We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How Rude”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grayling House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Stoford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Having stayed before at Grayling House I rang to make another booking, I spoke to Rick who informed me that the cost of the room was £70, I said to him that this was more than I had payed on my last visit and was it the best price he could do. Now bearing in mind on the last visit I was on my own, this time i required a twin room so I was a little uncertain of the cost, having told me it was £70 I said I thought that was a little expensive and could he do better as we didnt require breakfast, he informed that that was the price, he said would I like to think about it to which I replied yes thank you for your time.
I rang back about 20 minutes later to book the room, again I spoke to Rick, could I book that room please, the reply stunned me somewhat and I quote " no I think its best you dont, I feel very insulted that you query the price and I suggest you go to the Holiday Inn " Unquote.
Well Rick may I suggest you man up a bit in the future just in case somebody else should have the audacity to question your quotes for accommodation, or indeed ask if thats the best price you can do. Also I think you should learn some manners and refrain from putting the phone down on what was a previous customer.

Room Tip: Accept what Rick says as Gospel
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank crazyhorseLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RickGraylinghouse, Owner at Grayling House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

As I made very clear to the gentleman in question; we would not take his booking because of how he had left my wife feeling after a series of phone calls in conection with his previous booking.
He had booked and paid for a room at a price he said he was happy with (£40 for a £55 room, a price we did for him as he was deer stalking with our nieghbour) only to have him phone back and virtually accuse my wife of being underhand in her dealings not once but three times in about a twenty minute period. We only let the booking stand on that occasion because he was a friend of our nieghbour.
When I had an enquiry from a gentleman wanting a twin room, I worked out a good price for him, (£70 for a £85 room as he did not want breakfast) he said he would check with his friend who he was deer stalking with and get back to us. In the mean time I checked with my wife that this was the fellow who had badgered her previously, leaving her feeling very intimidated and she confirmed that it was. When he phoned back to make the booking I said it may be better if he goes elsewhere because of how he had been previously.
Grayling House is first and foremost our family home and we did not consider his behaviour acceptable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

This is an ideal location to stay if you are in the area fishing. The B&B is just over the road from the fabulous River Wylye with great Trout and Grayling Fishing. Rick, the proprietor is an avid fisherman and bailiff too, and is a font of knowledge on fishing in the local area. The rooms are of good size and very clean and tidy. The breakfast was great and served up right on time. I shall certainly be stopping here again if I am in the area, and need an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakeandbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Breakfast was great, nvr stayed in a room as spotlessly clean, lovely owners, recommended, would come again just to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssentialFeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed overnight here as I often have to pop up to Salisbury for personal reasons and we have a five month old Cocker Spaniel so needed somewhere Doggy Friendly! Not only was the house spotless, but Lorraine went out of her way to make us and our puppy welcome and at home, puppy had a great time out in her garden. Room lovely beautifully decorated, quiet (it is on the main road into Salisbury) but we werent disturbed at all by traffic noise. Rick and Lorraine even greeted us with a lovely pot of tea. This will be a regular overnight stay for us whenever we come up in future. 11/10!!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper or not used to busy main road, just ask for a quiet room. Didnt hear a th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caznbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Stayed for three nights from 19th September 2011 whilst supporting a man with learning disabilities on holiday. Rick and Lorraine were fantastic hosts.You got the feeling straight away that nothing would be too much trouble. Welcomed by Rick with a cuppa, he really showed an interest in our holiday.The rooms were fantastic, the beds and bedding superb and the onsuite shower good and easy to use.Full English breakfast cooked beautifully (best eggs ever!). Tables beautifully presented. Lovely warm comfortable lounge for use.Rick went that step further when he realised as none drivers on a budget we planned to take considerable time getting to Longleat by taxi to Salisbury station, train to Warminster then another taxi to Longleat he got on the phone to a trusted taxi firm and bartered them down to an unbelievable return trip for us direct, making our day out that much more convenient.I truly cannot fault their dedication to ensuring that we had a great experience! Many thanks Lorraine and Rick.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed for three nights for the bank holiday weekend, Rick and Lorraine were fantastic hosts and made us feel welcome from the start to the finish. The rooms were lovely and cosy with personal touches. The breakfast was brilliant, Rick made sure the cups were filled and toast on the table. The road produced no noise that you could hear in the rooms and there was so much to visit in the area including Salisbury, Longleat and much more. We are sure to go back at some point soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Lorraine and Rick clearly love their B&B! We were welcomed with a fresh cup of coffee and very warm welcome by Rick. The room we had was "Avon" and it is big, clean and very comfortable. The busy road in the front of the house seems to have disappeared when you are inside. Breakfast is cooked to personal taste and wishes. Ask Rick about what to see and do in the surrounding area and England. He has some very good tips that have lead us to some great places.

Room Tip: Ask or the Avon room, it's the biggest and the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMeijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoford
0.0 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
0.0 mi away
Websters Bed and Breakfast
Websters Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 58 in Salisbury
264 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#2 of 58 in Salisbury
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Swan at Stoford
The Swan at Stoford
#1 of 2 in Stoford
438 reviews
0.0 mi away
Number 64
Number 64
#29 of 58 in Salisbury
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alabare House
Alabare House
#33 of 58 in Salisbury
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grayling House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grayling House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Stoford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stoford
Price Range: £56 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grayling House is a charming 4 star Bed and Breakfast in Salisbury on the banks of Wiltshire's jewel in the crown Chalkstream, the river Wylye. Its position offers guests the chance to enjoy a wide range of rural pursuits such as walking, fishing, shooting, horse riding and cycling etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grayling House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing