We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Wonderful Resort”
Review of Esmeralda Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esmeralda Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2008

Were a couple in our 20s from NY and Pittsburgh and stayed at the Esmeralda Resort from November 14-17. Reading some of the reviews I was a little worried about the resort, but rest assured we had an amazing time. From the very friendly bellhop showing us to our rooms and getting us a cab on a different day), to the truly remarkable staff at Coco Beach (David was on top of everything and Franc was always ready with some fresh coffee in the morning) to of course the beautiful beach. The grounds of the resort were well kept and while we only used it once, the pool right outside the patio was also very clean. During the day the wonderful housekeeping staff (who we never saw since we were always on the beach) kept our room nice and clean. As far as the room goes, we thought it was great, nice high ceilings, convenient kitchenette, plenty of closet space and the AC kept the temperature perfect. The beach itself was also very clean, no seaweed in the water. Walking along Orient Beach and seeing the other hotel’s setups I truly think Coco Beach was a step above everyone. At Coco Beach it was nice and peaceful and it was not as bunched up as some of the others. The village was a quick 5 minute walk from Esmeralda and there was a nice grocery store along with a few restaurants. We had dinner the first night at Safari and then our last night at another restaurant in the plaza. Both were great. Also across the street from Esmeralda is another hotel called the Plantation. They have a nice outdoor bar that at night is a nice and relaxing place to grab a drink or two before going to bed. We had a few drinks at the restaurant at the Esmeralda, L’Astrolabe?, but did not eat there so I cannot review their food. The drinks were ok, but the clientele was a little on the older side. I would definitely recommend the Esmeralda Resort to anyone and would jump at the chance to stay there again.



Now for a couple of tips and pointers. First off, speaking of tips, there are no ATMs whatsoever nearby. None at the resort, none at the village, the closest we hear was in Marigot. We did not know this and on our last night there did not have cash to tip our waitress. The restaurant did not allow you to add a tip to the check either. We felt absolutely terrible about this, so always make sure to have some spare cash on you. Next pointer, Orient Beach does not have much of a nightlife, the bars close around midnight. So if you require a bustling nightlife, we would suggest to stay at a different part of St. Martin. We wanted calm and relaxed and certainly got that. Third pointer, if you want to do any excursions to the surrounding islands, be sure to plan them ahead of your visit. Lastly, for what is worth, we did not like Phillipsburg. Now we did go there on a day when there was no cruise ship, but regardless it seemed to “toursitee” for us with bad souvenir shops and not much beauty in the actual city layout. If you only can choose one, definitely go with Marigot as the city to explore. Maybe if you want to sit in a cheesy casino Phillipsburg is more up your sleeve, but definitely check out Marigot.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NYNYcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2008

My wife and I booked the trip through JetBlue - very reasonable. We had an ocean front villa which was basically a very nice room with an adequate kitchenette and a nice porch. No view really but very short distance to the beach. We did have a very nice large pool all to ourselves. They said it was clothing optional and it was but not on the beach - if so inclined within the resort, at the pool, on your deck, etc. People were discrete.The food service was outstanding and the staff was very responsive to out requests in every way. We'd go back in a heartbeat. Great beach and close to everything.
.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sfdsales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2008

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights at the end of October 2008. The room was clean and a nice size. The hotel is in a great locaiton that is seconds from the beach. Orient beach is beautiful and the hotel gives you free beach chairs.

The staff was not that helpful and our room had a leak and a hot water problem which was not fixed that promptly. Also, the phone cards sold in the hotel lobby are a complete rip off. Do NOT buy one.

We rented a car which I highly recommend and drove to Grand Case for dinner several nights. We live in NYC and have eaten at several top restaurants around the world. We ate at La Pressior which was fabulous, great food and service. We also ate at L' Auberge Gourmande and were not impressed at all with the presentation or quality of the food. I would not waste money going to this restaurant. We ate lunch at lolos BBQ which was great. The food was wonderful and very cheap.

Overall, we had a very enjoyable experience, except for the mosquitos. The island clearly has a mosquito problem which we found to be extremely unpleasant and ended up with several large itchy red bug bites. I would highly recommend using bug spray at any outside dinners.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nyctravelingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2008

My husband and I have just returned from our second stay at the Esmeralda Resort, this time for 12 days. Last year we were a little disappointed in the basic room, but felt the uncrowded, beautiful beach made up for it. This year we booked a deluxe room, and although it wasn't deluxe in the US sense, it was larger than the previous year. From the moment we arrived and Chris showed us to our room, we had a wonderful, relaxing time. We took pains to pack our own pillows, after too many sleepless nights in '07. The pillows supplied by the hotel are like rocks! Our only issues with the room this year were some tiny ants around the kitchenette sink area, and no good light source for reading at night. They are using florescent bulbs in the bedside lamps, and they do not give off a lot of light. Otherwise, everything worked, and was kept clean.

We didn't have a bad meal during our stay. Whether at Coco Beach, Orient Village, or Astrolabe, the food was terrific, but very expensive. Last year the restaurants accepted 1 dollar per 1 euro, but this year we paid 50% more for everything in dollars. We did keep some wine, cheese and coffee in the room that we purchased at the little market in the village.

Coco Beach is quiet, clean, and perfect. Every morning David set up our chairs with two umbrellas, just as we requested. The waiters at the Coco Beach bar were great. James, Phillippe, Julie and the rest couldn't have been nicer.

We had been concerned about reports of rising crime in the area, but we read the local paper each day, and most of the crime seemed to be happening on the Dutch side. We had no issues at all. We did not rent a car though, after taking a taxi through very heavy traffic from the airport we just didn't want to deal with it.

We are already planning to return next year.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2008

We visited St Maartens for seven too- short days. The beaches were fabulous!

To get the most from your stay, rent a car. Confusing at first, you learn the routes fairly quickly and the autonomy is worth the expense. DO, however look your rental car over before you accept the one being offered. Even though ours was in less than "good" condition, it became part of our experience and we grew rather fond of our window-less jeep!

There are a plethora of restaurants to suit every taste... and DO taste. The Plantation Resort has wonderful atmosphere along with equally pleasing cuisine. L'Astrolabe at Esmeralda is also one of the premium restaurants. Breakfast at Coco Beach was a nice addition for those who tend to be creatures of habit. It's an easy habit to develop and the food was as wonderful as the atmosphere!

We traveled during their "off" season and found it very relaxing. For those who seek excitement, you may want to stay on the Dutch side of the island. It is more commercialized and boasts of a great nightlife. We didn't visit in the evening as our vacation was one of decompression and relaxation.

Whether or not you are a romantic, St Maartens has something for everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StPetersburg_FLCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

My husband & I stayed at the Esmeralda in June 2008. We were very nervous since a few days AFTER I booked the Esmeralda there were two horrible reviews. We heard about everything from the resort being a borderline dump to people being robbed at gunpoint! Well, we were quickly surprised.

The rooms were very large, the pool and the grounds absolutely fabulous. The beach was beautiful and a bit of paradise.

We did encounter one staff member (young girl) at the front desk that was not very helpful and a little short with people, but that was not the norm. We accidentally left the safe open one day and didn't realize until later that night when I went to get my jewlery out and found it wouldn't take my code. I called the front desk and they told me that the maid had found it opened and immediately called a manager. The manager then set a code. The man at the front desk said that he would walk the code down to me rather than read it over the phone. We thought that was wonderful customer service. We loved the Esmeralda and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank state11568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

We recently stayed a week at the Esmeralda and weren't sure what to expect. The room was okay but nothing spectacular - kind of felt like an average room at a local beach. When we first checked in, it took the air conditioning quite a while to cool the room, but it worked okay (although it would have been nice to get the room a bit cooler). The TV didn't work great on the first day - one channel and it was in French. They did swap out the TV the second day, but it looked damaged and old. However, it did work. The shower is not great at all. The shower head is one of those removable types and the water pressure was very bad. The bed & pillows were extremely uncomfortable. Mattress is way too firm and the pillows are very thin / aged. The "kitchenette" is a small refrigerator and a very old cook top.

The room did have a safe under the bathroom sink, which was nice and we did use it daily.

We appreciated the security into the property, especially when returning late at night.

The restaurants in the "village" down the beach were okay but quite expensive due to the exchange rate right now. We had breakfast 2 days at the Coco Beach restaurant on the beach and it was nice. The service was slow, but we weren't in a hurry, so that was okay with us.

Overall, our stay was fine, but we probably would not stay in this property again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jacalmom88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
2.9 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.3 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#6 of 8 in Orient Bay
510 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Plantation
Hotel La Plantation
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
449 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,359 reviews
5.5 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esmeralda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esmeralda Resort

Address: Baie Orientale | BP 5141, Orient Bay 97071, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range: £145 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Esmeralda Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ESMERALDA RESORT, situated on the magnificent white sands of Orient Bay in French St. Martin offers just 65 rooms and suites spread among elegant tropical gardens in 17 villas. Esmeralda is the only four star hotel in St Martin on Orient Beach.Esmeralda's Coco Beach Bar offers beachfront lunch & cocktails. L'Astrolabe, the resort's fine dining restaurant offers French Creole and Continental cuisine. Guests receive dining privileges at 12 + restaurants in Orient Bay. Only minutes to more fine dining,shopping and entertainment. Rooms include a kitchenette, king bed, sitting area and patio. What makes this property so special is it's unique plantation style layout with only four rooms or suites per villa. For privacy, each villa has its own swimming pool and each accommodation has its own private entrance and terrace... Guests may reserve anything from a single superior or deluxe room or a generous sized suite or an entire 3 - 5 bedroom villa. Due to the way this resort in St Martin is situated on the property that is perpendicular to the beach there is limited availability in the two ocean front villas that include the Presidential Suites and deluxe oceanfront rooms. All superior and deluxe rooms include kitchenettes. Suites offer full kitchens and large living rooms. Guests enjoy the peaceful surroundings and a cordial, pampering yet unobtrusive on-site multi-lingual staff prepared to assist with any special needs. Esmeralda offers free use of beach chairs & umbrellas. Each accommodation has a fully equipped kitchenette (suites have fully equipped kitchens including dishwasher), large tile bath with hair dryer plus a 110 outlet for shavers only, color satellite TV, room safe, air conditioning with ceiling fan, daily maid service. All bedrooms have Color TV by satellite (8 channels and video system), telephone, private safe, A/C, ceiling fan, private, furnished terrace, kitchenette with micro wave, electric coffee pot, refrigerator and dishes. SUPERIOR, DELUXE AND OCEANFRONT ROOMS: King or two double beds, kitchenette. Maximum occupancy: 2 people. Superior rooms have garden view and are generally located further from the beach. Deluxe rooms are a bit larger located nearer the pool. Oceanfront rooms are located nearest the beach. SUPERIOR SUITES: Spacious living room and bedroom area with king size four poster bed and full size pull-out sofa bed plus a fully equipped kitchen. Maximum occupancy: 2 adults & 2 children. PRESIDENTIAL SUITES: Large dining and living room area with full size sofa bed, separate master bedroom with king size colonial bed, TV in living room and master bedroom, 1 1/2 baths, radio/cassette/CD player and fully equipped kitchen. Suite is oceanfront. Maximum occupancy: 4 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esmeralda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esmeralda Hotel Orient Bay
Esmeralda Hotel Marigot
Esmeralda Resort Marigot
Esmeralda St Martin
Esmeralda Resort St Martin
Renaisance Esmeralda Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing