We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan at Stoford
Ranked #1 of 2 Stoford B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“disappointing !!!!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

we booked for lunch, had a drink in the garden which was nice before we sat at our table. We asked for a kids menu, and sat waiting,It wasnt even that busy we went to the bar and asked again for a kids menu and was told it was being printed !! which we found very strange. The waiter came to take our order in which we told him we were still waiting for a kids menu, he went to the cupboard and came back with one, so we were not sure what all the waiting was about. The starters arrived which were nice. then our main course came, it was ok. We had finished our main course and no one came to clear our table or offer us a dessert menu, the staff were sitting down having something to eat. We went to the bar and mentioned we had been sitting there ages with empty plates waiting to be cleared, the lady apologized we paid our bill and left. Most of the tables in the garden had not even been cleared of empty plates and glasses So needless to say we will not be going there again.....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
I am sorry you were disappointed with the service, and that there was a mix up with the availability of the children's menu. We are normally complimented on our friendly and efficient service and I am sorry that this did not happen in your case.

Liz - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    157
    58
    23
    24
See reviews for
107
181
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amesbury
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding in downton last Saturday. The swan catered for our wedding breakfast, we had a beautiful afternoon tea made up of mini banofee pies, lemon drizzle cake, scones, truffles and an array of sandwiches. Before we chose several canapés that everyone was raving about, all washed down with pimms, tea and coffee. They also did our bar with gorgeous local ciders and plenty of spirits. Overall everything was just perfect and I couldn't have asked for anything else!! I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for caterers!x

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thanks for the great feedback - we felt very privileged to be part of your big day and I am glad we were able to surpass your expectations. Thank you for being such a wonderful customer!

Liz - owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon Dassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here for a relaxing night before a gruelling business trip. It was excellent. Food was lovely and the situation near the river was idyllic. Only a few miles from Stonehenge and Salisbury but cheaper than many alternatives. We loved it!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your great review which made lovely reading. We are so pleased you had a relaxing stay with us.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Friendly staff who took time to chat made this an enjoyable stay. Ideally situated for a visit to Stonehenge or Salisbury. Rooms were comfortable and cosy with all facilities. Road very close but thanks to triple glazing there was no disturbance and we had two very nice nights of undisturbed sleep. Food also excellent. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Great review - thank you - I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostfildern, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely place! We arrived really late and we were expecting some grumpy faces but no, staff was extremely nice and pleasant to us.
The superior room that we had was v nice, warm, clean, it had extra heating provided at our disposal, hair dryer, kettle and all in good shape ( ive learnt sadly to expect mediocre things and I was impressed) bathroom had good fittings so staying and sleeping was a pleasure !
Food was very good, also large quantities so you feel you get value for money, bfast was included in room rate and its a healthy one also. Again staff is very well trained and place well managed by someone that understands how to make money and keep customers pouring in.
Across the street there is a beautiful garden next to a river that i imagine in summer days its a fantastic spot.
Attractions are few miles around and easy to get around.
All in all we loved it, we were relaxed and we will be back and tell all our friends!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vrg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Fantastic review - thank you - I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and am extremely glad there were no grumpy faces as excellent customer service is our motto. Thank you for taking the time to give such lovely feedback.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

we received a warm welcome .The facilities on offer ,beer garden.river walk etc.were explained ,we were even told of another pub a short distance away.There was loads of information provided in the room folder about things to see & do.we had a room over looking the road but this was quiet with the windows closed & had no issues sleeping .Breakfast was nice to & the service great.
I would recommend the park & ride if you go into Salisbury(,which is well worth a look).Just make sure you get back on the right bus. Stonehenge is worth a look ,i would recommend just driving past @ £ 15 per per person it's a rip off . just because they built a visitor centre & are bussing you up the road.

Room Tip: we had a room over looking the road but this was quiet with the windows closed & had no issues s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed the area - there really is so much more to explore than Stonehenge and we think we are lucky living in such a lovely part of the country.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed for one night stopping to see family on our way to Cornwall. We had two rooms and both were comfortable and very clean with plenty of space, tea and coffee facilities and ample towels. Bathrooms looked newly done and were also spotless. Staff were friendly and both the rooms and the food were excellent value. Although it's right on a busy road we didn't hear the traffic with the windows closed. The only downside for us were the very thin walls - you can hear absolutely everything in the neighbouring rooms (including the man snoring in the room next to ours which I blamed my husband for until I realised it was coming from next door!) but it's an old and quirky inn, much better than a soulless modern hotel, so you have to make some allowances ...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luctons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thanks for the great feedback - sorry if your neighbour kept you awake snoring and I hope your husband wasn't too indignant at being wrongly blamed! I am delighted you had a great stay.
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoford
4.2 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
5.1 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
4.9 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Stoford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Stoford

Property: The Swan at Stoford
Address: Warminster Road, Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Stoford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stoford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan at Stoford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan has been trading since 1740, welcoming travellers and providing a comfortable night's sleep. Our coaching inn retains some of that historical character whilst having modern bedrooms with en suites and provides a great base for visiting attractions in the area including Stonehenge, Avesbury, Longleat Safari Park, Wilton House and the Cathedral City of Salisbury. Whether you want to stop for some classic pub food, a delicious special or stay in our accommodation, you are always ensured of a warm welcome here at the Swan. We also have a large function rooms, two gardens including a lovely riverside garden with fishing rights, a traditional skittles alley and can cater for weddings, parties, christenings etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Swan at Stoford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing