We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful & beautiful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Newton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Salisbury Old Mill House
Ranked #1 of 1 South Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Peaceful & beautiful!”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The Old Mill House B&B is truly 4 star! From the great bed to the fantastic view... Great food, very clean. We enjoyed a glass of wine sitting by the pond. Maggie does a wonderful job juggling breakfasts so no one feels rushed. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back overlooking the pond. Spectacular sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    23
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
65
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Lovely old listed mill house walking distance from good pub. Maggie and Brian are great hosts. Lovely breakfast and well appointed room. Loved the smoked trout. Terrific location Midway between Stonehenge and salisbury

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RussellCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crescenta, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed several days in the triple at the Salisbury Old Mill House and very much enjoyed it. Breakfast is quite an event, served with the best china, silver and other accoutrements. The breakfast offerings include an enormous full English breakfast, which kept me going the whole day, but you can also have cereal, toast, fruit, etc. The coffee and tea were excellent. Our hostess, Maggie, was personable, attentive, cheerful and very helpful. The b&b is located on a busy A route, but we slept very peacefully and were never aware of any road noise. Our room looked out over the mill pond and some scenic hills in the distance. Altogether a beautiful location and comfortable and well appointed property. Our only disappointment was that the wifi was not available as advertised and the local cell service was spotty so keeping in communication with the office was a bit of a challenge. On the plus side, the b&b is in the center of a whole range of significant landmarks, historic houses and gardens, all within quite easy reach. We very much enjoyed our time here.

Room Tip: The back room overlooking the mill pond is quiet and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crescentan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Old mill house, lovely location and friendly owners. Great for visiting Salibury, Stonhenge and surrounding area. Nice breakfast, would recommend any time. Already planning our next stay. Peter and Paula.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Wonderfull views, very friendly hosts, very historic house, full of character. Enjoyed our stay, would stay again when in the area. This was the first night stay for the American couple we were showing around England, they loved it. Breakfast was over the top, a great selection of local food.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curtis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Our party of five recently stayed here for two days and nights. This is a lovely well kept old, yet pretty b & b. The rooms are comfortable with private bathrooms.

The breakfast's were very good.

Janet from the USA

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We have just returned from a two day stay at the Old Mill House. The house is full of character. Our double room was very comfortable. Comfy bed, lots of hot water for the shower, bottled water in our room as well as the usual tea and coffee and very nice biscuits. We found our hosts Maggie and Brian most welcoming. Coming and going during the day was not a problem as Maggie was happy to provide us with a key. When we arrived Maggie said " this is your home for two days" and we felt she really meant it! Breakfast was superb. Maggie also provides an evening meal which we wish we had taken up as the food at the local pub is not great. All in all a very good stay. Thank you Maggie and Brian.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Newton
2.8 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
6.8 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Old Mill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Old Mill House

Property: Salisbury Old Mill House
Address: Old Mill House Warminster Road, South Newton SP2 0QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > South Newton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in South Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Salisbury Old Mill House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Salisbury Old Mill House Hotel South Newton
Salisbury Old Mill House South Newton, Wiltshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing