We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Atmosphere, Great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kakao Beach Restaurant and Bar

Kakao Beach Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #7 of 35 Restaurants in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dans ce cadre privilegie, le RESTAURANT vous offre un horizon sur la baie orientale et l'ile de Tintamarre et Cay Verte avec ses tables dans un jardin tropical toutes faces a la mer...Ici, vous pourrez restaurer ou simplement vous desalterer a l'ombre d'une paillote, le regard perdu devant ce spectacle de pure quietude, les doigts de pieds en eventail sur un transat, berces par un fond de musique.Le cadre y est soigne et discret avec sa deco tout en bois.Dans un environnement de verdure luxuriante.Beach bar / restaurant / massage / boutique / wifi gratuite pour nos clients !
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The food here was amazing! Everything was fresh and cooked to order. We had 4 people and we took the waiters suggestions and tried his favorites. Everything was fabulous. Best meal of our entire trip. Our waiter was so nice and we had excellent service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    180
    45
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunny Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best on the Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We come to St. Maarten every year (Dutch side) but always manage to wander up to the French side to spend a day or two on Orient Beach or nearby Club Orient. Being nestled in the shade of a cool jungle directly on the beach, the food a Kakao's is second to none. While the island has so many restaurants that serve hamburgers and sandwiches, Kakao's menu has a variety that's hard to find elsewhere. Don't get me wrong, their hamburgers are great too but there are so many other choices you might as well enjoy the best.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GTinSunnyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bosch en Duin, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“beware of the help!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Wonderfully located at the centre of Orient Bay, with sun beds and dark blue parasols, white sand, sun and please disregard stormy weather. An awfully lot to go for.
But . . . be aware of two very horrible obnoxious infantile, impolite, lying and disrespectful guys. Although Kakao Beach management (Hervé) tried to appease the situation with offering free lunch and drinks (not directly to us but via hotel management) nothing happened. I'm glad we didn't hold our breath. We were completely ignored after our incident. It seemed that our hotel management received many complaints about disrespectful etc. conduct of these two guys.
Food is ok.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MadelonVonhoffVerwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loving it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We come here every year and this is our favourite spot on the island. The beach is beautiful, the sun beds are the best on the island (sooo soft), the waiters are very helpful and friendly, the frozen pina coladas are excellent and so is the food!

Helpful?
Thank bes o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Our Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Of all the beach clubs on Orient Beach, Kakao is our very favorite. There are plenty of chairs with clean, thick pads. You can get two chairs with an umbrella for $20. That's higher than the clubs further south on the beach, but the chairs in those places are so jammed together, you can't even get out of them on the side. Kakao has a good amount of space between chairs/umbrellas, so you have plenty of elbow room! The beach waiters are the best. Our favorite was Cedric. He greeted us every morning with a friendly smile and took good care of our drink and food needs all during the day. Very nice, pleasant, friendly and polite. To me, sometimes the staff at the various venues makes all the difference, and Cedric and Nicholas both are exceptional at what they do. The drinks were good and the food excellent. And, Kakao is pretty much in the center of Orient Beach, so there's lot of action to keep your attention! Can't wait to get back to Kakao!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kakao Beach Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Kakao Beach Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing