We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved our Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Playa Orient Bay
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Saved our Vacation”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We were booked into another hotel that has legal problems and no body on site. After waiting 40 minutes for someone to show, we decided to go next door to this property. The had a room available and even contacted the owner of the other property to tell them of our situation. The rooms are nothing special. They were cleaned and everything was in working order. Our HVAC did not work very well and I'm not sure how you could stay in the room if the outside temperatures increased. THe nice thing about the property is it is a short walk to the restaurant row. The property is connected to one of the beach bars and you can have everything charged to your room including the massages on the beach. The beach chairs are some of the best on the beach. The pool is centrally located although we never left the beach. The reception area is staffed with friendly helpful people. Maintenance was on the property repairing or cleaning. The property shows pride of ownership. The internet is available at the beach bar or hotel lobby. It is very slow so if you need high speed service, then good luck. We have stayed many places on Orient Beach. You won't find luxury or sleep comfort beds. You will have the best beach in the world, only a few hundred feet from your room. And that's what this hotel has to offer. Plus excellent staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with working HVAC and one closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelshe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    268
    76
    49
    25
See reviews for
102
340
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Even had a private balcony and a large room with very comfy bed .
Planning to go back again this winter for at least 2 weeks with my Babe.
if you get a package deal make sure it includes an airport pick up & return (as it's $50 each way if you have to pay yourself)
Lots of places to eat & a feeling of safety as I often saw Police patrols.
Down sides.. No W-ifi in rooms,(only at restaraunt & foyer) & no phone in my room.

Room Tip: ask for a room nearer to the beach and inspect it well before accepting it as I had to change mine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This was our first trip to St. Maarten. Every person we spoke to about our visit said to stay in Orient Bay on the French side of the island. We are so happy that we chose that location because the beaches there are magnificent!
L'Hoste is located literally steps from the beach. It is also just a few blocks away from Orient Village. There are some delicious restaurants there (Cote Plages was our favorite) and a little shopping mall, where you can buy groceries, toiletries, libations, etc. There are also several fun bars and restaurants right on the beach, including the one that belongs to the hotel. L'Hoste is an ideal location if you want to play in the waves, rest, relax, and eat delicious food every night for dinner. (Grand Case is another wonderful haven for fabulous restaurants, and it is only a fifteen minute cab ride from the hotel)
The hotel itself is quaint, clean and comfortable. Our room was on the ground floor, located right next to the pool and the lobby area, but it was still very quiet and private. Our room had a refrigerator, stove and microwave. We had a king sized bed and a nice sitting area, with a lovely little patio outside. There is an ice machine located right next to the lobby. You can check-out beach towels at the front desk.
The hotel has Wi-Fi in the lobby, rooms, and restaurant and bar area. It also has a nice pool, and a beach-side "spa" for massages and foot treatments. The beach chairs and umbrellas in front of the hotel are free for guests. Other locations on the beach often charge $15 - $25 per chair.
The continental breakfast includes fruit, yogurt, cereals, toast, croissants, coffee, tea, and juices. The restaurant also has a nice lunch menu, and you can enjoy your meals right on the beach.
The staff at L'Hoste is amazing! Everyone is so friendly and accommodating. If you need help making a reservation, or booking an excursion, they are more than willing to help.
The hotel is definitely a safe place to stay, but we always kept our passports and valuables locked in the strongbox in our room anyway. We also always made sure our patio doors were securely locked. It's better to be safe than sorry!
I packed a blowdryer, but there was one in our bathroom that worked quite well, so I did not need it after all. I also packed adapters (which I did need) to charge my kindle, cell phone, camera, etc. Our flat-screen television was an nice surprise, as were the numerous cable channels that were available.
We had so much fun on our trip! We are going to return again next year, and we are going to stay at L'Hoste. It felt like a little "home away from home." We can hardly wait to return!

Room Tip: The rooms do vary in size and location. When you book your reservation, be specific if you want a ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMacleay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is the second time we have come here. It is not a 5 star hotel, but certainly adequate. It is clean and neat. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is served on the beach at the bar which is lovely. Fresh Baguettes/Croissants/fruit/coffee etc. very nice indeed. The accessibility to the beach is wonderful. Local restaurants nearby for dinner at night make for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetraJoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Just spent another vacation at L'Hoste Hotel and had a great time.
Katy and staff were all so nice. They were always eager to assist in any way.
We enjoyed the continental breakfast and free chairs/umbrellas on the most beautiful beach.
The welcome drinks and coupons for wine at the local restaurants in Orient Village were a fantastic bonus.
Already starting to plan our next trip to St.Martin and we will definitely return to L'Hoste.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at the L'Hoste for one night during our 7 night stay on the island. We had come from a larger, busier hotel so the change was nice. The hotel was clean and the rooms were a good size. There is an attached restaurant that offers continental breakfast which was convenient. The beach is amazing and there were umbrellas and chairs that you get to use courtesy of the hotel. Overall we enjoyed the stay and service we received and would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This was our 5th time to St Marten but our first time at L 'Hoste. I was very impressed when we first got there the staff was very friendly and welcoming.
Our room was big, clean and we had a partial view of the ocean.. we were also upgraded when we arrived. Our room was steps to the beach and breakfast was served right on the beach.
The breakfast they serve was all you really needed, French bread, croissants, fruit, cereal, yogurt and coffee. If you feel like having more for breakfast there is lots to choose from on the menu for a nominal fee.
You can also get a few things at the store in the village for lunches and snacks and keep them in your room. We always went to the Village for dinner and were never disappointed, the food is wonderful.
The pool was great not too busy and it was always clean with plenty of lounge chairs there and on the beach.
There is nothing like being right on Orient Beach.. We stayed other places on the island but we always drove to Orient Beach so we decided to try a hotel there!
We didn't rent a car this time and just took taxis (John was our taxi driver we just kept his card and called when we wanted to go somewhere) there is also shuttles offered by the hotel for Mardi Gras, Phillipsburg and Marigot.
Talking to different couples at the resort we learned that most have come back to L Hoste several times year after year.
L' Hoste is not a Hilton so if you want frills and turn down service this isn't for you but if you want an affordable holiday on the most beautiful island in the carribean then this hotel gives you that. I can say that I am somewhat of a hotel snob but we were so happy that we decided to stay at L'Hoste.
We would definitely return to L'Hoste when we visit St Martin again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
2.5 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,783 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#6 of 8 in Orient Bay
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Orient Bay
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Plantation
Hotel La Plantation
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esmeralda Resort
Esmeralda Resort
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Playa Orient Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Orient Bay

Property: La Playa Orient Bay
Address: 116 Parc de la Baie Orientale | BP 5146, Orient Bay 97071, St. Maarten-St. Martin (Formerly L'Hoste Hotel)
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playa Orient Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, the Hoste is a hotel offering 56 spacious Junior Suites and a Creole Hut « la Cabana ». The hotel is made up of small buildings (2 floors) with an outdoor freshwater swimming pool, a private beach area with sun loungers and a Bar Restaurant «La Playa" set in an exceptional location where you can enjoy breakfast by the sea the feet in the sand. On the beach you will find a small shop, a massage service for relaxation and a water sports center. Also available are sun loungers and parasols. ComplimentaryWiFi in all Rooms and the entire Hotel ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, West Indies, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Playa Orient Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hoste Hotel Orient Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing