We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely First Class”
Review of The Bell Inn

The Bell Inn
Price range: £7 - £15
Cuisines: British
Description: Traditional English Inn dating back to 1737. Bar, dining and 5 en-suite bedrooms, 1 fully accessible. Beer garden and riverside seating. Allergen aware - most of our menu is available Gluten and dairy/Lacto free-even desserts!
Restaurant details
Description: Traditional English Inn dating back to 1737. Bar, dining and 5 en-suite bedrooms, 1 fully accessible. Beer garden and riverside seating. Allergen aware - most of our menu is available Gluten and dairy/Lacto free-even desserts!
Reviewed 1 May 2022

Fell upon this Inn whilst travelling back to Torbay yesterday, and needed lunch and a break from driving.

*. Hosts were exceptionally friendly,
*. food was excellent, freshly cooked and very reasonably priced. No sticky tables, *. *. toilets were absolutely spotlessly clean

A very welcoming stop which I will use again and again when in the area.
Thank you to the Landlord and Landlady for one of the best stopovers we experienced.

Date of visit: April 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2022

My wife and I booked a table at very short notice at this historic Inn and were given a very pleasant welcome reception by Nicky who immediately offered us a well-situated reserved table and even a tasty treat for our dog Millie. We remembered our previous Sunday lunch and were equally delighted at the generous portions, including an amazing variety of freshly cooked vegetables. For pudding, we enjoyed David's homemade rhubarb and strawberry crumble with custard and left feeling fully satisfied. Will we be back? We certainly hope so in the very near future!

Date of visit: April 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fleetingvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2021 via mobile

Absolutely amazing pub lunch. All the food we ordered was of a very high standard & freshly cooked. It was very clean & welcoming. We will definitely visit again when we’re next in the area.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2021 via mobile

We stayed here recently for 2 nights and had a fantastic experience. Nicky is an amazing hostess and David an accomplished chef. We were looked after so well and the food was exquisite. I really can't recommend The Bell Inn highly enough and we will definitely be back.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank SuperbikeSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2021

You know, this place is smashing! Just a couple of miles outside Salisbury, so close enough. Very welcoming staff, really good pub food. Excellent steaks....a small wine list, but very reasonable and well chosen too. Rooms are very comfortable and well furnished Beer garden and across the road, more tables by the river .. definitely will stay here again.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank W529HUstephenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Bell Inn also viewed

 
Great Wishford, Wiltshire
Lower Woodford, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.