We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Plantation
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Esmeralda Resort(Orient Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Palm Court Hotel(Orient Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alamanda Resort(Orient Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pavillon Beach(Grand Case)
View Hotel
Hotel Mont Vernon(Cul de Sac)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Club Orient Resort(Orient Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orient Bay Hotel(Orient Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pinel Beach(Pinel Island)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
162
218
53
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
218
53
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand caseorient beachcroissantsminute walkreception areahuge patioking bedrented a carview of the oceanfriendly islandchairs and umbrellascoffee makerliving areabaguettecontinental breakfastpinel islandgrocery store
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We just came back from St-Martin, hotel La Plantation. Hotel is excellent.

We loved it even there are some bad reviews.

Hotel location is excellent. The room is clean and big enough. The breakfast is good (don’t expect ALL INCLUSIVE breakfast).

The service is excellent. We had a problem with TV and I talked to a receptionist about the issue (it was on Sunday night). I expected technician to come on Monday, Tuesday, etc... Technician came on Sunday night at 8:00PM.

This hotel has lounge chairs included on 5 beaches. Average price of the chair on the Orient Beach is 8 $ or euro -10 $ or euro per day.

The garden is excellent.

The hotel has a luggage room (it's very rare for the hotel to have luggage room. Generally, only 5 stars hotels (Four Seasons, Fairmont, etc...) have this room. There is, also, a shower in the luggage room (it’s exceptional).

I don't know why the hotel is rated 3 stars, I believe it should be 4 stars.

I LOVE THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leopard777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We have been going there for 9 years - this will be our 10th. The staff is friendly, accommodating and very helpful. Breakfast is very sufficient and included, however you can always order what you want for extra. Dinner is great, very tasty and worth the price. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable, AC reliable, and the Veranda for each individual room offers much Comfort and views of the Bay. Mosquitos can be a nuisance on the Veranda, especially when the sun is setting so a stop at the Supermarket for repellent is a good idea.
The pool is a nice treat either from coming back from the beach or having a change of scenery. The area is superb with many Restaurants to choose from should you want to
eat outside of La Plantation. The beach , located a hop , skip and a jump is wonderful, with great views, stellar water, and comfortable lounge chairs ( included with the hotel ). Umbrella's for shade are readily available. Lunch and breakfast can also be had on the beach from the many Restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havingfunagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This was our second visit to La Plantation. We went last year and loved it. It is not really a hotel per se and is definitely not an all inclusive resort. It is a series of triplex bungalows built on a hill. We again asked for an upper level room and got the same room (881) which has a magnificent view of the Atlantic tfrom the patio. Nothing had changed from last year. The room is simple but clean. There is a small, flat screen TV which we hardly turned on (there are a few English language channels including CNN). We used the small kitchenette for our lunch. There are dishes, dish soap, towel, sponge, cutlery, coffee maker (bring filters), microwave, 2 burners, some pots & pans, bar sized fridge. Breakfast is included and is very good - excellent coffee, juice, fruit, cold cereal, oatmeal, toast, scrambled eggs, yogurt and a basket of delicious baguette, croissants and chocolatines which they bring to your table. We would buy food for our lunch at the one little grocery store in the village as the restaurants are not cheap and eat on our patio overlooking the ocean. However, we went out for dinner every night. We ate at the hotel, Le Piment and Thai Chi, all of which are very, very good. The beach, ocean and village are only a 5 minute walk from La Planatation. We chose Orient Bay mainly so my husband could windsurf. There is a great windsurfing rental place, Vela, right on the beach. It was nice and windy all week so my husband had a great time. I walked the beach, read, and swam in the ocean. La Plantation provides guests with a little card that means you can use the chairs and umbrellas on the beach for free (otherwise it is $10 U.S. per chair). Be aware that there is a nude beach at one end and that at the 'regular' beach, a lot of toplessness. In the afternoon the beach is quite busy as cruise ships bus people in. There were some jet skis but not as many at other places we have visited. There are also people selling stuff on the beach but none of them were obnoxious. All in all, it is a great place for a holiday but you do have to make your own fun, since, as I mentioned, there are no all inclusive resorts at Orient Beach and, aside from a pool, La Plantation does not have any activities (not even a gym).

Pros: Gorgeous long beach and beautiful clean water to swim in, great food, great windsurfing, nice and quiet in our upper level room

Cons: beach a bit noisy in afternoon, mattress & pillows soft - a bit hard on my back & neck, hotel does not provide coffee filters for coffee maker (bring from home), key for doors a bit of a challenge to get used to, water pressure low

Room Tip: Definitely pay a bit extra for an upper level room - you will enjoy a magnificent view of the Atlantic Ocean from the patio
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Weswee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We just return from 7 days at the La Plantation. It was everything I expected and more. Everything was clean and the help was very friendly. The morning breakfast was fresh and plenty of it for everyone. I would definity stay there again. By the way it was a 5 minute walk to the beach and 5 minute walk to supermarket and 5 resturants and bars. You never have to leave at night and it was very safe. The food was excellant everywhere we ate. One advice is to stay in walking distance at night I would not leave gated commuity at night. Oh and bring your coffee and filters, you do have dishes and cups ect. in room frig and mirowave. You do have a safe also in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindajeep93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We decided to take a cruise that started in St Martin in January . If it snows the day of the cruise you may miss the boat. We left
Thursday for our Saturday cruise. My travel agent suggested either La Plantation, with a 5 minute walk to the beach or a resort on the beach for another $200. We opted for La Plantation. We spent three days on CoCo Beach which was one of the closer of the five beach concessions offered, at no extra charge, by the hotel. Our bungalow could have used a little modernization, but it was clean and tidy. Our windows had a view of the ocean through the palm trees. The staff was friendly and helpful. Since check out time was 11:00AM and we were not allowed on the boat until 2:00 PM we locked our bags in the baggage room. We spent the day at the beach and returned to the hotel to use a shower room/ changing room at no extra charge.
As for mosquitoes, the first night in the room, a bug flew around my head and I killed him, but I assume that any hotel in the area would have the same bug problem. Our bed was surrounded by mosquito netting which we opted not to use.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenoitNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews