need and then the breakfast set us up for a perfect day out.

I can't thank you all enough for making our stay so great, so thank you Tim, David and the rest of the team - we will undoubtedly return soon!

Oh, by the way - David - hope the wine exam went well!

Lee & Michael

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cumberdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 180 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2008

We have been coming to this beautiful area for a number of years and the Estbek House Hotel is simply the finest place to dine in the area. Quite an unassuming place near the beach, but the food, wine and service via Dave and Tim is better than anything else on that stretch of coastline and, in my opinion, on a par with Fischers of Baslow.

If you go, try the lobster bisque, Littlebec Goats Cheese Salad or Gressingham Duck as a starter -superb!!

---

Dont make a mistake and visit the Cliffemount nearby; nice views, poor everything else!

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank opinion8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

This place is absolutely fantastic - perfectly situated overlooking the beck, only a few steps away from the sea, with a stunning backdrop.

Dinner in the restaurant was a gastronomic delight from start to finish, and included a huge, deliciously moist fillet of cod served with vine tomatoes and basil, and fish pie consisting of a perfect combination of seafood in a delicous sauce, with beautifully presented vegetables and followed by a selection of local cheeses and a glass of vintage port.

The food, drink, service and room, including private facilities with whirlpool bath were all faultless, and the hosts made our stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2008

Stayed here for one night. It's in a good location for the North York Moors and the Cleveland Way; Sandsend itself is a very nice spot. Parking is a little way away from the house along a fairly busy road, so avoid bringing big suitcases! The hosts are friendly and helpful and they use a lot of home produce and have their own free range chickens for the breakfast eggs, and generally try hard to consider the environment in their business. The bar for drinks before dinner is cosy but risks becoming a bit crowded on busy nights. Food was just fantastic, particularly the evening meal, though breakfast was also good. The room we had (Eva) was a bit small (another reason to avoid the big suitcases) but attractive - very nicely decorated - and the bed was really comforable.

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank alchemilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2008

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at Estbek House and found it to be fantastic. David and Tim are marvellous hosts and very happy to chat about the place, surrounding area and the food and wine they serve. The Alum room we booked was lovely and we ate in the restaurant every night where the food can only be described as stunning. The fish was cooked perfectly and imaginatively presented and the desserts wonderful. we also had steak one night which again was cooked perfectly followed by a beautiful cheese board. We will certainly be visiting Estbek again

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samson99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2008

myself and partner eat here and i must admit it is on the same level as the vicarage in sheffield the food and wine were wonderful my partner had the scallops,crayfisn and samfire starter and he loved it the steak he had was exactly as he asked for it blue, the place is a real treasure and hopefully next time we will try to stay there as well

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
Thank welltravelled023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandsend
0.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#1 of 20 in Whitby
2,097 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
861 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,167 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#18 of 20 in Whitby
218 reviews
2.3 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estbek House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estbek House

Address: Estbeck House East Row, Sandsend, Whitby YO21 3SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby > Sandsend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandsend
Price Range: £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estbek House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Estbek House Hotel Sandsend
Estbek Hotel Sandsend
Estbek House Sandsend, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing