We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th Visit..We Love Green Cay”
Review of Green Cay Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Cay Villas
Reviewed 27 September 2005

We have stayed at Green Cay 4 years in a row and love it. The Villa is
positioned on a hill that gives you a panoramic view of the Orient Beach
area. You can watch the parasailers and sailboats right from your
balcony.

The private pool is very nice to relax before or after visiting the beach.
We have found all of the staff to be helpful. They will help you book
excursions and make recomendations on which are the best.

This past year they installed high speed internet service which was really
great. They were having some issues with the villas that were the
farthest up the hill ( 18 and 20) but planned to install boosters.

The Villa is only a 5 minute walk to the beach and restaurants . I
would recomend to anyone looking for a great facility in the
Orient Beach area.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Scubadave15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 54 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Altanta
115
Reviewed 20 May 2005

We have stayed here 3 times over the past couple of years and have loved it each times. Staff is always helpful and friendly. They can provide information on what the locals like to do and where to go. Beautiful views from the villas and each has its own pool. And in the three different villas that we stayed in the pools were very private. Easy walk to the beach, which we did each early each morning to walk it. After breakfast we drove down with all our beach gear as we did not want to carry it. Bedrooms are large and comfortable. The bathrooms in the bedrooms don't have a stand up showers, but there is a separate bath room that does, which I preferred to use. Only draw back is kitchens were small and the main family room and kitchen was not air-conditioned (except for 2 villas). No real problem though with ceiling fans and breeze. And you can always sit out under the stars or jump in the pool if it get too hot inside. When we go back to St. Maartin this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Green Cay Villas 5/5/05-5/9/05, and had a spectacular time! I spent MANY late nights on the Internet researching which island and hotel we should go to, and I would whole-heartedly recommend the Green Cay Villas. After driving all over the island (in a rented jeep, which was the best move for St. Martin), we felt that Orient Beach was the best place on the island to stay. We almost stayed at Le Petite Hotel, but are so glad we didn’t. It was right on the beach just outside the main strip in Grand Case, and it just isn't nearly as nice as Orient Beach. Plus, you don't have a private pool, which was AWESOME!

Green Cay Villas are 10 villas located up on a hill, and you walk down the path/street past numerous other villas to get to one of the most beautiful beaches imaginable...soft, white sand; turquoise warm clear water; all of the usual water sports, and plenty of comfortable chairs & umbrellas available for rent (two chairs & umbrella cost $15 for the day, but we were able to get them for $10 when we told them we were only going to use them for an hour or two). Plus there are tons of beach bars all along the beach, so a Mud Slide or Strawberry Colada is always easily accessible. There is some nudity on Orient Beach, which I wasn't accustomed to, but it really wasn't a big deal.

As for the villa we stayed at: We booked through a travel agent, who booked us a studio, which I mistakenly believed was a small villa--wrong! Not even close!! We were shown to our studio which was NOTHING like what I was expecting…no view, no pool. Fortunately, I went down to the office, and was able to pay to upgrade to a villa the following day (they almost didn't have one available, in which case I would have insisted on moving elsewhere). The staff was extremely accommodating and friendly (Bridgette was great).

The villa was exactly what you've heard from the other reviewers...very private, plenty of space, beautiful pool with decks and lounge chairs all around it, a deck overlooking the pool with a view of Caribbean-colored rooftops down to the ocean. Loved having a villa that had housekeeping and breakfast. It was such a pleasure to come out of the bedroom to fresh-brewed coffee, French pastries & bread, the morning paper (Miami Herald), and fresh-picked flowers~ and enjoy it in paradise! (Oh, but pack the mosquito spray for morning and dusk, or you can buy some at the local store. We made sure to keep the door to our bedroom closed w/ the AC on so we never had a problem w/ bugs at night.)

I do agree with the other reviewer about the initial signs of age in the villas. A couple of the bedrooms had some moisture damage in a couple of spots on the walls. Although the management should address this issue, it would never keep me from completely recommending Green Cay Villas.

We spent our mornings sight-seeing, afternoons at the beach, then went back to the villa for a dip in the pool and happy hour, then headed out to one of the amazing restaurants in the area. Sitting on the deck with that view with some munchies and a cocktail (I packed some munchies & was really glad I did), it was hard to drag ourselves away each night, but the restaurants are so wonderful I wanted to try as many as I could in the four nights we were there.

The best restaurants are in Grand Case (kind of a dingy town, but had some neat shops and food was unbelievable!), which was a 10 minute drive away. If you're not up for driving, you can walk down to a small variety of restaurants in Orient Beach (there are 5-10 to choose from). Le Cottage in Grand Case was my favorite. Also loved L'escapade. also in Grand Case--incredible service, delicious food, and our table was practically on the beach.

All in all, it was an amazing, romantic getaway. Every day we would say that our kids would have the greatest time here…we’ll bring them next time when they are a little older (they are 1, 3 and 5 now). Green Cay Villas was everything I had hoped it’d be.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank Bos2nStrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2005

We stayed at Green Cay Villas for 10 nights in late February - early March. Green Cay is a great location with many features. It is very convenient to Orient Beach, less than a 10 minute walk. The views are beautiful from the villas and the location is very private. There is a nice size pool at each villa, the service is fine, the grounds are well kept and a continental breakfast is served each day in your villa. We were two families sharing a 2 bedroom villa and it worked out great. My one issue is with the appearance of these villas for the cost. They appear to be starting to show their age a bit. But overall, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank RobBflo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2004

This place was simply awesome!!! Well-maintained villa. It was very spacious and very private. We went there with friends and thought it was spectacular. Each morning breakfast was prepared by the staff so when you woke coffee, croissants and french bread awaited you on the terrace. The tables were set with beautiful linens outside and overlooked the Orient Bay. And, the pool, well, that was beautiful and maintained well. This is as close to paradise as one could get. If you plan to go with a group and want your own privacy too, this is the place to be!!

15  Thank TerriP86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New Palestine, Indiana
126
Reviewed 28 March 2004

We traveled Feb 14-21, 2004. The villa was 3 large bedrooms 4 baths. Very large and comfortable. Private pool and deck. Every morning the maid arrived between 7 and 8. Made coffee, set the table with linens and china, fresh flowers wonderful bread, and pastry. Later in the day the entire villa was cleaned even the windows were washed. Plenty of fresh towels for bath and beach. Beach chairs and umbrellas were included with the villa. They arranged for a driver (Winston) who took us anywhere we wanted, and then was there to bring us back. Took the Lathuna for snorkle day-just great. Lunch provided and open bar. Food was excellent Sabatinos, LaVie en Rose great experience.

26  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolverine38000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia L, Responsable réception at Green Cay Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
0.2 mi away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
606 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
510 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Esmeralda Resort
Esmeralda Resort
#3 of 8 in Orient Bay
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Orient Bay
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Plantation
Hotel La Plantation
#6 of 8 in Orient Bay
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Cay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Cay Villas

Address: Parc de la Baie Orientale | Parc de la Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Orient Bay
Price Range: £314 - £1,010 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Cay Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Cay estate rentals: EXCLUSIVE, PRESTIGIOUS AND WELCOMING villas and apartments. HOLIDAY RENTALS IN SAINT-MARTIN Villas and apartments, available by the week, for short stays or special occasions. Check out our selection of rentals with swimming pools, private gardens or panoramic views. They are ideally located close to the orient bay village, in the heart of the Orient Bay Resort. By the sea! We can also arrange "à la carte services" such as cleaning, catering, deliveries, massages etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Green Cay Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Cay Villas Hotel Orient Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing