We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catered for our wedding - absolutely amazing and such good value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan at Stoford
Ranked #1 of 2 Stoford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding in downton last Saturday. The swan catered for our wedding breakfast, we had a beautiful afternoon tea made up of mini banofee pies, lemon drizzle cake, scones, truffles and an array of sandwiches. Before we chose several canapés that everyone was raving about, all washed down with pimms, tea and coffee. They also did our bar with gorgeous local ciders and plenty of spirits. Overall everything was just perfect and I couldn't have asked for anything else!! I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for caterers!x

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thanks for the great feedback - we felt very privileged to be part of your big day and I am glad we were able to surpass your expectations. Thank you for being such a wonderful customer!

Liz - owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
There are newer reviews for The Swan at Stoford
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here for a relaxing night before a gruelling business trip. It was excellent. Food was lovely and the situation near the river was idyllic. Only a few miles from Stonehenge and Salisbury but cheaper than many alternatives. We loved it!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for your great review which made lovely reading. We are so pleased you had a relaxing stay with us.

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Friendly staff who took time to chat made this an enjoyable stay. Ideally situated for a visit to Stonehenge or Salisbury. Rooms were comfortable and cosy with all facilities. Road very close but thanks to triple glazing there was no disturbance and we had two very nice nights of undisturbed sleep. Food also excellent. Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Great review - thank you - I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely place! We arrived really late and we were expecting some grumpy faces but no, staff was extremely nice and pleasant to us.
The superior room that we had was v nice, warm, clean, it had extra heating provided at our disposal, hair dryer, kettle and all in good shape ( ive learnt sadly to expect mediocre things and I was impressed) bathroom had good fittings so staying and sleeping was a pleasure !
Food was very good, also large quantities so you feel you get value for money, bfast was included in room rate and its a healthy one also. Again staff is very well trained and place well managed by someone that understands how to make money and keep customers pouring in.
Across the street there is a beautiful garden next to a river that i imagine in summer days its a fantastic spot.
Attractions are few miles around and easy to get around.
All in all we loved it, we were relaxed and we will be back and tell all our friends!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Vrg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Fantastic review - thank you - I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and am extremely glad there were no grumpy faces as excellent customer service is our motto. Thank you for taking the time to give such lovely feedback.

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

we received a warm welcome .The facilities on offer ,beer garden.river walk etc.were explained ,we were even told of another pub a short distance away.There was loads of information provided in the room folder about things to see & do.we had a room over looking the road but this was quiet with the windows closed & had no issues sleeping .Breakfast was nice to & the service great.
I would recommend the park & ride if you go into Salisbury(,which is well worth a look).Just make sure you get back on the right bus. Stonehenge is worth a look ,i would recommend just driving past @ £ 15 per per person it's a rip off . just because they built a visitor centre & are bussing you up the road.

Room Tip: we had a room over looking the road but this was quiet with the windows closed & had no issues s...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed the area - there really is so much more to explore than Stonehenge and we think we are lucky living in such a lovely part of the country.

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed for one night stopping to see family on our way to Cornwall. We had two rooms and both were comfortable and very clean with plenty of space, tea and coffee facilities and ample towels. Bathrooms looked newly done and were also spotless. Staff were friendly and both the rooms and the food were excellent value. Although it's right on a busy road we didn't hear the traffic with the windows closed. The only downside for us were the very thin walls - you can hear absolutely everything in the neighbouring rooms (including the man snoring in the room next to ours which I blamed my husband for until I realised it was coming from next door!) but it's an old and quirky inn, much better than a soulless modern hotel, so you have to make some allowances ...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luctons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thanks for the great feedback - sorry if your neighbour kept you awake snoring and I hope your husband wasn't too indignant at being wrongly blamed! I am delighted you had a great stay.
Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed for one night , friendly staff took us up to our room which was lovely and clean , the bed was so comfortable , tea and coffee in the room although the tea was herbal and I love my pg tips so could do with normal tea in the rooms , the road wasn't a problem as long as you kept all the windows closed so could be hot if you travel in the summer although I did see a fan in the cupboard , breakfast was lovely as was dinner , we had a lovely evening at the quiz night .
Only down side of our stay was that the corridor is very loud as it's a old coach house it's thin walls and you can hear every word and footstep but all was silent later at night
Overall stay was great and we have already spoken about going back
Would highly recommend :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely recommendation. Sorry you didn't have normal tea in the room - it is something that we provide and I have spoken to the cleaning staff to make sure they don't forget in the future. When you do come back, please ask us at the bar for anything to make your stay more pleasant. Thanks again for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoford
4.2 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
303 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
782 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
315 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Stoford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Stoford

Address: Warminster Road, Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Stoford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stoford
Price Range: £49 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan at Stoford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan has been trading since 1740, welcoming travellers and providing a comfortable night's sleep. Our coaching inn retains some of that historical character whilst having modern bedrooms with en suites and provides a great base for visiting attractions in the area including Stonehenge, Avesbury, Longleat Safari Park, Wilton House and the Cathedral City of Salisbury. Whether you want to stop for some classic pub food, a delicious special or stay in our accommodation, you are always ensured of a warm welcome here at the Swan. We also have a large function rooms, two gardens including a lovely riverside garden with fishing rights, a traditional skittles alley and can cater for weddings, parties, christenings etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, HostelWorld, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Swan at Stoford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing