We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet bungalow, beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Plantation
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at La Plantation for 2 weeks in January 2013. La Plantation comprises a number of bungalows built on the side of a small hill overlooking Orient Bay - our bungalow was quite nice, clean, included cooking facilities and had a balcony/veranda with a view on the bay. The only drawbacks of this hotel would be the lack of a gym/fitness room, and the fact that the breakfast was fairly basic considering the price. Staff were helpful and attentive - overall a good accommodation option even if a tad too expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citedusoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

We loved out studio! Kitchenette had all the basics, so we cooked a few meals ourselves. Our balcony had a great view and perfect breeze. The restaurant was delicious and the staff was VERY friendly, especially if you speak French. They gave us great beach recommendations.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BChinn86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This hotel is so charming. We were up graded to a suite which was very large, living room, fully equipped kitchen, bedroom and large bathroom with two sinks, a large terrace with a beautiful view of the ocean. The people who run this place are the nicest. We got there a little late for our dinner reservations they called the restaurant to make it later took us to our room, waited for us to change and drove us to the restaurant. They told us to call when we were done & they would pick us up, as it turned out it was close enough for us to walk back. It is walking distance to the beach and town. The breakfast which was included was great. The only complaint is the towels are thread bare and a bit small, but they gave us enough so we were covered. I have been to st. Maarten. Seven times and do not know how this gem escaped us until now. Would definitely return. Hopefully they will have room for us with all these great reviews.

Room Tip: You get a great view from the rooms on the hill but it is difficult driving up and backing in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eppie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Our family group of six stayed comfortably at La Plantation in a three-bedroom villa. We had plenty of room and were extremely comfortable. The resort is beautifully landscaped, quiet, safe and serene with excellent service, lovely breakfasts, a pretty pool and a friendly, kind staff. Easy to walk to Orient Beach, lots of convenient beach clubs where one can charge expenses back to Plantation, which was very convenient. We would certainly return.

Room Tip: Our "garden view" villa had a view of the ocean. Not a bad view in the whole resort, I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CakeNine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Enjoyed the island and the hotel. Staff very nice, room was clean, upper level view was fabulous.
food good, nice to have other options close by.
would return for sure, and probably will next year.

Orient beach is spectacular, and weather was perfect.

Almost without complaint, great trip.

Sunwing was well behaved.....

walk to beach 15 minutes.......

Room Tip: upper level view terriffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I am just back from 10 days at "La Plantation", this is the 3rd time, and I am still as happy as the 1st time.
People are very friendly, taking good care of you.
Rooms are very big, with a kitchen, bathroom, separated toilet, nice and broad balcony where you can enjoy the view.
From the hotel you can walk to 3 different beaches where beds and parasols are available for you. Very convenient. Orient bay is a beautiful beach. A bit windy sometimes, but huge.
The French side of Saint Martin is more exclusive and quiet than the Dutch one. I really prefer it.

The food at the restaurant is amazing... and still affordable for what you get. Lobsters... Dinners around the swimming pool...

People are so friendly... You get hte feeling you are at home, as a friend invited.
So informal, relax and friendly!

Enjoy your stay there!

People

Room Tip: If you don't like to walk ask for a room not too far from the lobby... if you don't mind, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vincent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Stayed here for a week in February. It is a wonderful place. The staff is unbelievably attentive and helpful. This is not only the staff at the front desk, but also at the restaurant. The units are very big. Try to stay at one of the upper levels. You get a wonderful view of Orient Bay from up there. There is a fully functional kitchenette. Refrigerator is nice size, so you can actually choose to eat at home some nights. The units are very clean. They do need to pay some attention to the place. There are beautiful lights on the streets. The problem is that there are many lights out (burned out bulbs). This should be an "easy" fix. Just pay attention! In addition, our drain ran very very slow in the bath. I mentioned this to the desk. When I arrived back at the unit that evening, the plug had been removed from the drain. That did not fix the problem! I know this is the islands, and expectations should be lowered. But this place could be the best place in Orient Bay with just a little TLC from the maintenance staff. Another thing i noticed was that there are security cameras. Problem is that the lines have been cut, so, there are no security cameras. We'll probably go back (in spite of these small inconveniences) as we had a fabulous time.

Room Tip: choose an upper level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sprucecreekfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
0.2 mi away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
606 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Orient Bay
330 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
510 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.7 mi away
Le Beach Hotel
Le Beach Hotel
#1 of 7 in Marigot
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Plantation

Address: C5 Parc de La Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range: £139 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the north Atlantic coast of St Martin in the heart of the beautiful Orient Bay Resort, LA PLANTATION voted one of the best small hotels in the Caribbean, features St Martin’s most popular beach with its 3 mile stretch of white sand and turquoise waters. Hotel LA PLANTATION unites French West Indian Charm the comfort of modern amenities and personalised service.17 Stylish colonial villas are set amidst 7.5 acres of tropical gardens. A harmonious blend of luxurious palms, banana trees, bougainvilliers , hibiscus and alamanda encircle the Creole coloured villas capped with shingled roofs. Each ground floor villa comprises one suite and 2 studios which maybe rented separately or combined through interior, connecting doors. The atmosphere is decisively exotic, guest rooms are tastefully decorated in warm colours and original art work. The large terraces are cooled by the trade winds and offer for the upper level categories panoramic views over the bay, surrounding islands and the marine reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel La Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Plantation Marigot
La Plantation Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing