We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Plantation
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
South Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Charming!!!”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Located on French side of the island. Beautifully landscaped, safe area. Close walk to Orient Bay beach. Sun beads included.
The room was big, clean and charming – beautiful colors, high ceiling. The AC worked fine. The kitchenette is small but modern and functional.
Large porch with wonderful ocean view.
Free Internet is available from the reception and pool area (no internet in the cottages)
Friendly and helpful staff.
Excellent breakfast buffet with fresh fruit, baguettes, toast, croissants, jam, ham, cheese, scrambled eggs, cereal, milk, yogurt, juice, good coffee.
Great value.
We’ll definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jovita1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    215
    50
    7
    10
See reviews for
66
259
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

La Plantation is ideally located just a short walk from Orient Beach. The suites are extremely comfortable and charming with high ceilings, a spacious living area, bedroom, and modern kitchen. The outdoor terraces are also a great feature. Breakfast was ample (eggs, breads, meat, cheese, yogurt and cereal) and lovely overlooking the pool area. Staff was very helpful and even upgraded us from a Studio to a Suite. Overall great value!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trotamundo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

WE are extremely well travelled, mainly 5-6 star on business and holiday. We stayed here last Feb with our adult daughters in a 2 bdrm suite. It was disappointingly right by the road and driveway, and the cocktail lounge/pool area. We had no privacy and listened to cars thump over the speedbumps all night.The maids would chatter endlessly outside our window at 7am. Other than that, they have fixed up the rooms a bit since our stay in Feb 2007 and it was very clean. We love the ambience of this place. A glass of champagne by the pool before headign off to dinner is wonderful. Would definitely recommend only taking an upper level suite - we loved that our 1st time. Huge patio to have a glass of wine and listen to the ocean up there. The walk to the beach is no bother, we enjoyed the exercise. Orient Beach is THE most incredible and we LOVE Coco's for lunch and beach loungers - great service, amazing food. You can't go wrong in any of the village restarurants and must tri Ti Bouchon a short cab ride away. Momo will spoil you. Grand Case food is amazing too. Book a table ahead in winter on the patio at Auberge on Tues night to watch the parade while dining. We've been to St Martin 4 times and love it most of all Caribbean and Mexico. Couldn't get a flight or hotel after Christmas this year, so we'll be in Mayan, our 2nd choice. But St Martin beats Barbados, Nevis, Antigua, Caymans, etc. If you can afford it, Le Petit Hotel in Grand Case is amazing! But La Plantation is cozy and has everything you need. But yes, the beds are hard, brign a soft pillow.

Room Tip: Only stay in the upper level units as per my notes. You can hear the ocean up there and have a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawthorne,nj,usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2012

The hotel is very good located. The rooms are large, but old. Very bad mattresses to sleep uncomfortable and a lot of mosquitoes.The hotel needs renovation and reconstruction. A lot of inconvenience at the hotel. The hotel staff is very friendly and responsive. Restaurant is average, but it is better to eat in restaurants in Marigot and the Village which is located next to the hotel,tastier and cheaper. In general, all of the food on the franch side very excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inessa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Had a blast! Great beach with lots of activities. The staff is very helpful and friendly and definitely well above standard. Had great fun playing beach football - Olivier and Curly, you were great friends! Food was great and wonderful variety. Evening music and dance shows were very entertaining.
Only bad comment: our room needed plumbing maintenance three times during the 9 days - leaking pipes and water dripping from ceiling due to air con unit. TV remote also didn't work, but we rarely used the TV. Some general maintenance on the older units might be a good idea.
I would recommend that travellers keep quite a bit of cash at hand for the paid activities, since these people don't accep cards.
Generally the complex is beautiful and well kept!

Room Tip: Pool viewing rooms are close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EDC139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beloeil, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

The hotel is not a 5 stars but for location, cleanliness, service of "some" good employees, its close...

The suite with one king bed was clean every day. The view (upper), fantastic. The kitchen, very use full. Giant balcony with 4 chairs table and 2 long chairs. Wow.

Only bad commentary for the hotel: dont forget to take the welcome drink in the night. Paper is required but its not written. The french barmaid was completly indifferent when she said "no". I live her tips for breakfast lunch but when we will come back, i will forget it too....

Once again, Wow for the hotel and Wow for the personnal except the french barmaid.

See you in january, Saint-Maarten.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

The moment we drove up knew our stay would be perfect. Lovely property, secluded yet close walk to the beach and shopping. Beautiful landscaping, nice pool. Area seemed very safe & secure. Staff helpful & friendly.

Room Tip: end units are suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandfoxette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
0.0 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Orient Bay
307 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.2 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#6 of 8 in Orient Bay
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#3 of 8 in Orient Bay
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esmeralda Resort
Esmeralda Resort
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Plantation

Property: Hotel La Plantation
Address: C5 Parc de La Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the north Atlantic coast of St Martin in the heart of the beautiful Orient Bay Resort, LA PLANTATION voted one of the best small hotels in the Caribbean, features St Martin’s most popular beach with its 3 mile stretch of white sand and turquoise waters. Hotel LA PLANTATION unites French West Indian Charm the comfort of modern amenities and personalised service.17 Stylish colonial villas are set amidst 7.5 acres of tropical gardens. A harmonious blend of luxurious palms, banana trees, bougainvilliers , hibiscus and alamanda encircle the Creole coloured villas capped with shingled roofs. Each ground floor villa comprises one suite and 2 studios which maybe rented separately or combined through interior, connecting doors. The atmosphere is decisively exotic, guest rooms are tastefully decorated in warm colours and original art work. The large terraces are cooled by the trade winds and offer for the upper level categories panoramic views over the bay, surrounding islands and the marine reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your Hotel La Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Plantation Marigot
La Plantation Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing