We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Playa Orient Bay
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Rockport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel and service”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here 6 years in a row. It's a great hotel with a very helpful and accommodating staff. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The cleaning staff is friendly and take care of whatever you need. Breakfast at La Playa is more than adequate. We always take a room near the beach on the second floor. Easy access to the beach. Very nice pool. It makes our yearly trip to St Martin hassle free and feel like our second home. You know it's good when we meet many of the same people here year after year. New owners this year are making some upgrades to just improve the facilities and services.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank NonnaCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    265
    75
    49
    23
See reviews for
98
336
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have stayed here several times and it seems to be declining in appearance. It needs some upgrades. Three times while we were there the water was shut off. The pool area is nice and help at the front desk is friendly and courteous. The continental breakfast is adequate but predictable. Rooms need paint and refrigerator and microwave showed wear, tear and rust. The mattress on the bed was comfortable but the frame on the bed made it difficult to get in and out of bed. We are looking at other possibilities for future stays. The access to the beach is good. TV was good.

Room Tip: We like first floor rooms for quick access to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Setauket, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

L'Hoste Hotel

Pros: beautiful beach, very comfortable beach chairs, super friendly bar and wait staff, Katy at front desk was very professional and friendly, breakfast on the beach was lovely (but gets old after 3 days), some decent restaurants in walking distance, many beach sports available, cleaning staff came everyday and did a good job, rooms are equipped with refridge, stove, microwave and a few dishes and such.

Cons: rooms are run down, not enough towels, not enough lighting in rooms, rooms had a very musty moldy odor, first floor garden view very ugly...you don't even want to sit out on the decrepit porch, other women at the front desk very unfriendly...felt like I was bothering them for service, the chair attendant saves the beach chairs with the best views to rent to groups from other hotels and people he solicites off the beach while paying hotel customers have to find their own seating in the less desirable areas of that beautiful location, wifi is very fickle..we could only access it from the lobby where there were many bugs that ate us alive

This hotel has potential to be a very good place if they are truly working on fixing up the rooms and the property. They need to send some of the staff for some training in customer service.

Tips to have a better time: insist on a second floor room, wake up very early to save one of the few unreserved front row beach loungers especially on busier days on the beach, if you plan on leaving this resort town to go to Grand Case or anywhere else then rent a car at the airport. Do not rely on the women at the front desk to be very helpful in getting you a taxi or car rental. I had a terrible experience with the Car rental company that they called for me and was totally ripped off by the taxi driver they called to take me to Grand Case, try to have your dealing at the front desk with Katy.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Marge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The staff at l'Hoste were extremely helpful and friendly. The staff are working constantly to fix up what is an older hotel. The rooms have a refrigerator, good toaster over, and two burner stove but no microwave. The furniture was very nice and the bed beautiful. The "continental" breakfast was so much more than we expected, wonderful fruits, flaky croissants, lots of varieties of yogurt and more. The pictures on trip advisor need to be updated to reflect the beautiful pool and other improvements that have been made here. There is still work needed, cracked floor tiles, chipped wood, etc. The beach area is large and fabulous! We plan on returning here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda B-H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights at l'Hoste the week before Christmas and had a nice relaxing vacation. I was looking for a clean, comfortable hotel on the beach, while my husband's priorities are having good AC, cable TV, and in room wifi (in that order). L'hoste was able to provide all of our requirements. We were given a third floor room, which had a king sized bed, sitting area, balcony, and kitchenette. We used the mini fridge and microwave, which worked great, but did not try the 2 burner cooktop. The kitchenette was also stocked with 1 pot, 1 pan, glasses, silverware and dishes. An extended continental breakfast was included in the room rate, so we only used the kitchenette for sandwiches and snacks, but it was a nice convenience. The breakfast was served at the beach bar and included chocolate and butter croissants, baguette, wheat toast, cereal, yogurt, juice and hot beverages, and fresh fruit.
The room was very clean, and the linens, which were changed daily, were in good condition. The furnishings were a bit dated, with chipping paint on table legs and some cracked tiles on the flooring, but these were not that important to us. The AC worked great, as days can get hot. The cable included over 70 channels and was bilingual, and the in room wifi worked (though we found it was more reliable in the evenings than in the AMs). The rooms do not have beach views, but the property itself is on the beach with a short boardwalk to the bar and beach. Orient Bay is a beautiful coved beach with islands and hills in the distance. The property is landscaped with tropical flowers and fruit trees, and there is a simple pool which we did not use.
We inadvertently made the hotel management extend their services to us after our stay. We left for the airport early in the morning, prior to the front desk opening. When we arrived back in the States, my husband realized that he had left his wedding ring in the hotel safe. He called the manager, who assured him that she had recovered the ring and would send it to us as soon as possible. Apparently, Fedex would not make a pick up at the hotel, so she had to deliver it to the Fedex facility on the Dutch side. It took more than a month (we were told that it was their busy season, and they couldn't send the ring sooner), but we were relieved to receive the ring last week. We really appreciate their diligence and integrity in returning the ring to us.
If you are looking for a simple, clean hotel on the beach with great service, I would definitely recommend l'Hoste Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sjwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

First room we were given was totally dilapidated; water poured from broken plumbing in bathroom, " kitchenette" had old rusted stove, no microwave or coffee pot, or cups...linens were threadbare, 2 worn out pillows, old worn out drapes, sagging bed. When we asked to change rooms we were told that they were sold out and that there were no more pillows. I called booking agent, hotels.com, to see if we could change this $327.00/ night hotel. As I was on hold, mgr finally found another room for us. This room was a few doors down, but plumbing worked the first day. On day two it also leaked all over the bathroom floor but was fixed immediately upon first request. Still had unusable kitchenette but refrig did work. Good wifi and tv and clean. Good location short walk to beach. No view. This place reminded me of some tired properties we have stayed at in Mecico, but at half the price.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas V, Responsable relations clients at La Playa Orient Bay, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear customer,


First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment on your trip at the Hoste hotel.
We are very sorry to hear about the inconvenience that occurred upon your arrival at the hotel.
We have been very reactive and took all necessary measures to be sure that you could get a new room where everything was fine, wifi, tv, fridge…

We hope you enjoyed the island and we thank you for your comment on our amazing beach location in Orient Bay.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Have been coming back to La'Hoste for many years-simple but bloody great. This year (November) there was some construction going on but , as a business man, I understand this has to happen, did not spoil my vacation and great that the managemet are improving the site.
Great location as always. Beach is probably the best in the world, just 28 steps away.
Restaurants nearby are really good and friendly, look up Franky at the little French bar/restaurant next to the "paper shop" a great character and some of the best food on the island for a great price.
If you have time spend some time in Anguilla -we spent a week there before heading back to St Martin-Glorious for those that need to refresh and find good people.
Anyway, La'Hoste serves our needs with great staff and hoprfully we can go back for the next ten years.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KEVIN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
2.5 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.7 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esmeralda Resort
Esmeralda Resort
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Playa Orient Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Orient Bay

Property: La Playa Orient Bay
Address: 116 Parc de la Baie Orientale | BP 5146, Orient Bay 97071, St. Maarten-St. Martin (Formerly L'Hoste Hotel)
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playa Orient Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, the Hoste is a hotel offering 56 spacious Junior Suites and a Creole Hut « la Cabana ». The hotel is made up of small buildings (2 floors) with an outdoor freshwater swimming pool, a private beach area with sun loungers and a Bar Restaurant «La Playa" set in an exceptional location where you can enjoy breakfast by the sea the feet in the sand. On the beach you will find a small shop, a massage service for relaxation and a water sports center. Also available are sun loungers and parasols. ComplimentaryWiFi in all Rooms and the entire Hotel ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Playa Orient Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hoste Hotel Orient Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing