We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious studio for 2 with modern, clean fittings.”
other travellers have booked this property
The Interior (night ambiance)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Interior (night ambiance)
Orient Bay The Residence
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
The Interior (night ambiance)
Orient Bay
The Residence
Swimming Poom
The Sofa
The King Size Bed
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom
Bathroom
The Interior
Orient Bay
swimming pool
swimming pool
swimming pool
entrance of the residence
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin, St Martin / St Maarten

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Graham D
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spacious studio for 2 with modern, clean fittings.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The studio’s facilities were very good, especially those in the kitchen, and we particularly liked the communal pool and the closeness of the studio to the beach, but the beach immediately in front of the pool has rather rough water at times, not really suitable for children - the beaches on the other side of the island in general have calmer water. Access to the apartment would be difficult without a hire car and as it is a 5-10 minute walk on a slope from the car park, it would probably not suit the disabled. For the Caribbean, the cost is reasonable. There is easy access to the northern end of Orient Bay but it is a bit of a walk along the bay to find restaurants and water sports facilities. We were a little concerned when booking it that although my credit card was accepted for the deposit (half the cost) the balance was required in US dollars cash, but it worked out OK in the end.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and space.
Liked least: The rough access road.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jel1228
Cedar Key, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very pleasant studio”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
4
people found this review helpful

This is a review of room 4309 in the Saba building at Mount Vernon. This complex is a defunct hotel where the units are now privately owned so the condition of each will vary considerably depending on how the owner has renovated it. Amaury and Thibault, two brothers from France who own Bistrot Caraibes restaurant in Grand Case, own several units in this complex. 4309 has been very nicely renovated and is well equipped with a small kitchenette with all the kitchen supplies needed. A car is really necessary at this location - really anywhere you stay on the island. We picked up the key to the studio at the brothers restaurant in Grand Case at their request. So after getting our rental car we drove to Grand Case - 30 mins, another 10 to the studio. You leave the key in the studio when you leave. The only thing I would be aware of (not related to the unit) is the road that leads up the hill to Mount Vernon is both long and in disrepair. (many pot holes and speed bumps) Not a big deal but a bone- jarring ride each time you leave or return. The easiest parking for this unit is on the lower dirt parking lot near the tennis courts - plenty of parking and shortest walk to the unit. The unit has a partial beach view which is very nice from the balcony. The room is equivalent to a high end hotel room as far as the renovation is concerned and we found it very well done. There is a dishwasher and a clothing washer so you really do not need to bring nearly as many clothes as you think. You dry your clothes on a clothes hanger on the balcony which works well. You will do a little walking from the parking lot to your room or the room to the beach on inclines but I can't say it is a problem unless you have some disability. There is a very good pool that is well maintained at the complex with chairs available. WIFI/internet were very good in the unit. We were provided with a key to a small safe as well. The bed was very comfortable. There is a TV with French and American stations. The air conditioning was quite and effective. We ate one dinner at the brother's restaurant and had a good meal there. They are both very friendly and you will enjoy meeting them and they will enjoy meeting you.
We typically walked the beach in the morning to the "Good Morning" cafe behind La Playa for breakfast. (good place for breakfast - 15 min walk) (You will typically see nude couples from Club Orient walking this end of the beach early in the morning. The entire beach is topless of course) There is also a Casino market near the cafe where you can pick up some groceries. The best grocery store nearby is "Simply" which is a 5 minute drive from Mount Vernon on the way to Grand Case. They carry many French imported products. We shopped there and prepared meals/lunches in our room some of the time - the table on the balcony makes a pleasant place to have meals. I would recommend this unit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Road to complex in disrepair
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bsfindme
Greenfield, In
Level 2 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We loved the room & the view”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is our second year in this same room and we loved it, again! Comfortable bed, great view on the best beach on the island. What more could you ask when on vacation?

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hollyShel...
Shelby Twp., MI
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our other home”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We have stayed at the studios several times and are never disappointed. We love Orient Beach and it's atmosphere and culinary scene as well as the restaurants of Grand Case. This is an ideal location at an ideal price. It is not however a hotel and if you are a room service kind of a traveler, this may not work out. We enjoy the relaxation of fending for ourselves, making some simple meals if we feel like it and not being bothered by anyone. The studios are supplied as advertised with adequate dishes and cookware to make a meal.

The property of Mt. Vernon continues to improve every time we visit. The pool is beautiful and clean and there were alot of studios being renovated while we were there. This property can only get better. Mt. Vernon is built on the side of a large hill, so if you have trouble walking you should be advised that you may feel like you are always walking uphill. But take your time, because the walk is worth it.

We have stayed at all of the other hotel properties on Orient Beach in the past. Alamanda, LHoste and Esmerelda. Once we found the advertisement for Studio SXM and tried it, we felt we had found a home away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MI
Reviewed 26 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing