We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Swan at Stoford
Nearby Hotels
The Pembroke Arms Hotel(Wilton)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stones Hotel(Salisbury)(Great Value!)
US$89
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
US$137
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$94
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
City Lodge(Salisbury)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
165
173
67
29
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
173
67
29
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstriple glazingbusy roadthe pubpork bellythe riverskittle alleycar parkbeer gardenmain roadbreakfast was includedvisiting stonehengefour posterfull englishovernight stayroom was clean and comfortablean evening mealvery pleasant stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
307 - 312 of 462 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Just been there for lunch. Husband and son had carvary which was enormous and yummy and I had club sandwich which seemed a little pricey but was well worth every penny , a large portion! My daughter had fish fingers which was huge and pudding included. The best bit was the service. The waiter genuinely liked children and went that extra mile, he was great! they had a wooden bowling alley in the family resturant which went down a treat and was free, wish we lived closer as I'd love to go there more. Thank you the swan made my day!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review - I am glad you used the skittle alley - it is a real asset and best when you can hear the laughter of people enjoying it.

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

stayed for 2 nights. staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. Although on main road no trouble sleeping as triple glazed. Food tremendous and excellent value. New carvery exceptional. Old pub so corridor creaky and narrow just adds character. Skittle alley great fun. Rooms attractive and all you need. Riverside gardening . Fishing available. Free wi-fi
Excellent base for touring. Stonehenge and salisbury close

Room Tip: old sarum room good value for couples
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

It is always very heartening to read reviews like yours. Thank you for your kind words and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The food was really nice.

The service was acceptable bit could be more attentive

The decor was dated though and didn't match the beautiful outside. I guess that from the exterior, which was nice, I was expecting more inside

Thankfully the food wasn't disappointing

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for your review - we were in the throes of updating our décor when you visited - you can see photos on our Facebook page. I hope you like the new look.

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Just popped in for a cup of coffee and a break for baby, but ended up staying for a pudding too!!
The cappuccinos were MASSIVE and sooo good (as an ex-barista, I'm particularly fussy!!) The menu said they do free refills as well!!
The chocolate fondue was delicious - fruit was fresh and chocolate was perfectly melted.
Really glad we decided to stop here ... It's right in the A36 which we use regularly to visit family, so will definitely call again!!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank EmyRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

We are thrilled you enjoyed your pit stop (and fondue) and really look forward to your next visit.

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We highly recommend this hotel - especially for visitors to Stonehenge. Spacious quiet room with good bathroom. The staff were excellent and welcoming. Good setting alongside a river. Really convenient for travelling. The food for dinner was good and locally sourced. Great atmosphere in the bar.

Room Tip: There is wifi in the public areas. Rooms at the back were quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely recommendation - we are delighted you had a great stay.

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews